We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Ranked #72 of 5,031 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

As part of an extended assignment, I stayed at this hotel Sun-Fri over ~4 months. By the end, I knew many staff members by face and name.

The service was very attentive. When I would get in late on Sundays, my luggage from previous stays was already in my room. On Monday mornings, my freshly-pressed suit and morning call arrived within moments of each other- very impressive!

The rooms were great. My room was well-furnished and had a spectacular Bund view.

The dining room has a huge selection, but I usually ate at the lounge due to lower crowds. By the way, the lounge (best Starwood one I know) is more than enough for breakfast and dinner, and the night-time views are excellent. Don't miss out on the open bar.

I recommend this hotel for both business and couples. I had been on a business trip, but one weekend my girlfriend came up to visit and agreed that it was an excellent hotel.

Thanks again, Hongkou Sheraton!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in -08 are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear hkbased,

Thank you for your great review and it is good to see that you had a wonderful time with us.

Please do contact me if you ever plan to visit us again.

Regards

Nitin

Guest Service Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    250
    67
    21
    16
See reviews for
90
123
64
343
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

It was a very pleasant stay at the hotel. They made sure to provide a very good service and it is also a great location.
I would stay again here if I am in this area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aarti100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Aarti 100,

Thank you for your comments and it is good to see that you had a great stay with us.

Please contact me if you ever plan to visit us again

Kind regards

Nitin

Guest Service Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Nice hotel
Great views from the top floor
A little too far to walk to the tourist sites

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbS_LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear MelbS_LP,

Thank you for taking the time the post a review. We really appreciate it!

Please contact me whenever you plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin

Guest Service Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Very good business hotel with one of the best lounges in the world!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Amar,

Thank for your comments and it is really good to see that you had a wonderful experience in our Club Lounge.

Please feel free to contact me if you ever plan to visit us again

Kind regards

Nitin

Guest Service Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Although this hotel is not immediately near any attractions, it is right next to the Purple Metro Line 4, Hailun Station (two stops from Shanghai Railway Station). It is also very easy to get a taxi or return by taxi. The nearest attraction would be The bund, which is only a short ride away by taxi.

On checking in, we were given a room on the 15th floor. However, we really wanted a room with a view of the Bund and so the reception gladly changed our room to the 29th floor. The view is spectacular, especially at night when the buildings are lit up.

The hotel is very new, so the carpets and furniture are in good condition and clean. The bed is firm and the pillows are fluffy. The bathtub/shower room has a glass wall so that you could watch TV while taking a relaxing bath. There is a switch to turn on the speakers of the TV in the bathroom so that you could hear everything and the glass wall has a curtain which you can close and open in the case you want privacy (both controlled via buttons near the sink). The toilet room is separate, which is convenient when staying with other people.

The only issues I really had was with the lighting. The bathroom especially has very dim lighting and cannot be adjusted-which is not ideal for putting on makeup etc. The lights in the room are not all connected to the main switched and need to be manually switched from it's cord. The glass doors in the bathroom seem to be poorly designed in regards to the location of the door stop. The coffee provided is not good at all so I suggest bringing your own-the room provides you with a small french press. These are small things that don't really matter, but I just want to mention them here.

Internet connection was free-which we didn't expect since on the website it claimed to cost 20$USD/Day. That was a nice surprise. We didn't bring our laptops, but were able to access via wifi on our iphones.

The concierge was very helpful with information regarding the Shanghai Railway Station when we were planning to take a day trip to Suzhou- thankfully he told us to bring our passports with us as you need them when purchasing rail tickets. The bellboys at the front door were always helpful with letting the taxi driver know where we wanted to go.

Overall, we had a great stay at Hongkou Sheraton; it was a haven to come back and take breaks in between shopping or sightseeing. I recommend it for any traveller that is looking for a reasonably priced hotel with all the amenities and comforts of a big chain hotel.

(I don't know how long this hotel will maintain its level of cleanliness and the condition of its floors, walls, furniture and hardware-often the case in China, upkeep and quality deteriorates over time. This is the Sheraton but yet I question the interior designer and and choice of materials)

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor with a view of Pudong
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamelissapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear iammelissapan,

Thank you for your detailed comments and I have forwarded some of your comments to the related department heads.

Please do contact me whenever you plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin

Guest Service Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
#103 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#34 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel

Property: Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Address: No.59 Siping Road, Shanghai 200086, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Sichuan North Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 5,031 Hotels in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,111 - ₹ 14,609
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel.Our local neighborhood has it all. Our hotel is close to the Bund, considered the city’s symbol since the 1920s, and the People’s Square. We are also near the Nanjing Road, Lujiazui, and Huaihai Zhong Road central business districts, as well as the North Sichuan Road shopping area and historic Duolun Road.Enjoy your stay in one of our 471 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, featuring river, city, and Bund skyline views. Relax completely in our famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, with a pillow-top mattress, cozy duvet, and goose down blanket. Our hotel’s unique outdoor garden and riverside setting make it the perfect place to get away from the fast pace of Shanghai.Complimentary wireless High Speed Internet Access is now available in all of the hotel’s public areas and guest rooms to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers alike. When you need a retreat from fast-paced city life, we have many options. Indulge yourself with a treatment at the Shine Spa. Sheraton Fitness Programmed by Core® Performance features state-of-the-art cardio and strength-training equipment, and our 30-meter swimming pool is illuminated by natural light through the ceiling.We offer a variety of event facilities that are ideal for weddings, dinners, product launches, and meetings. Our dedicated professionals are ready to assist you with any requirements or requests.Let the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel be your home base when visiting Shanghai, one of Asia’s most vibrant cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing