We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Stay @ the Indigo Bund !.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #23 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Terrible Service from Check In.

We did made a mistake, we didn't order breakfast, we paid the extra cost, but as normal no sympathy from reception, they stated you just pay or you don't get breakfast.

We had to wait for 1 room due to the fact we arrived slightly early, I can accept this but when we arrived in the late afternoon nothing had been explained to the new reception person, so we had to go all through the details again he then give me the same room card that o already had and not a new room number.

They upgraded 1 room, no phones work, electronic curtains don't work, also they state very clearly there is milk in the fridge bar, but in fact there is no milk called reception on my phone because phones don't work, they brought milk and wanted me to sign for it.

Very disappointed considering we are paying 1,780¥ per night for each room.

Would not stay in this Hotel again, I think it's terrible service and there are far better hotels in the Bund at a more competitive price and superior service, typical they take your money and they don't care.

The general service and approach of the reception staff is extremely low and they just don't care, after you pay there even worse.

I stayed before in this Hotel and it was Excellent but it has certainly gone down and it is certainly not value for money considering all the issues we faced, I understand these could be consider small issues but at the end of the day you pay for this high standard but the fact is you don't actually receive this QUALITY.....

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank GL123456L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,413)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel is not flash by some standards but comfortable and with spectacular views across the river. Just watch the passing barges and at night the cruise boats. The Char Bar on the roof has some of the most spectacular views of any in the world. My wife was not well and they sent a driver to the pharmacy and that is good service.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jbr74360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Kinda disappointed with the hotel service. I was made to wait at least 15-20 mins for the pick up. Gave feedback to the hotel and emailed them, no response. Told them aircon was leaking, no response. The only saving grace was the staff whom helped me in getting a taxi to the airport. Don't think I will consider coming back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank DNeshJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Stylish modern hotel with quirky decor and with great location. Strong service culture and while I found English sometimes a challenge the staff worked well as a team to try to solve the issue. The Bund walkway offers a great run route which has recently been extended. The gym is well equipped but three of the four jogging machines were out of order when I visited. There is a good size indoor pool so remember to pack your swimmers. Breakfast is good so well worth the effort to re-energise.

Room Tip: Go for river view
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelhH5372IG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

This is a great location, but I felt that at every opportunity I was being taken advantage of. For example - I specified a room with a "river and port view." My room did indeed have a view of the river, but sideways on. Most of the view was a building under construction.

Said construction involved loud noises at 05:30 every morning - not what I was expecting when I paid a premium.

The rooftop bar - £10 for a bottle of beer and a view. Yes, of course one is paying for the location but that seemed excessive, particularly when on my first visit the service staff ignored me completely to the point where I had to go to the bar, to the obvious irritation of the bar tender.

Then on Thursday night, my last night, they wanted to charge me CNY100 just to go into the bar and pay for a drink. Not acceptable as a hotel guest in my book.

Dinner one night in the Quay restaurant with very average food and very slow service - I had to go looking for a waitress to order a beer and to get my bill.

I had some water from the mini bar on evening. This wasn't refreshed the following day and indeed I noticed an opened, half drunk bottle of beer in said mini bar. This remained for the duration of my stay.

So overall - a good location but I wouldn't stay here again simply because I didn't feel as though I was treated as a valued guest.

Room Tip: If you want a river view, specify a room directly at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jorganmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,111 in Shanghai
2,008 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: ₹ 13,307 - ₹ 22,885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing