We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Definitely Good but Lots of Hype” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yang' s Fry-Dumpling(Wujiang Store)

Yang' s Fry-Dumpling(Wujiang Store)
Ranked #7 of 16,802 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Jing'an
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely Good but Lots of Hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Over the weekend, we decided to seek out the highly vaunted fried dumplings at Yang's. All-in-all and for RMB6, these are pretty good. Not life-changing, but, you know, pretty good. To me, it's one of those places you have to go just because it's a place that everyone says you have to go. So, go if you're in the neighborhood. They do sit pretty heavy so you'll probably be good with just four. As some reviewers have said, it's fairly oily.

As many have said, the place is packed and the line(s) were long but fairly quick. Make sure to get in the line to pay first and get your receipt, then get in the line to pick up your order. While you're waiting, you'll be able to look in the window and see the action in the kitchen.

It took us a little while to locate the restaurant on Wujiang pedestrian street. It's in the shopping center called Huang Pu Hui at No. 269. It's on the second floor so you won't see it from the street.

(If you're familiar with Atlanta, it's good in a similar way that The Varsity is good.)

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plcancel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    156
    37
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
184 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Love these dumplings!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

An absolute bargain, 6RMB for 4 uber juicy, fat and crispy soup dumplings!! My favorite place to get them? Their outlet at the Reef Food Court Jingan Temple! They are that good and the locals love them too!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank MsTravelHag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Indiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Incredible dumplings! This is the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had read about Yang's in a website called Best of Shanghai with the top 50 things to do in Shangai. We had trouble finding it as it is on the 2nd floor of one of those buildings but after much meandering and checking 2nd floors we saw a very crowded small restaurant with people waiting to get in. Everyone knows about this place. And it is festival seating, you sit where you can. The program is to order and pay for dumplings an order is 4, and then order soup, no drinks are sold. One picks up the order of dumplings and then the soup is delivered. The dumplings are crispy on the bottom, soft on top, filled with a pork meatball surrounded by hot broth. It is beyond divine! We were covered in broth and very happy. It would be wise to take moist towelettes. The guys next to us had been there before and were reenacting their dumpling feast on their vacation. We were complimented on our chopstick skills, and we had a nice conversation about their studies and those amazing dumplings. We back for another platter of dumplings to share. OMG! Not to be missed. It came to about $5-6 for both of us. Incredible. We went back to the hotel and told the Russians in our group, who went to it that same night. The next morning they couldn't stop talking about Yang's dumplings.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardSchillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheap, great local fair!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The food was as advertised and worth the wait. Not much service, and no drinks, so be prepared.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank vancouverchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“World's best dumpling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We had wanted to try these dumplings based on a number of reviews from various sources. They did not disappoint,- as my son said, he could eat 50 of them. It is a must try when in Shanghai

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marigot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yang' s Fry-Dumpling(Wujiang Store) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Yang' s Fry-Dumpling(Wujiang Store)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing