We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atour Hotel Hongkou Dabaishu
Ranked #1,298 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 24 August 2007

The hotels name is now Shanghai Lansheng Hotel, does not carry anymore SAS Radisson in its name.

The rooms are spacious, clean and well acceptable. It is however very evident that the hotel is facing a range of management problems. Facilities which the hotel may have had in the past like KTV, disco are closed. The bar most time closed, when I looked into it it was always empty.

The hotel is suffering unfriendly male pe3rsonnel presenting some attitude like not having to serve Non-Chinese guest. The only highlight some friendly female trainees which better than all the other hotel staff.

During 2 months of stay I noted frequent interruptions of the supply of water to the guest rooms due to maintenance. On some occasions these interruptions exceeded the time as indicated on the hotel TV channel.

Negative also the location, no real attractions in the vicinity of the hotel.

Considering the 4 stars and it’s 4 star price, Shanghai certainly to provide better options. Acceptable only at a discounted low rate.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mikeschmeisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2006

We stayed in Shanghai for 4 nights in June 2006 at this hotel. Out tour operator Kuoni offered 2 hotels in Shanghai - this one and the Shrangri La (which was very expensive). We had concerns about the location before we left and were proved correct. There is absolutely nothing around the hotel. You have to get a taxi wherever you go and need to avoid doing this in rush hour as it takes longer. The taxis were cheap but when we tried to get a taxi from the New World to the hotel at night some of the taxi drivers did not know where the hotel was and did not take us. On one occasion, we had to direct the taxi driver to our hotel - not easy when he did not speak english.

The breakfast was average, although the rooms were a good size. The view from the hotel room was uninspiring - a concrete jungle.

Having been there, I think it would be better to stay at Howard Johnson or Ramada. We did ask our travel company for an alternative, but they were unable to offer this to us.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smoothie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Norfolk
27
Reviewed 3 May 2006

I loved this hotel, the rooms were big, clean and nicely decorated, we had a king size bed, huge bathroom with seperate shower and bath, breakfast was lovely, there were some works going on outside of the hotel but didn't effect our stay, good location 5 star!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2005

this hotel was the worst experience of my life all the rooms smelt mouldy and they even had a dehumidifier in the middle of the lounge area i wouldnt recommend it to my worst ememy

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank allister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Phoenix, AZ
123
Reviewed 22 October 2004

We stayed here May 2004 for over a week and were disappointed.

Rooms: The rooms were badly in need of a remodel. The carpet was faded and stained. The bathroom wasn't cleaned well. The bedding was old and dingy. The room and entire floor reeked of smoke even though it was a nonsmoking room. The view was interesting, especially in the morning when the bicycle traffic comes by. The breakfast served was good, though the same every day which gets boring.

Location: This hotel is far from nearly everything. You will have to take a taxi everywhere you go. It was about 20 or 30 minutes to get downtown to all of the main sites. Fortunately that taxi ride was often only $5.

Overall, there are many other nicer hotels in better locations. I would not stay here again.

23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Life Hub DANING
Central International Hotel
Central International Hotel
#422 of 5,159 in Shanghai
27 reviews
Hongkou
GreenTree Inn Shanghai Dabai Tree Business Hotel
GreenTree Inn Shanghai Dabai Tre...
#1,947 of 5,159 in Shanghai
185 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#31 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atour Hotel Hongkou Dabaishu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atour Hotel Hongkou Dabaishu

Address: No.1000 Quyang Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200437, China (Formerly Radisson SAS Lang Sheng Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#292 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: ₹ 5,058 - ₹ 9,733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atour Hotel Hongkou Dabaishu 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atour Hotel Hongkou Dabaishu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Lansheng Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing