We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Luxury Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 5,147 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Very nice luxury hotel. Rooms are modern, large and clean. Make sure to ask for non-smoking room if this is your preference. The room is open to the bathroom with sliding doors for privacy. Neat. Climate control was good. Breakfast area was nice with many things to eat including Western foods. Everything I tried was good. Service was very good in all departments. Hotel is located in quite area. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking when you book if you prefer this or have health issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 233 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

Excellent choice of western or Chinese breakfast, wonderful and extensive hot and cold buffet with comfortable seating and attentive service. Huge selection. Rooms quiet, clean, 1st class all the way.

Room Tip: stress non-smoking because I did but was initially given a room with smoke odor. Reception said the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randonneur03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stay at this hotel often because it is near our office in Shanghai. On my most recent visit I stayed for five nights and had no complaints except for the air conditioning in the common areas, such as the breakfast room, and the club lounge was much too warm. I complained several times to the manager but it seems they are trying to save on electricity?

In my room, I had the thermostadt down to 16 C, but it neve got below 20 C. This was much better than the 23 C when I first arrived in my room.
Of course the week was very warm, over 37C many days. My room was comfortable but common areas not.

The service is impeccable everywhere. Almost too attentive for me. The staff goes out of their way to make your every wish come true, with a pleasant helpful attitude.

The hotel is in somewhat of an older residential district, so it is a bit taxi ride to the center of the city or "Bund" area. But its a nice spot to stay at a more reasonable rate than the center city hotels. And if you are familiar with the subway, there is a station not too far from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonnino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We loved staying at this hotel as the staff were extremely efficient, the rooms spacious and it is situated in a fairly quiet area. We could not hear the traffic at night! Although the hotel is away from the main tourism areas it is easy to get around from there and the staff are very willing to assist with any transport issues. We found it very good value for money and will definitely stay there again if we ever go back to Shanghai.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Traveling overseas can be stressful so finding a wonderful hotel in the midst of Shanghai is a treat. Nice decor, large tub in the open room, excellent service. Couldnt ask for more ... only caviot is that it is a bit of a distance to the airport, but worth it!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have such a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkDragonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#9 of 5,147 in Shanghai
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel

Address: No.50 Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China (Formerly Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel&A Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 5,147 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: ₹ 6,710 - ₹ 13,419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel, a Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel you'll find a place where simple delights become memorable moments. Where distinctive style flirts with touches of whimsy. And where unparalleled service and uncommon sophistication provide a unique experience. At this exceptional boutique hotel in Shanghai, there's always something wonderfully new to be found. Indulge in inspired cuisine at one of four delectable restaurants, meet with colleagues and clients at our state-of-the-art meeting space, dive into our sparkling indoor swimming pool or take in the view from your room or suite. If you'd like to venture beyond our doors, all of the city awaits. Just steps from this boutique hotel's Shanghai location you'll find awe-inspiring museums, chic shops, exciting nightlife and world-renowned businesses. And if you're not sure how to spend the day, our Shanghai boutique hotel's concierge can help you choose the activities that best suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing