We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Ranked #70 of 4,997 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice room and good location”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed for one night here. The hotel is new and room is nice, clean and spacious. It's situated in a residential area and thus nice and quiet. Don't expect any happening around this area at night though. There's a subway station basically just right in front of the hotel, 3 minutes walk. Very much convenient and only 2-3 stations away from the center so no problem at all. Probably the only problem is about the taxi driver, as the hotel is pretty new and there's also another Sheraton in Shanghai, taxi driver doesnt really seem to know their way. So do ask for an address in Chinese and make sure the taxi driver knows his way!

oh one more thing, we booked the room at a rate with wifi included. When we checked in the reception however said that they did not see such request. Took them one whole afternoon to figure out that wifi should be provided. They can improve on this area we think :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear B L,

Thank you for your feedback and I have passed your comments to our management team. Please contact me whenever you plan to visit us again, so that I could personally take care of your room allocation.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Guest Relations Manager & Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    244
    67
    21
    16
See reviews for
89
123
63
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

stayed here on the way home to australia .Although away from city centre(3 metro stops to nanjing road east) location to metro just 2 mins walk.Check in was smooth and we were offered an upgrade by guest relations manager nitin abbi.What a wonderful gesture.Although only there for a short time ,we found all staff helpful and courteous.No hesitation in recommending this hotel.Will be back

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear sydholidays,

It was a pleasure to meet you upon check in and I hope you are well. It is great to see that you had an enjoyable stay!

Please contact me whenever you are back in Shanghai!

Nitin Abbi
Guest Relations Manager & Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had an executive room, nice river view 50m2 so easy. enjoyed e bathroom. upgraded to cub loune so we had breakfast and cocktails and nibbles here. Nitin Abi provided and modeled excellent customer service...As a new hotel staff are still in the induction training phase.
Breakfast was good, cocktails great..service excellent.
A we hiccup on checkin s we had misplaced ou SPG cards and details....
Location very close to Metro which is easier to navigate than the ITALIAN system.
Note have multilingual function and cloured coded route maps....very good. cheaper and faster than taxi. Firs time on Maglev where we reached 432 kmh....this was at around 10.30am

Room Tip: l would have preferred an upper foor...but bigger rooms we are told are on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RICHSHAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Richshar,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and it was great to have a chat with you in our Club Lounge.

Please do contact me whenever you plan to visit us again!

Nitin Abbi
Guest Relations Manager & Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed here recently for a business trip, my second Sheraton experience in China.

This hotel is of a high standard, but somewhat dated compared to some of the other Sheraton sites which are newer. The service is attentive. The hotel is very highrise (I stayed on the 28th floor) which means that your ears can pop in the lift on the way down.Conversely, you do get a great view over the city skyline which is a plus. I am not sure if this hotel has dedicated non-smoking and smoking floors, but my room smelt smoky even though I had requested non-smoking, which is not ideal.

The bedroom was smaller than at the more modern Sheraton facilities, and the bathroom was awkwardly laid out, with the main area being a wetroom combined with bathtub. Everything was clean though and bottled water was supplied.

The breakfast buffet is housed in the hotel's Feast restaurant. The volume of people taking breakfast meant the room was a bit chaotic. There was a good selection of options, but again, not as extensive as in the more modern Sheratons.

I also had an opportunity to eat dinner at the hotel's Japanese restaurant Miyabi, which I would highly recommend. Good service, and the teppanyaki was some of the best food I have ever tasted. The theatre of the cooking process, combined with the fantastic view over the Shanghai city skyline, was breathtaking.

All in all, a good hotel, and satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berkshirefoodie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear berkshirefoodie79,

Thank you for your comment and it is wonderful to see that you had a great stay with us.
Please contact me whenever you plan to visit us again!

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Guest Relations Manager & Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel is a bit out of the way from most tourist attraction but it is within 5 minutes walk from the metro stops 4 & 10 interchange. The hotel had a grand lobby, and service was attentive. As SPG Platinum we were upgraded to a huge suite, and given access to the club lounge. Overall, satisfactory stay here.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hkfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear hkfornow,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor!

Please feel free to contact me if you ever plan to visit us again.

Regards

Nitin

Guest Service Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
#108 of 4,997 in Shanghai
807 reviews
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 4,997 in Shanghai
2,476 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel

Property: Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Address: No.59 Siping Road, Shanghai 200086, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Sichuan North Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 4,997 Hotels in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,773 - ₹ 14,704
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel.Our local neighborhood has it all. Our hotel is close to the Bund, considered the city’s symbol since the 1920s, and the People’s Square. We are also near the Nanjing Road, Lujiazui, and Huaihai Zhong Road central business districts, as well as the North Sichuan Road shopping area and historic Duolun Road.Enjoy your stay in one of our 471 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, featuring river, city, and Bund skyline views. Relax completely in our famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, with a pillow-top mattress, cozy duvet, and goose down blanket. Our hotel’s unique outdoor garden and riverside setting make it the perfect place to get away from the fast pace of Shanghai.Complimentary wireless High Speed Internet Access is now available in all of the hotel’s public areas and guest rooms to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers alike. When you need a retreat from fast-paced city life, we have many options. Indulge yourself with a treatment at the Shine Spa. Sheraton Fitness Programmed by Core® Performance features state-of-the-art cardio and strength-training equipment, and our 30-meter swimming pool is illuminated by natural light through the ceiling.We offer a variety of event facilities that are ideal for weddings, dinners, product launches, and meetings. Our dedicated professionals are ready to assist you with any requirements or requests.Let the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel be your home base when visiting Shanghai, one of Asia’s most vibrant cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing