We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic property, superbly renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
386 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Historic property, superbly renovated”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The Fairmont Peace Hotel in Shanghai has an excellent location off the historic Bund. Founded in the 1920s by the British businessman Victor Sassoon, the property was renovated recently with great attention to detail. The result is terrific. Staying here, you can imagine socialites from China and the West joining for cocktails and dancing. In the breakfast room on an upper floor, you see red kites being flown over the river. In my mind, it is the place to stay in Shanghai.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    294
    48
    17
    10
See reviews for
335
599
120
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Exquisite experience for the family to experience a hotel with such a rich heritage. From the minute we got into the hotel, we felt like we're in a movie set. The room we had was amazing, large and well appointed. Service was refined and discreet and we felt like we're millionaires.

While it's location is excellent to visit the Bund, unfortunately it takes a good 10-min walk to get to the nearest metro station and the pedestrian mall - Nanjing Road East. It is, however, no problem getting a taxi at the front of the hotel, and certainly no problem for the taxi drivers coming back.

There are hoards of people walking past the hotel and taking photo at the side of the hotel facing the Bund.

Avoid the touristy cruise (usually comes with a meal) and walk further down (nearer to Waldoff Astoria) for a 2 yuan ferry across the river.

We'll certainly return to stay if we are ever in Shanghai!

Room Tip: Make sure you sign up for the free Fairmont President Club to enjoy free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The hotel decor and the room decor are pretty and very nice. I was being arranged to a twin-bed room and the bath room is super big. The bad side of this room is that I have no view at all - it is facing another building. The location is superb, though you will find many tour and tour buses outside the hotel. The location to the riverside is superb too, it is a walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selsinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I have stayed here a few times the last few years for business. It's honestly my favorite hotel in the world. The history, the location on the bund, the rooms and the service are all amazing. It's just a cool spot that is worth the money. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in shanghai.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Perfect base for a few days of business in Shanghai. It has all the things I look for in a great business hotel:

* Great central location - all the taxi's know how to find it
* Rooms are quiet and roomy with desks and Wifi
* Beds and linens are great
* Restaurants are good - breakfast buffet is well-maintained
* Workout facilities small, but clean and sufficient

I will definitely come back next trip to Shanghai!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,155 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel

Property: Fairmont Peace Hotel
Address: 20 Nanjing Road East, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#175 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,085 - ₹ 28,230
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing