We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling like home (Western country) while staying in Shanghai !”
Review of Thames Town

Thames Town
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 8.16*
and up
Private Transfer between Shanghai Thames Town and...
Ranked #104 of 1,304 things to do in Shanghai
Attraction details
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Hi all :) I went to Thames town a few weeks ago. It was great, relaxing and it made me feel like I was back home for a few hours. We were there on a weekday so there wasn't a lot of people, it was just a great escape from Shanghai's action :) The architecture is based on a classic British market town. There are some shops, restaurants, a river that runs across the town ... and people living there on a permanent basis. You can have a coffee, a snack or eat there. We saw a Baskin Robbins, an Italian restaurant and a few more places. There isn't any shopping to be done.
TO GET THERE
Line 9. Stop at Songjiang University Town metro station. When you step out of the train, there's a mall in front of you at a 7 minutes walking distance with a KFC, Starbucks, ... You can go there before or after your visit.
There are a few buses that can bring you there. Just research them on Google map. Or, take a taxi (20 rmb) for about 10 minutes.
MUST SEE
The bookstore ! It's original and you can stop there to have a coffee or a snack.
SHOULD YOU VISIT THAMES TOWN ?
If you have been in Shanghai for a while, Thames Town is a great way to imagine that you're back home without spending money and/or flying for hours. It's a fantastic way to escape from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai.
Have a great relaxing day when you go there :)

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Wisetrotette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cozy town"
in 2 reviews
"mock tudor"
in 2 reviews
"an italian restaurant"
in 2 reviews
"photo shoot"
in 2 reviews
"fascinating place"
in 2 reviews
"church"
in 11 reviews
"bride"
in 8 reviews
"bookstore"
in 3 reviews
"statues"
in 6 reviews
"stroll"
in 5 reviews
"pace"
in 2 reviews
"trees"
in 2 reviews
"river"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017

There are Europe style buildings and many couples took wedding picture in there. You can easily take subway (line 9) to arrive here, it a good place to stay for weekend but it's quiet noisy cause too many people.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank ninifly1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

I wouldn't go out of my way to visit Thames Town. However, if you have time or are just curious then it's worth a visit. The town is quite popular for newlyweds to take photos. I recommend going on a nice clear day so you can walk around, enjoy the scenery and of course people watch.. There are likely to be many couples getting wedding photos on nice days.

I arrived on metro line number 9 to the Songjiang Xincheng station, then take a 15-minute taxi ride to Thames Town.

There are some good shops and restaurants in the town center. One place I saw serves high tea and there are several pubs to enjoy. It is not really a "ghost town" there are a lot of people here but it is certainly not many. So, I guess it can feel a bit eerie.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Billy_Whimwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

A good township modelled around an English town. Its almost an hour ride by Metro Line 9 and then a bus ride. Ideal for photo opportunities with family and kids. Has an impressive Gothic Church which is worth a visit. We visited during the Chinese NY holidays and the place was crowded. Kids enjoyed the choices at the Baskin Robbins ice cream shop and the lunch at an Italian Restaurant. Overall not one of the top attractions in Shanghai, but worth a visit if you are spending a long time in Shanghai

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank AchuRajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2017

It's like a ghost town but visit on a lazy weekend to visit the most famous library-it's beautiful!!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank RajahLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thames Town also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Thames Town? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing