We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 157
US$ 144
CachetHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 188
Jumeirah.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 86
US$ 84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 151
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 141
US$ 128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 185
US$ 154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 203
US$ 118
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 174
US$ 149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 99
US$ 85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
182
373
79
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
373
79
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom apartmentpeople's squarenanjing roadsmall kitchenthese apartmentspots and panswashing machinedining tablewalking distancedashijie stationminute walkshanghai museumliving areafood streetpeople's parksmall supermarketcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 672 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Selected this hotel/apartment based on trip advisor recommendations. Not so lucky this time. In the past we have stayed at great places based on trip advsior. This is the exception. Pictures looked good, beds were solid (like granite) Disturbed that housekeeping had to bring and charge for all items beyond a teacup. Ahh... the smell! Raw sewage and mould. Still coughing! Gas shutoffs are worrisome.
Consider another location, had to leave, just couldn't stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mainegardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2007

Three of us stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 6 nights and had a great stay. The room was very clean, the shower was hot and drained well, and the apartment was large enough for us to sprawl out. Bottled hot/cold water in the kitchen came in very handy for making cups of tea. The location was fantastic- walking distance to the major sights and the People's Square subway station. The breakfast was great for us Americans, especially the fresh-cooked eggs and strong hot coffee. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

Loved this property. The location and price was just right! We booked a deluxe 1 bdrm with study apartment and had a computer ready and waiting when we arrived. The staff were very good and helpful. The western/chinese breakfast was good. We ate no other meals there. We are walkers and walked literally everywhere: Old Shanghai (25 minutes), Nanjing Road (10 min) the Bund and Pudong River for cruising by day or night (25 minutesJ). We would have walked faster but the weather was hot with high humidity, plus we had a 5 year old with a stroller. We would definately go back to Shanghai and stay at the same place. It was a comfortable, clean place to stay. Not too much english ... A grocery was across the street with anything you might want. Fresh fruit on the street. Laundry on the third floor. Our only drawback in Shanghai was the food. We survived well as having a kitchenette and a grocery near by.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CAACanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

We stayed here for 4 days in the beginning of September and were satisfied with the hotel. Firstly, this hotel focuses on long term business clientel, not tourist. The hotel staff spoke good english and we had no problem checking in but when we asked them anything tourist related they didn't know the answer. However Shanghai was easy to navigate so this was not a huge problem. The rooms are old appartments, not hotels rooms. I had someone vouch that if you lived in Shanghai this is exactly what you can expect to live in (tiny kitchen and all). It is midway between the bund and the Shanghai Musuem so it is as central as you can get. The metro is about a 10 minute walk away. You could walk to french quarter (like we did) but I would highly suggest you go to the metro and go up a stop or two. Around the people square (where the musuem is) is a lot of shopping and restaurants. For the price it is a good deal. As a travellers note, if you are going to Beijing first, then Shanghai, do as much of your shopping in Beijing as possible as Shanghai is noticable more expensive in everything (if we were to do our trip again we would goto Shanghai first, then Beijing to avoid this problem).

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wackytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

We stayed 4 nights at the New Harbour Service Apartments. We arrived very early in Shanghai and was pleasantly surprised we were allowed to check-in at 8am without any additional charge. Receptionist was cheerful and check-in was a breeze. On our 1st night, we booked the deluxe 1-bedroom apartment. It was spotlessly clean, it came with a decent sized bedroom with a queen bed, plenty of wardrobe space and side-tables. The view wasn't much to look at as the city was pretty smoggy. The bathroom was clean and water pressure was strong. We had a small kitchenette with a small fridge, microwave and portable drinking water. In the fridge, soft drinks and beer were available, although at a price, the price-list was displayed on the kitchen cabinet. We shifted to a deluxe 3-bedroom from the 2nd night onwards as we had friends joining us a day later. The 3 bedder apartment is huge, came with a side table, dining table and large living room. 1 room would be the master-bedroom with attached bathroom, 2nd room was a normal sized room with queen bed, 2rd room was a room with a single bed. Everything was so new and our night-lamp was still wrapped up in plastic. There was a big attached bathroom near the living room. I was a little bit surprised that absolutely no utensils were provided in the kitchen, so if you want a cup of coffee, take it black or bring along a small teaspoon.

The living room had a sofa, some potted plants, coffee-table and a tv. We could only find 2 English channels - HBO and Channel News Asia from Singapore. The bedroom and living room had separate air-cons so we had 2 remote controls, which were entirely in Mandarin, so if you can't read Mandarin and you have problem using the remote, you need to get help from reception.

We were given bk'fast coupons and the buffet spread wasn't much to rave about. Very few selections although you had your breads, jams, butter, and local food like dim sum and noodles, however there was an egg station and they understood English, so you can order sunny side up or scrambled eggs. The staff there were very polite.

The location of this service apartment was great! It was very near the Shanghai museum (which I recommend, it has 4 floors!), near the Bund, near the Yu Gardens which I absolutely loved and highly recommend!

The bund is absolutely beautiful at night and the old buildings are just fantastic, you must take a night cruise down the bund and bring along your video-camera. The landmark of Shanghai which is the Pearl Orient Tower is also a must as you can see the whole of Shanghai (it reminds me of the Eiffel Tower). Keep your ticket stubs and you may want to visit the wax museum located on the 1st floor of the Pearl Orient Tower, it showcases old Shanghai and it has lovely old photos.

Taxis are plentiful and the flag down rate is only 11 yuan. Although a local tells me that it's nearly impossible to catch a cab during summer and rainy days. A note of caution: if you flag a cab, be sure to be quick, we had our cab 'stolen' from under our noses by a local couple, we were waiting for the occupants to exit the cab and this couple walked right up and got into the cab, although it was clear we were waiting to get in.

There are plenty of restaurants in Shanghai and prices are reasonably cheap. There are some al-fresco restaurants at the Bund (at the back of Shangri-La hotel) which is lovely, you get to enjoy the beautiful lights against the backdrop of those lovely buildings and see the ships cruise by.

The only downside about Shanghai is the horrendous traffic, plan your itinerary early and try to avoid peak-hour as the traffic is really very bad, it's stop-go-stop-go...you get the picture. The ride from the airport took us over an hour to get to the apartment on arrival and we were caught in peak hour traffic.

We took the 'MagLev train' (magnetic levitation) to the airport when we returned home. You have to experience it, it only took 7 minutes from the train station to the airport and only costs 50 yuan (keep your boarding stubs, if you show it to them, you only pay 40 yuan). This is a special train which goes to the airport in get this...330km/h. It sure beats sitting in a cab for an hour.

Beware of 'spitters', there are quite a lot of them, so watch where you step.

We found it pretty safe in Shanghai, the shopping was fantastic and taxis are plentiful in Autumn. Would definitely stay at New Harbour again if I ever visit Shanghai again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ilovediving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews