We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the Shanghai tourist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Ranked #141 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Erin, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location for the Shanghai tourist”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel after two weeks in Beijing and Xian and by then we were ready for a little western familiarity. It is a clean, simple hotel with all of the amenities although the beds were a little hard. The wonderful pillows helped offset this though. The tvs are dated - no flat screens here but there are bathrobes, plenty of towels, and several bottles of drinking water so you can brush your teeth. It is definitely geared to the business traveller however the close proximity to the Shanghai rail station and subway make it a great lcoation for the tourist. There is a square right outside the hotel that has plenty of inexpensive restaurants some even western. The breakfast buffet was satisfying and a nice treat after 2 weeks of traditional Chinese fare.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Ms. Lucky_Lina,
Thank you for your stay with us at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, and your valuable comments on our hotel. We are delighted to learn that we enjoyed our service and facilities. Our good location is often reassuring to hear directy from our guests. We want to offer our guest a hassle-free, stress-free and relaxing stay at our hotel. Thank you again and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    400
    284
    70
    21
See reviews for
65
159
77
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Changshu, China
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I want all the Trip Advisor's who are looking for a hotel with a budget, Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai is the hotel to go. They have remodeled the hotel rooms which I have to say are very nice. Beware some rooms have hard beds and some are softer, so when making your reservation please specify this when you make your reservations on line. The breakfast is not bad, good variety of foods, Chinese / Western. The management take great care of priority guest which I'm a member. The rooms are clean and have the normal amenities. The hotel is located by the main train station in Shanghai which has easy access anywhere in Shanghai. the renovations are over and my opinion a great bang for the dollar

Room Tip: Club Level Rooms are great, King Executive if you can get into one is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCzupski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear DCzupski,
Sincere thanks for taking your time to share your experience. We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay. It is always nice to receive compliments on the product and service, extra wonderful to receive your tips as well. Thank you again for your valuable opinions and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This is your standard business hotel. Reasonable size room, simple decor, wide variety at the breakfast buffet. MRT station is just behind the hotel.
Only complaint was the room temperature. The staff said air-cond switched off during winter. Windows were locked, so no ventilation?! That wasn't acceptable. So the staff came up to our room to unlocked the windows. We opened the windows a little during the nights. But I still perspired a bit.
My colleagues in another room also complained the same thing & were given a table fan. Unlocking windows a better option as the room was not so stuffy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brightpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear brightpanda,
Thank you for your stay with us at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and your constructive comment on T/A. Kindly accept my sincere apologies for discomfort caused by room temperature. Those incidents which happened during your patronage indicates more attention is required by our team and has been treated with great concern. Thank you once more for bringing the Ups and Downs of your visit to our attention and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint jean le Blanc
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I got an issue with a local karaoke in Tianjin road where they charged me too much. I call 110 to get the Police and after 5 min a policeman was in the lobby. As I am not speaking Chinese, an employee from the hotel proposed to come with me at the police station. He did a great job and helped me during the discussion with the policemen. Excellent support !
Concerning the hotel, it is very comfortable and quiet so ideal for business with free internet connection. I will go back to this hotel for my next trip. Furthermore, the central location is very as the Central railway station is 5 min walk as well as the metro.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMG45650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear JMG45650,
Sincere thanks for taking your time to share your experience positive comments for Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. Your praise means a lot to us. We want to offer our guest a hassle-free, stress-free and relaxing stay at our hotel. Thank you again for your valuable opinions and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed here in Nov 2011 on a business trip. When i arrived, i think they were doing some renovation. There were white sheets strewn all over the floor everywhere and very dirty. I was shocked. I did not expect Holiday Inn to look that dishelved.
It was winter, so all air cond was switched off. It was really warm in the room, when i called the reception, they said it's because it's winter.. (temperature outside was about 16-17 C). inside the hotel maybe 24-25 C.. i was sweating when i woke up in the morn. The next night, they gave me a fan. I don't understand why they can't just switch on the air cond and allow guest to control the air cond in their rooms.
Breakfast was OK. No complains. There are some shopping outlets - walking distance. Staff was normal. However, i would not come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drseethaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Seethaj,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. First of all, we would like to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you’ve encountered. Those incidents which happened during your patronage indicates more attention is required by our team and has been treated with great concern. Thank you once more for bringing the Ups and Downs of your visit to our attention and we truly hope you will give us a chance to show you our quality of service and regain your confidence in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
#110 of 5,069 in Shanghai
537 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#112 of 5,069 in Shanghai
565 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#164 of 5,069 in Shanghai
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Address: No. 285 West Tian Mu Road Jing'an District, Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#126 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,637 - ₹ 6,763
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown is managed by InterContinental Hotels Group. The hotel is located in the commercial centre of Shanghai Jing’an District, only 5 minutes walking distance to Shanghai Railway Station, subway entrance of line 1/ 3/ 4 and airport line 5. Pudong International Airport is 45 minutes by car and a speedy 20 minutes to Hongqiao International Airport/ National Center for Exhibition & Convention. Ease access to some famous attractions such as Tianzifang, Xintiandi, The Bund, People’s Square, the Jade Buddha Temple, Yu Garden…around 20 minutes. Our hotel provides you an ideal location for shopping, dining, sightseeing, entertainment. The hotel has a total of 282 modern and comfortable rooms including 14 suites. Guests can also utilize your very own in-room desk and free high-speed Wi-Fi and Wired Internet Access, so you can keep on top of work and the latest news. The Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown is the ideal choice for conventions and meetings, with its versatile and stylish function rooms; we can accommodate all types of meetings, training seminars, weddings and a wide range social function. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, the Lobby Lounge is a great place to relax and enjoy special drinks. Enjoy Western and Asian cuisine at Angel’s Cafe and experience authentic Chinese local dishes at Yue Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing