We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveller rating
183
373
83
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
373
83
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom apartmentpeople's squarenanjing roadsmall kitchenthese apartmentspots and panswashing machinedining tablewalking distancedashijie stationminute walkshanghai museumliving areafood streetpeople's parksmall supermarketcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 677 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Myself and my husband stayed here for four nights at the beginning of October. We found it extremely satisfactory. We had a one bed apartment with sitting room, kitchen and bathroom. It was serviced very well each day and was clean and spacious. We are currently on a round the world trip and liked having the space in the apartment instead of just a small hotel room. We were also on one of the higher floors and had a great view of the city lights. There was a TV in the sitting room and the bedroom.

Like another reviewer said, we found the supply of hot/cold water in the kitchen great-also for making cups of tea in the morning! True, if you want to self cater you do have to hire the crockery, cooking utensils etc but I can't imagine why anyone would want to do this when the food outside the door of the hotel is so cheap and yummy. It cannot be cheaper or easier to self cater.

The location was excellent. A friend of ours lived in Shanghai for three years and she also said the location cannot be beaten. It is in a fairly local area so all of the nearby restaurants etc would not be tourist friendly in that no English menus etc but it's only a 10 min walk to more user friendly parts of Shanghai and it is nice to be in a local area to get a flavour for the real parts of the city.

There is no WIFI in the rooms which was a bit of a minus for us but there is a business centre with two computers (although it is not cheap). There are also two restaurants which we did not use.

All in all excellent value for the price-we paid 30 euro a head per night.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GaylePDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Selected this hotel/apartment based on trip advisor recommendations. Not so lucky this time. In the past we have stayed at great places based on trip advsior. This is the exception. Pictures looked good, beds were solid (like granite) Disturbed that housekeeping had to bring and charge for all items beyond a teacup. Ahh... the smell! Raw sewage and mould. Still coughing! Gas shutoffs are worrisome.
Consider another location, had to leave, just couldn't stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mainegardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2007

Three of us stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 6 nights and had a great stay. The room was very clean, the shower was hot and drained well, and the apartment was large enough for us to sprawl out. Bottled hot/cold water in the kitchen came in very handy for making cups of tea. The location was fantastic- walking distance to the major sights and the People's Square subway station. The breakfast was great for us Americans, especially the fresh-cooked eggs and strong hot coffee. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

Loved this property. The location and price was just right! We booked a deluxe 1 bdrm with study apartment and had a computer ready and waiting when we arrived. The staff were very good and helpful. The western/chinese breakfast was good. We ate no other meals there. We are walkers and walked literally everywhere: Old Shanghai (25 minutes), Nanjing Road (10 min) the Bund and Pudong River for cruising by day or night (25 minutesJ). We would have walked faster but the weather was hot with high humidity, plus we had a 5 year old with a stroller. We would definately go back to Shanghai and stay at the same place. It was a comfortable, clean place to stay. Not too much english ... A grocery was across the street with anything you might want. Fresh fruit on the street. Laundry on the third floor. Our only drawback in Shanghai was the food. We survived well as having a kitchenette and a grocery near by.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CAACanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

We stayed here for 4 days in the beginning of September and were satisfied with the hotel. Firstly, this hotel focuses on long term business clientel, not tourist. The hotel staff spoke good english and we had no problem checking in but when we asked them anything tourist related they didn't know the answer. However Shanghai was easy to navigate so this was not a huge problem. The rooms are old appartments, not hotels rooms. I had someone vouch that if you lived in Shanghai this is exactly what you can expect to live in (tiny kitchen and all). It is midway between the bund and the Shanghai Musuem so it is as central as you can get. The metro is about a 10 minute walk away. You could walk to french quarter (like we did) but I would highly suggest you go to the metro and go up a stop or two. Around the people square (where the musuem is) is a lot of shopping and restaurants. For the price it is a good deal. As a travellers note, if you are going to Beijing first, then Shanghai, do as much of your shopping in Beijing as possible as Shanghai is noticable more expensive in everything (if we were to do our trip again we would goto Shanghai first, then Beijing to avoid this problem).

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wackytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews