We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly my best stay in Shanghai so far!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #24 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Have been to Shanghai many times and always look for new hotel to try each time. Hotel Indigo is possibly my best stay so far and gotta say it is not very common to find such a good pack of quality hotel staff in the city, all are well trained, very thoughtful and you can feel they are sincerely helpful to all visitors! I have to say I'm totally charmed by the design of my room, except the "old Shanghai street scene picture on the headboard is a bit tacky and not exactly matching the overall look of the room, it doesn't hurt much once I jump into the bed as it is heavenly comfy :) Breakfast is surprisingly good although a bit pricey, but the views from the lounge and the guest library area make it totally worth it!

Just one thing...although it is locating on the bund, the location is not eactly perfect as not easy to find anything within walking distance, and tips for everyone, as the hotel is still kinda new better bring a map (print out from their website or that printed on the key holding card) with you or Taxi driver might not know exactly where u are going!

Overall, i'm totally recommending others to stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Q-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,415)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 921 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

We frequent Shanghai often. Always looking for something new.
So we booked this hotel for a weekend stay in Shanghai. It turned out to be an excellent choice. The room was smart and modern with touches of china old. Bathroom was great with amazing views and a fab high tech toilet. The hotel serevd an excellent cold buffet for breakfast with a hot choice to follow up … all fresh and high quality ingredients. The coffee was one of the best we had in shanghai. The Quay lounge area also had free extra large iMac for use as well as high tech massage chairs, also free, offering pretty good body massages. Free wifi throughout. Great gym and pool (again with amazing views … is there anywhere in this hotel with bad views?)
The hotel is located right on the river, giving it sweeping views of the old city, Yu Gardens, the historic Bund and high tech Pudong, breathtaking, especially at night!
Lastly Char, what a great dining experience …. although not chinese (there are many great chinese places to try walking distance form the hotel) … great bar & grill.
Staff were very helpful and always smiling throughout our stay … thanks Winnie and Allen in Quay.
A pleasure to stay. Our new home away from home. Look forward in returning very soon.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a river bund view room. Totally worth the extra $$
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed here at the end of September for 3 nights with my boyfriend. We were greeted by lovely friendly staff with excellent English (although my boyfriend can speak Mandarin I can't, so it was a nice change for me in China!) in the amazingly cool lobby, and given an upgrade to a big room on one of the high floors with city views. Ceiling to floor windows, fantastic views across the city. The room itself was spotless with everything you could want - ipod dock, satellite TV, cafetiere, even books. Bathroom was amazing, probably my favourite part of the room - had a TV above the bath, multi-directional shower and the toiletries smelled so good! So quiet in the rooms, and bedding just so comfy. Decor was really interesting and made the hotel feel unique. We upgraded to a Bund room for the last night and it was so worth it - to sit and watch shops coming and going and then the lights come on at night was great.

Breakfast seemed quite costly so we skipped it, but going by the standard of everything else in this hotel it would have been delicious! Only gripe would be that it might be nice for the price we paid to have breakfast included...and also a few more teabags in the rooms wouldn't go amiss (especially for the British tea addicts amongst the guests!).

Had lunch in the cafe which, although costly for China, was really yummy. Also had dinner at Char as a birthday treat for my boyfriend, which although nice we found to be very exexpensive, even by restaurant prices back home! The gym is fantastic, as is the pool with Bund views. It's a 20 minute walk to the centre of Shanghai proper, but this didn't bother us - and there are always taxis waiting outside, or can be called.

In short, this place is great, I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Yes it isn't the cheapest in Shanghai, but for the wonderful experience it is worth the price (and a lot less than staying in the Hyatt!).

Room Tip: City view rooms are great, but if you can afford it go for a Bund view room! Try to get a larger roo...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMEdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed four nights at this boutique hotel during a recent visit to Shanghai. It is such an innovative concept for a city hotel. The decor is new meets old china/shanghai, yet very modern with a home comforts and feeling. The hotel is spotless throughout; rooms, reception area, quay lounge; a high standard of cleanliness.
Breakfast is delicious and the hot food options is quite innovative and freshly prepared to your requirements : we tried all three western, chinese and japanese ; also tried the great pancakes!
The staff are very friendly, courteous and helpful.
Overall 10 out of 10. Great stay.
Oh. One last thing, the views ... a knock out!

Room Tip: upgrade to bund river view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Beware: beyond the name, the great location, the experience at the Indigo Shanghai is disappointing. This is mainly due to the very poor quality of service, not at all at the level of price and standing of hotel. My reaction may be due to the fact I was on a business trip, tight on schedules, looking for settling jetlag, and the effect of haphazard service was enhanced on me: "hours" to get checked in, with a very junior staff obviously overwhelmed. When I came back in the evening, they had kindly changed my room as asked, except my luggage had not been moved, I had to do it myself at midnight, internet not working, unreadable bill given when checking out.
View from rooms is awsome and hotel decoration are great, that's the one thing about this hotel.
Let us count on room for improvement about the rest.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank franck078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Hello franck078,

Firstly our thanks for your feedback. Of course we are disappointed that our service did not meet your expectations.
We have reviewed the service difficulties that you faced - I will contact you separately to get more clarity on your issues as the detail is not clear to us at this point.

I believe your that your issues are a deviation from our normally high standards and hope we have an opportunity to welcome you to Hotel Indigo again soon.

I look forward to further private correspondence on your stay.

very best from Hotel Indigo

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#9 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,009 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: ₹ 13,352 - ₹ 22,834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing