We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Unique. Amazing hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #23 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed at Hotel Indigo for 3 nights on a work trip to shanghai.
We had the choice to stay at global 5 star in or a hotel of our choice.
After 1 night in Pudong, disappointed, I moved to what was a magical hotel situated right on the river. Sweeping views across the old town, the bund and pudong.
The staff were amazing. Young energetic and fresh. Gigi at front desk was amazing as was Amy in Quay. Quay cafe was brilliant. Your home away from home with great food and coffee. True cafe and not hotel buffet.
Design of hotel was inspiring. Eclectic mix of shanghai past and present.
I was glad I move and my colleagues who dined at the impressive roof top Char bar & grill were also impressed ... And all wished they stayed.
Nothing against the traditional 5 star lux brands. But it's a nice change and refreshing experience to stay somewhere that is not cookie cutter in all is design, service and offerings.
Keep up the great work. Loved every minutes of my stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to river bund , great choice, worth the extra dollars
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,415)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 787 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

This hotel is outstanding in every way! From the moment you enter the funky foyer, to the staff offering you a refreshment, to the gorgeous rooms and views! One of the best hotels we have stayed in (and we have stayed in 100's). The staff are wonderful and very courteous and friendly. The library and business area are welcoming and relaxing. The attention to detail is unsurpassed! Quay restaurant is fantastic for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Char is amazing! The food was simply delicious! The bar on the roof top provides the best view to the inconic Shanghai skyline! A couple of minutes walk to the Fabric Market and walking distance to Yu Gardens and Nanjing Street! This will be the ONLY hotel we stay in for our future visits to Shanghai!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the River and skyline.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonikasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My stay at the Hotel Indigo Shanghai was the absolute best! The room was so nice and comfortable - I didn't want to leave it. I'm not sure if all the rooms on each floor have similar layouts, but this one had a separate walk-in closet/dressing room and a huge master bath. This room was in the center tier, #1211, so it had floor to ceiling windows in each room. The shower and a huge tub had spectacular views of the river which gave bathing a certain exhilaration! The bed and linens were superb and the other furniture in the room was very inviting; the views of the water and the boat traffic from everywhere were really mesmerizing. The decorating touches in the space made it feel like being in a comfortable private home. Breakfast was big and delicious and served in another delightful room overlooking the river. The pool and gym were top-notch, though I would have preferred to swim outdoors. The rooftop bar was lively and allowed amazing views of the Bund and beyond. The location of the property is a longish, but manageable walk south of the Bund and quite far from the subway. If you plan to rely on taxis, it's not a worry. The staff is super helpful with getting a cab for you, giving directions and patiently writing where you need to go in Mandarin. They really go above and beyond to ensure a pleasant stay for their guests! I will stay here again and in that very room, if I can secure it! Great, great hotel!!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank mikechi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Hi mikechi22,

Thank you for your terrific feedback.

Its wonderful to hear that what we do added to you overall Shanghai experience.

I will pass you positive words onto the entire team

thanks again from all of us at Indigo !

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We just came back from a 15 days trip in China, and stayed the last 2 days in this marvelous and trendy hotel on The Bund with our two girls. The design is surprising, the rooms are great, the view on The Bund excellent, high quality of the breakfast and the restaurant at the 6th level. The rooms are spacious, the pool quite large, the service level of the staff is excellent (but English language is poor at the reception).
The location is on a 15 minutes walk from the Nanjing Road and a 10 minutes walk to the Yu Garden, and only a 5 minutes walk to the ferry for Pudong.

Just one major remark: although we made an web-reservation in April for 1 KING BED BUND RIVER PREMIER NONSMOKING and 2 TWIN BED BUND RIVER PREMIER NONSMOKING (advance purchase breakfast), we were very disappointed to receive 1 room with Bund view, and another room who wasn't NONSMOKING. After many discussion, we received a suite with river view in stead of the SMOKING room. The manager on duty told us the hotel was fully booked, and that they didn't receive the exact room type so the couldn't give us the right rooms. No real excuses, NO COMPENSATION at all (we paid more fore the BUND RIVER views). And finally, when we checked out, the had added one bill from the bar! After discussion, they showed us the receipt with another name and signature: the even didn't control the room number! Unbelievable! Finally, we didn't pay this extra charge.
Except this major issue, I recommend this hotel, but I advice you to check the reservation and room type at least 24h before you check in...

Room Tip: take a river and bund view room, but I advice you to check the reservation and room type at least 24...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delhev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

greetings from Shanghai DelHev,

thank you for reviewing our hotel on tripadviser. We are please that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us in future.
Disappointed that your reception experience was not as good as it should have been.
I have looked into your issues on check in. We were indeed short of non smoking rooms on the day you arrived. We apologize for this unfortunate overbooking situation. This should absolutely not have affected you. We hope that you enjoyed the suite upgrade.
We have worked with our CHAR bar team to ensure that there is a better follow through on bill check procedures. The bill was incorrectly signed by another guest but this should have been picked up by the team. I know that this would have interfered in an otherwise smooth check out - again our apologies.

We do hope to see you again if you visit Shanghai.

Best from the Bund

Bruce and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Beautiful room in a lovely atmospheric hotel reminiscent of 1920s Shanghai with modern touches. Love the rooftop bar, the breakfast is great with lots of choice. Rooms are very comfortable with a gorgeous view over the river.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms have a fabulous view but there is some noise from the cruises.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#9 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,012 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: ₹ 13,536 - ₹ 22,843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing