We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value! Felt like we lived in Shanghai vs. just visted!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Harbour Service Apartments
Reviewed 17 November 2007

My family of 5 stayed here while we were in Shanghai for 4 days. It is situated in a local neighborhood not too far from the main Shanghai sites such as the Bund and Nanking Road. I loved it because it really gave me a feel of the city and not just the touristy spots. We had safe, fresh street food every morning for breakfast - all situated withing a 1 block radius! There's also a great street for dinner where you'll find an assortment of restaurants filled with locals within a block away. We had some of our best meals there: traditional hotpot, famous Shanghainese steamed dumplings and Uighur lamb kabobs (the best I've ever had!). Our apartment was on the 11th floor - great view! It was spacious with approx. 1,100 sq ft. - we were in a 2 bedroom, 1 bath space. For 5 adults, it was a treat to have more space than the usual hotel rooms though we did struggle with 1 bathroom. The only drawback since it is not a hotel but rather a serviced apartment is that there is less service. You do have your apartment cleaned every day - beds are made, bathrooms ar cleaned. However, the front deck staff is not entirely helpful. If you're looking for a day trip to one of the water villages near by (highly recommend Zhouzhuang dating back to the Ming and Ching Dynasties - it's where they filmed MI3), we were ripped off by the front deck folks who set us up with a private van costing 1,000 RMB when would could have gotten it for no more than 700 RMB. I'd recommend asking the laundry women for a private van since they seemed more sincere and told us afterwards that they could have gotten us one for much less. If you're looking for more than just a typical tourist's trip to Shanghai and are interested in exploring how the locals live, too, this is a great place for a great value!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hopejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 429 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2007

We only stayed here for one night, but were impressed with the standard of the apartment. Very spacious and has everything you need. Breakfast is great value at 60 RMB (about £4) per person. My only criticism would be that on check in/out the staff were not very friendly or welcoming, but not really an issue. Would stay here again, particularly if was in Shanghai for a few days as an apartment like this would feel like a great base. Good location too, 10 mins walk from People's Square.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ali1ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Myself and my husband stayed here for four nights at the beginning of October. We found it extremely satisfactory. We had a one bed apartment with sitting room, kitchen and bathroom. It was serviced very well each day and was clean and spacious. We are currently on a round the world trip and liked having the space in the apartment instead of just a small hotel room. We were also on one of the higher floors and had a great view of the city lights. There was a TV in the sitting room and the bedroom.

Like another reviewer said, we found the supply of hot/cold water in the kitchen great-also for making cups of tea in the morning! True, if you want to self cater you do have to hire the crockery, cooking utensils etc but I can't imagine why anyone would want to do this when the food outside the door of the hotel is so cheap and yummy. It cannot be cheaper or easier to self cater.

The location was excellent. A friend of ours lived in Shanghai for three years and she also said the location cannot be beaten. It is in a fairly local area so all of the nearby restaurants etc would not be tourist friendly in that no English menus etc but it's only a 10 min walk to more user friendly parts of Shanghai and it is nice to be in a local area to get a flavour for the real parts of the city.

There is no WIFI in the rooms which was a bit of a minus for us but there is a business centre with two computers (although it is not cheap). There are also two restaurants which we did not use.

All in all excellent value for the price-we paid 30 euro a head per night.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GaylePDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Selected this hotel/apartment based on trip advisor recommendations. Not so lucky this time. In the past we have stayed at great places based on trip advsior. This is the exception. Pictures looked good, beds were solid (like granite) Disturbed that housekeeping had to bring and charge for all items beyond a teacup. Ahh... the smell! Raw sewage and mould. Still coughing! Gas shutoffs are worrisome.
Consider another location, had to leave, just couldn't stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mainegardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2007

Three of us stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 6 nights and had a great stay. The room was very clean, the shower was hot and drained well, and the apartment was large enough for us to sprawl out. Bottled hot/cold water in the kitchen came in very handy for making cups of tea. The location was fantastic- walking distance to the major sights and the People's Square subway station. The breakfast was great for us Americans, especially the fresh-cooked eggs and strong hot coffee. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,203 in Shanghai
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Harbour Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Harbour Service Apartments

Address: No.88 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly New Harbour Serviced Apartments)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 389 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: ₹ 5,513 - ₹ 7,161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Harbour Service Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully combines the elegance of hotel living with the comforts of home. this apartment-style Shanghai hotel offers a refreshing respite from the flurry of activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Harbour Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Hotel Shanghai
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing