We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price for a great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Ranked #73 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great price for a great hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Really I don't have any complaints (ok maybe one for later!). The hotel is well situated about 100m from a subway (it is not walking distance from anything except the subway, but that was OK for us as the subway is clean, fast, intuitive and cheap), cheap (It cost about 150$/night for our room; I asked if they had any comp upgrades and we were graciously moved into a corner executive suite free of charge), great service (re before) and great amenities.

The view from the 35th floor was perfect. We could see the entire pudong including the pearl tower that light up very nicely at night. would recommend checking out their restaurant on the 37th floor for a really great view from their bay windows.

changeroom, showers, hot tub, sauna and steam room were very nice in the mens room. I enjoyed the water massage. one complaint is that you have to walk through this horrible cold water on the way to the pool. It was pretty dreadful. If I were the hotel management I would either a) heat the water up or b) get rid of it. I understand the need for clean feet but that really soured the experience! the pool itself was great. nice and big, spill over so no huge waves. public hot tub was really shallow so you have to lay down to get all the way in but nice overall.

The lobby was big and nice, although a bit of a strange smell! overall I would happily stay there again and pay the 50 cents to commute the 5-10 minutes to the tourist sites.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a room higher up, facing pudong and an upgrade if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    244
    67
    21
    16
See reviews for
89
123
63
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

This Sheraton hotel was awesome! The room was clean and neat. The staff's English is hit and miss but their attitude is very positive, helpful and enthusiastic which made the experience delightful!

The breakfast buffet was always well stocked with fresh western fare and Chinese breakfast items as well.

The hotel is located across the street from metro line 10, which made transportation to/from all sites in the city very easy to get to.

Its not the cheapest place to stay, but you definitely get your money's worth when you stay at this Sheraton! The group I traveled with and I all loved our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mannygoesplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear mannygoesplaces,

Thank you for your lovely review and it is good to see that you had a great stay.

Please feel free to contact me if you ever plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Guest Relations Manager & Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

This was a work trip to Shanghai for me, and a time for touring for my wife. It worked out great for both of us, with a terrific location, great service, western amenities including a very nice breakfast. The executive lounge service was fantastic, including complimentary neck/shoulder massages in the evening from the spa staff!

A short taxi ride to the Bund, or hope across the street on to the metro.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbsailor67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear rbsailor67,

Thank you for your comments and I am really happy that my girls are doing a fantastic job in the lounge.

Please contact me if you ever plan to visit us again so that I could personally take care of your well being.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Guest Relations Manager & Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Puke
Level Contributor
250 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Well we booked this hotel for a number of reasons, location, age, price, reputation of the brand, size of the suite. We were not disappointed at any stage during our seven day stay. We booked an executive suite without a view but were upgraded to the Bund View suite. Very spacious and well appointed. The room was well serviced with honest cleaners. We accidentally left our safe wide open one day with a large sum of cash in there. Got back at the end of the day to discover our mistake but very pleased to say not one cent had been touched. Being in a suite we were entitled to use the Club lounge on the 37th floor for breakfast, drinks and dinner. Excellent. The Club floor was run by a chap named Nittin. He went out of his way to make us feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. Always greeted us by name and helped indentify some great places to visit while we were in Shanghai. Overall I would highly reccommend this property to anyone staying in Shanghai for business or pleasure. Metro line right across the road that will easily get you anywhere in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bund View above floor 15. We were on 34 and it was outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOPPROFILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Philip R,

Thank you for your comments and it is great to see that we were able to WoW you.
Furthermore, it was really great to have a chat with you in the lounge.

I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Please let me know whenever you plan to visit Shanghai again, so that I could personally take care of your room allocation.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Guest Relations Manager & Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

When I first saw the location of the hotel upon our arrival from the train station, I was quite dissapointed, thinking that we were far from the city. Boy was I wrong. The hotel is only a minute's walk from the metro - all in, it was 3 RMB and 10 minutes to get to the Bund. The hotel was very well appointed, with big rooms, comfortable beds, large bathrooms (rainfall shower and big tub) and a nice gym/pool area. As well, the staff were very friendly and helpful. My only complaints are that (1) the hot tub was not warm enough; and (2) though the buffet was huge, with a ton of selections, the food wasn't the greatest quality (not terrible, but certainly just average). I would recommend against getting the buffet if it isn't included in your room price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Harry C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I have passed your comments regarding the buffet and hot tub to the related department heads. I can ensure you that we will take your comments seriously.

Please do contact me if you ever plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Guest Relations Manager & Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
#106 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel

Property: Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Address: No.59 Siping Road, Shanghai 200086, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Sichuan North Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,822 - ₹ 14,803
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel.Our local neighborhood has it all. Our hotel is close to the Bund, considered the city’s symbol since the 1920s, and the People’s Square. We are also near the Nanjing Road, Lujiazui, and Huaihai Zhong Road central business districts, as well as the North Sichuan Road shopping area and historic Duolun Road.Enjoy your stay in one of our 471 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, featuring river, city, and Bund skyline views. Relax completely in our famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, with a pillow-top mattress, cozy duvet, and goose down blanket. Our hotel’s unique outdoor garden and riverside setting make it the perfect place to get away from the fast pace of Shanghai.Complimentary wireless High Speed Internet Access is now available in all of the hotel’s public areas and guest rooms to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers alike. When you need a retreat from fast-paced city life, we have many options. Indulge yourself with a treatment at the Shine Spa. Sheraton Fitness Programmed by Core® Performance features state-of-the-art cardio and strength-training equipment, and our 30-meter swimming pool is illuminated by natural light through the ceiling.We offer a variety of event facilities that are ideal for weddings, dinners, product launches, and meetings. Our dedicated professionals are ready to assist you with any requirements or requests.Let the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel be your home base when visiting Shanghai, one of Asia’s most vibrant cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing