We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Harbour Service Apartments
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Myself and my husband stayed here for four nights at the beginning of October. We found it extremely satisfactory. We had a one bed apartment with sitting room, kitchen and bathroom. It was serviced very well each day and was clean and spacious. We are currently on a round the world trip and liked having the space in the apartment instead of just a small hotel room. We were also on one of the higher floors and had a great view of the city lights. There was a TV in the sitting room and the bedroom.

Like another reviewer said, we found the supply of hot/cold water in the kitchen great-also for making cups of tea in the morning! True, if you want to self cater you do have to hire the crockery, cooking utensils etc but I can't imagine why anyone would want to do this when the food outside the door of the hotel is so cheap and yummy. It cannot be cheaper or easier to self cater.

The location was excellent. A friend of ours lived in Shanghai for three years and she also said the location cannot be beaten. It is in a fairly local area so all of the nearby restaurants etc would not be tourist friendly in that no English menus etc but it's only a 10 min walk to more user friendly parts of Shanghai and it is nice to be in a local area to get a flavour for the real parts of the city.

There is no WIFI in the rooms which was a bit of a minus for us but there is a business centre with two computers (although it is not cheap). There are also two restaurants which we did not use.

All in all excellent value for the price-we paid 30 euro a head per night.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GaylePDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 419 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2007

Selected this hotel/apartment based on trip advisor recommendations. Not so lucky this time. In the past we have stayed at great places based on trip advsior. This is the exception. Pictures looked good, beds were solid (like granite) Disturbed that housekeeping had to bring and charge for all items beyond a teacup. Ahh... the smell! Raw sewage and mould. Still coughing! Gas shutoffs are worrisome.
Consider another location, had to leave, just couldn't stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mainegardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2007

Three of us stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 6 nights and had a great stay. The room was very clean, the shower was hot and drained well, and the apartment was large enough for us to sprawl out. Bottled hot/cold water in the kitchen came in very handy for making cups of tea. The location was fantastic- walking distance to the major sights and the People's Square subway station. The breakfast was great for us Americans, especially the fresh-cooked eggs and strong hot coffee. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

Loved this property. The location and price was just right! We booked a deluxe 1 bdrm with study apartment and had a computer ready and waiting when we arrived. The staff were very good and helpful. The western/chinese breakfast was good. We ate no other meals there. We are walkers and walked literally everywhere: Old Shanghai (25 minutes), Nanjing Road (10 min) the Bund and Pudong River for cruising by day or night (25 minutesJ). We would have walked faster but the weather was hot with high humidity, plus we had a 5 year old with a stroller. We would definately go back to Shanghai and stay at the same place. It was a comfortable, clean place to stay. Not too much english ... A grocery was across the street with anything you might want. Fresh fruit on the street. Laundry on the third floor. Our only drawback in Shanghai was the food. We survived well as having a kitchenette and a grocery near by.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CAACanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

We stayed here for 4 days in the beginning of September and were satisfied with the hotel. Firstly, this hotel focuses on long term business clientel, not tourist. The hotel staff spoke good english and we had no problem checking in but when we asked them anything tourist related they didn't know the answer. However Shanghai was easy to navigate so this was not a huge problem. The rooms are old appartments, not hotels rooms. I had someone vouch that if you lived in Shanghai this is exactly what you can expect to live in (tiny kitchen and all). It is midway between the bund and the Shanghai Musuem so it is as central as you can get. The metro is about a 10 minute walk away. You could walk to french quarter (like we did) but I would highly suggest you go to the metro and go up a stop or two. Around the people square (where the musuem is) is a lot of shopping and restaurants. For the price it is a good deal. As a travellers note, if you are going to Beijing first, then Shanghai, do as much of your shopping in Beijing as possible as Shanghai is noticable more expensive in everything (if we were to do our trip again we would goto Shanghai first, then Beijing to avoid this problem).

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wackytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,137 in Shanghai
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Harbour Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Harbour Service Apartments

Address: No.88 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly New Harbour Serviced Apartments)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 324 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: ₹ 5,623 - ₹ 8,473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Harbour Service Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully combines the elegance of hotel living with the comforts of home. this apartment-style Shanghai hotel offers a refreshing respite from the flurry of activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Harbour Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Hotel Shanghai
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing