We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Ranked #101 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay - Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Folks.... The Marvel Hotel is located centrally in Shanghai! You can then walk to the old town, shopping precinct and to the BUND. The subway stations are right nearby. The rooms are clean, tidy, the bathrooms are fully equipped. Everything worked and it was good value for money !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JustJools2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    165
    35
    1
    7
See reviews for
33
74
37
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The hotel is an old YMCA building, but has been renovated nicely. It has great location and the services of the staff are excellent. I would recommend learning to speak some basic Chinese before the trip to Shanghai since most of the hotel staff does not speak English well.

The room I stayed is bit small even for just one person. There's no in room coffee, so bring your own coffee and sugar and creamer. I did not make hot water for tea either because the hot pot was not clean. For dining option - there are many restaurants and bakery/coffee shops within a block or two from the hotel. For the week I stayed in Shanghai and there were a few hot and humid days but the hotel would not run the air conditioner. I was told it was because the weather (temp.) has not reached high enough to meet government regulation to turn on the air. It really made my week long stay uncomfortable and bit unpleasant. If one only wants a nice location and friendly staff, this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Request a non-smoking room; request a fan if weather is warm but the hotel would not run the air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sher2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel somehow tells a story, a story of the olden days. Simply love the design of it.

Great location to almost ALL the well-known attractions of Shanghai.

In the back alley of this property, most food stalls are open till late for supper. Wide selections to choose from.

Then of course, people are not very focus on customer service. So dont expect too much. Rooms are generally small (But hey, it's an old building afterall), but clean!

*It's still winter season when i went with my family, we didnt even need to on the a/c. Just had to leave the windows opened.

Will stay with them when i make a return trip one day (:

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

My first impression of this hotel was that it looked a bit dated. However, the rooms have been nicely renovated with modern touches; I liked it. The duvet was super comfortable and the mattress firm, like most other China hotels. The bedding was clean; no complaints there. I always had a good night's sleep.

The only thing preventing people in the room from seeing you in the shower are the blinds behind the big glass panel separating the room from the toilet. It's ok if you are staying alone or with people you don't mind accidentally seeing your "bits". Otherwise, keep those blinds tightly shut!

The odd thing about the minibar is that there was nothing in it. I'd have expected there to be at least a couple of bottles of water, but there wasn't. There were 2 (yes, TWO) teabags in the drawer. No instant coffee, creamer or even sugar. Bizarre. The teabags looked very lonely.

The buffet breakfast was average, not very much variety but enough for a business traveler who only wants a quick bite.

My one main gripe about this place is that you can only get wifi in the lobby. I couldn't get wifi from my bed, but I could if I stood behind my room door. Believe me, I felt a little ridiculous, but at least wifi was free.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel is located in the original YMCA of Shanghai, and the YMCA sign is still above the doors, which threw me off initially. It's nicely located across the road from the Music Theatre, and around the corner from Dashijie Metro stop.
The rooms were clean, but tiny. It was quiet in the hotel, which made it great for my 3 year old son. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and nice to my son, which doesn't always happens inn hotels.
I definately reccomend this hotel for families and travelers.

Room Tip: Dependiong on the size of your child, you may not need to get a roll away bed for your room. Our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#47 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#31 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
People’s Square
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#152 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square

Property: Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Address: No.123 Xizang South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly 商悦青年会大酒店)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#103 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,100 - ₹ 11,108
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super Great location in the historic 1931 YMCA building for transport, shopping, entertainment, bars and cafes! Historic entrance then walk or take the lift to 2F to reception. This hotel joined the new mid scale Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel chain as a "Classiq". Try out the new extra large rooms recently renovated and well worth a little extra to overlook the park.Good local cuisine featured in the 3 meal a day leased out cafe on 2F. Along with the brand standard east-meets-west-breakfast-buffet. Please check out the MetroPolo brand website or Booking for a total of 10 hotels in Shanghai open in 2016 and 30+ in other cities. Attentive service; distinctive decor; delight your senses; inspire your imagination. Unique urban style lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing