We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but Goodie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Ranked #32 of 5,147 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I am not a big fan of Shanghai, it is a giant concrete Jungle with horribe traffic and smog, but when I am there, Grand Hyatt makes it all better.

the hotel is very close to "bund" area which has majority of attractions and restaurants. It is part of a grand tower and the Lobby is on 54 th floor or something like that. the hotel has been there for a while so there are signes of aging here and there,but you forget about them rather quickly. The Bell service was great, front desk staff very friendly, everyone spoke english fluently, and check in process was very easy and nice.

The room was good, and view was nice, but the bathroom was AMAZING, I actually took some pictures of the bathroom, with huge soak in tub, sculptures, very nice vanity and great aminities. my favorite however was that the closet in the hallway opened in the bathroom as well so you did not have to go around to get to your clothes, and you could just open the door and get dressed in the bathroom. the tea service setting was absolutly beautiful as well. I first thought it was part of the decor and artwork in the room...

Breakfast was very good, good selection of western and chinese breakfast, I do suggest indulging in the chinese breakfast, while you are there, it is very good and safe to eat (for those of us Americans who are affraid of anything that is not an American chain). the only sad part is that it was not included in my room rate!

the hotel has many bars and lounges, I do recommand the piano bar if you like to feel like you are in chicago in the 40s and would like to have some good scotch and smoke a cigar with a live band and decent enough singer (Billie Holiday will not be performing). there are series of restaurants on one of the floors from your choice of sushi, italian and steak house, all excellent, and if it is your first time I highly recommand cloude nine, a beautiful club on top of the tower with amazing view of shanghai river, I felt like this is how a NYC night club would have been in the 1920s... so if you go there, don't do what I did, and actually put something nice on... but if you are not up to par with attire, they are still very nice to you

Hotel servises are great, gym is small but very new and clean with full staff. the pool is amazing, you have to take a dip if you are there even only for a night, the only thing there was no jaccuzzie tub, but you don't really need it with the amazing bathroom setting in the room. Hotel does have car service but there are cabs also lined up and are very fairly priced. I would say no to car service and get in the cab instead.

My fav part about the hotel was its price, for less than 300$ a night, I felt like I was staying at a much more expensive establishment. If the price doesn't win you over, the service will...

Room Tip: the car service is a bit too pricy, use the taxi services
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobbyPtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 965 of 2,417 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

I spent 7 days in Shanghai and on the 74th Floor of the Grand Hyatt in this amazing city.

This hotel was excellent from check in to check out.

The staff are incredibly hospitable (not too overbearing) and were always available for any request. We were always greeted and assisted with pressing the lifts to finding your way through this hotel that started on the 54 floor to finished on level 85.

My room was beautifully finished with twin beds (I was travelling with a friend) which were very comfortable and bed linen changed daily. The bathrooms were luxurious, although the shower facilities were difficult to work out, LOL, but once you did, the water pressure and temperatures were excellent. In fact, I would be very interested in getting people's feedback in regards to the ergonomic layout of the bathroom. LOL

One thing which i was concerned about was the lack of an "in room" directory. I could not find one, which may have outlined emergency procedures, in room dining and hotel faciltiies. I searched all drawers and even on the directory on the television, but could not find anything. In addition to this, I must make comment to my meal in their cafe, called The Grand Cafe. I had dinner one evening on my lonesome and decided to go with the buffet. This was a big mistake. The food was dry and the meats tough. This meal cost me $AU70.00 and was a total rip off.

We visited the swimming pool and spa facilities on Level 57 and was very impressed. The view of course, complimented the experience even more.

Despite some minor concerns, this hotel deserves praises and i will certainly stay their again. The view is certainly "on top of this world" and the staff are faultless. Well done Grand Hyatt Shangai, Pudong.

Room Tip: All rooms are recommended..but to experience the views, ask for room at the highest possible level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusinessClass3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Excellent all around... only problem is that I couldn't afford to stay more than one night.

Room Tip: Excellent all around... only problem is that I couldn't afford to stay more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMJMEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is a really good place to be! The first 54 floors are offices and the hotel runs from 55 to 89th floor. The views are amazing from every room (although I had a view of a constructions site).

You really don't need to leave the hotel as the gym and spa are very good, plenty of restaurants of good quality, great service (pick up at the airport, English speaking personnel) and overall a good atmosphere.

The hotel is centrally located in Pudong which is a very clean and safe area. Brand Super Mall is close but it has mainly US and European brands and very expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TedMBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

It is nice to see that even though it is now considered an "older" property in Shanghai hotel standards (where new hotels are popping up every year), that the Grand Hyatt has maintained it's service standard. Check-in was quick, and courteous, and we used a diamond suite upgrade certificate and was given a suite at the club floor. When you reach the floor, and step off the elevator, the first thing that attracts your attention is the circular open area where you can look up and see the crowd who are in Jin Mao looking down! Then when you look down, you see how high up you are, it's quite breath taking. The suite was spacious, though had a very strong smell as if they were trying to cover some smell with carpet deodorizer!

Service at the club lounge was great, at one point, we left a pair of sunglasses in the lounge, and when we went back later that evening, one of the club lounge attendant, asked me if we had left our sunglasses earlier, and promptly gave it back! We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank hkfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, Manager at Grand Hyatt Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Reviewer,

It's great to know that you enjoyed the stay with us and my colleague at the Grand Club Lounge handled your lost & found item well and I will ensure that they are recognized accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Andy Chang
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Park Hyatt Shanghai
#26 of 5,147 in Shanghai
1,170 reviews
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#55 of 5,147 in Shanghai
2,078 reviews
Lujiazui
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Shanghai

Address: Jin Mao Tower, No.88 Century Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200121, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#14 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#15 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#167 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: ₹ 12,113 - ₹ 27,688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowning the prestigious 88-storey Jin Mao Tower, the hotel begins on the 53rd floor and rises to the 87th floor. The 555-room Grand Hyatt Shanghai is located in the centre of Lujiazui, Pudong’s business and financial area. As Hyatt International’s flagship property in China, Grand Hyatt Shanghai caters to the international business traveller by offering a style of service and range of facilities that are second to none.Jin Mao Tower was developed by China Jin Mao Group Co. Ltd, and designed by world-renowned architects, Skidmore, Owings and Merrill of Chicago, and soars to a height of 420.5 metres (1,380 feet). The most dramatic architectural feature of the tower is a 33-storey atrium inside Grand Hyatt Shanghai, starting on the 56th floor. The interior design of the hotel is by Bilkey Llinas Consulting of Palm Beach, Florida.Featuring contemporary art deco touches combined with traditional Chinese imagery, the guestrooms are spacious and all have stunning views of Shanghai. All guestrooms have complimentary broadband and wireless Internet access, CAT 5 high-speed modem computer dataports, two-line telephones and a voicemail message system. The oversized bathrooms are appointed with separate baths and showers, feature high-tech shower-towers with three shower heads and have heated mirrors in the shower cubicle (convenient for shaving while you shower), clear glass sinks and double-sided wardrobes. The hotel has seventeen Grand Suites, seventeen Grand Riverview Suites, eight Diplomat Suites, two Presidential Suites and one Chairman Suite. Exclusive Grand Club accommodation is provided at the top of the hotel, ideal for business travellers seeking an even higher level of personalised service. An all-day concierge is provided to guests that can also enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, evening cocktails served with deluxe hors d’oeurves and coffee and tea in the comfort of the private two-storey Bund View Grand Club Lounge. An executive boardroom is available for Grand Club guests.Located on lobby level 54, Grand Hyatt Shanghai’s Business Centre provides a full range of office equipment and confidential secretarial services, such as translation, printing and parcel wrapping. Business cards can also be printed and delivered. The Business Centre also offers private work areas for rental on an hourly or daily basis and a conference room seating up to ten people. To allow for differences in international time zones, the Business Centre is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week.To wind down after a day of hectic business dealings, the business traveller can appreciate Grand Hyatt’s fitness and recreational facilities that are located on level 57, namely Club Oasis. In addition to comprehensive health club facilities and spa treatments, guests can enjoy swimming in the sky pool while enjoying the breathtaking panorama of the Shanghai skyline.Grand Hyatt Shanghai offers the business traveller an extensive selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy and entertain in. Facilities include Canton restaurant, ON56 (a collection of eateries on level 56 featuring Kobachi Japanese restaurant; Cucina, an Italian restaurant serving brick-oven pizzas; The Grill, offering the freshest seafood and succulent prime-grade meats; Patio, a lounge at the base of the 33-storey atrium; and Wine Bar, offering the most extensive wine selection in town). Grand Hyatt Shanghai is also home to the Sky Lounge Cloud9, a favourite for night owls on the 87th floor; Piano Bar located on level 53 of the Jin Mao Tower, offering breathtaking views of the city; Grand Café, a 24-hour restaurant with buffets; Food Live, a food court with five Asian and Western counters and a casual Chinese restaurant; and Club Jin Mao located on the 86th floor. Club Jin Mao is Shanghai’s most prestigious Shanghainese restaurant and offers the finest facilities for entertaining and relaxation. It's exquisite and authentic cuisine and highly personalised services are available to the public. The hotel’s extensive event and conference facilities include the Grand Ballroom for 1,200 people, the Crystal Ballroom for 750 people and thirteen separate meeting rooms. State-of-the-art multimedia and video conferencing are also available.Located in the prosperous Pudong business district, Grand Hyatt Shanghai is just ten minutes from The Bund, the city’s famous waterfront showcasing turn-of-the-century architectural masterpieces and the Yu Yuan Garden. Shanghai Hong Qiao International Airport is a 30-minute drive and Grand Hyatt Shanghai is the closest five-star hotel from Pudong International Airport, approximately 45 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Prestigia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hyatt Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Shanghai
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing