We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 145
US$ 127
CachetHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 224
US$ 190
Jumeirah.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 164
US$ 137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 143
US$ 102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 154
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 134
US$ 123
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 181
US$ 135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 327
US$ 296
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
10
47
30
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
47
30
11
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The best thing about the Swan Hotel is the location. It is by the Honkou Soccer Stadium and right near the park with access to two subway lines, the 3 and the 8. The area around the hotel is the Sichuan Bei Luan shopping area with everything from Watsons to Pizza Hut to Starbucks. The room had wired Internet access (with WiFi in the lobby area only), mini-bar, TV. There was no safe in the room. The room was a good size but smelled of mold and cigarette smoke; the shower drain was quite slow, leaving one showering in an ankle high puddle. The staff was always helpful even when language was a barrier. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Typically for a mid-price Chinese hotel, the building looks weathered and the aesthetics deteriorate the further inside you get. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the staff's helpfulness and professionalism, and for my purposes the location is ideal. If you are used to traveling in China or are able to cut the brand-name hotel umbilical cord, the Swan's shortcomings will probably seem modest.

Apart from a toilet flusher in need of minor adjustment, everything in the room worked as advertised: not least the broadband Internet (even when surfing via VPN to the US). The sheets and towels were clean. The carpet, on the other hand, was a disaster and I had to thank my wife for insisting that I pack flip flops.

The room had a mini-bar, TV, and computer which I did not use having brought my own. There was no safe in the room but rather an industrial strength deposit box in the hotel office with single keys given to the guest upon request. Although most of my conversations took place in Chinese, the staff seemed to have adequate English.

For me, the location worked because I am looking for a longer-term apartment in the neighborhood while I attend a course at Fudan University. It is just too far to travel from e.g. Huangpu District, where many of the serviced apartments seem to be. Plus, the Sichuan Bei Lu shopping area is right down the street from the hotel, and the #8 subway line is a two-minute walk.

With that kind of transport plus eating places galore (including Dairy Queen and Pizza Hut for anyone so desiring) I found the Swan to be a good choice for the USD 50/night price range. But it's probably not the right place for anyone who wants western standards of cleanliness and service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beijau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2007

This was listed on the Travelsphere tour as a 3 star hotel. It was excellent similiar to the Holiday Inn Express in the UK. Good location next to the park so you can get up at 6.00am and join in all the various morning exercises (we didn't) but some did. a good range of shpos and bars around you plus Starbucks immediately opposite for your late night chocolate. The only downdide was the breakfast which was limited

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BillericayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2006

Hotel was clean and rooms nice but cold, it didn't feel like the heating was on at all! Not good in Shanghai in November!
Also I didn't like the glass screen between bathroom and bedroom, although frosted it still felt like you could be seen!
But food in restaurants good and breakfast very nice.
Shops near hotel good too.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank mangled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2006

We stayed here for two nights in September as part of a Travelsphere tour of China (excellent tour by the way). I felt I had to write a review as the only other reviews on the site make it appear an awful hotel, in fact I was dreading staying there. I was pleasantly surprised, the hotel was clean, comfortable and well up to standard for a tour hotel. Yes, there were stains on the well worn carpet in our room, but they were clean stains! The rest of the decor and fittings were fine. We had two breakfasts and one dinner in the hotel, both were satisfactory in both quality and quantity. There is a nice little bar area, the staff are friendly, English is understood although not spoken much (so how's your Mandarin then?). As part of a tour, communication with the staff was through tour management and local guide so no real contact, but they seemed efficient and eager to please. If you are booked into this hotel, don't despair, it's fine!

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Part_time_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews