We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 179
US$ 125
CachetHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 92
US$ 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 132
US$ 101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 176
US$ 121
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$ 164
US$ 130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 180
US$ 134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 322
US$ 293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,083)
Filter reviews
1,083 results
Traveller rating
614
375
57
16
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
614
375
57
16
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnanjing roadexcellent locationpeople's squarestar hotelwalking distancegrand lobbyseparate toiletpedestrian mallrooms are hugeminute walkbreakfast buffetspent nightsconcierge staffpeople's parkmetro stopwonderful hotelexecutive floor
Filter
Updating list...
559 - 564 of 1,083 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I recently travelled to China with a friend. We were in Beijing, Xian, Yanghtse Cruise, Shanghai and Hong Kong. I have to say all our accommodations were excellent but the Grand Central Hotel in Shanghai was amazing. It was like a 5 star hotel. The hotel and our room was luxurious. It was very spacious with 2 double beds. The bath and shower were huge. Our breakfast was included and what a breakfast. Also the location was so central especially to the shops which were at our doorstep. I had to write this review so others would not miss such a luxurious experience.

Room Tip: We asked for a room high up so we would not hear the traffic and we slept like logs!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cepta607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I spent a couple of days here waiting out Hurricane Sandy. I was just looking for a cheap, decent place to stay, and picked the Grand Central based on positive Tripadvisor reviews. What a great place. I booked the cheapest room they had, overlooking the interior atrium. The room was simply amazing. Huge, beautifully laid out, high ceilings, well-lighted, ridiculously luxurious bathroom, plush towels and robes, comfortable bed (for China), French press coffee, free wired/wireless internet, good closet and bureau space, i-pod compatible radio. The housekeeping staff was excellent. Room service was fast, cheap, and tasty. A little issue with the front desk checking in, but fixed promptly and courteously. The lobby is huge and beautiful and a great place to have a drink, although the service was less attentive than it should have been. Terrific location, a block from Nanjing road and a short, pleasant walk to the Bund and People's Park. Lots of terrific little restaurants in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to get a standard room. No view, but quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Golfer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed in a standard double room, probably the best hotel room I ever stayed in. Big, nicely decorated, extremely clean and very good room service.

Rooms have cable internet connection. If you need wireless, just call room service and they will set up a wireless router in your room for free.....

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ImajPhotoAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My daughter and I stayed in the Grand Central hotel for 5 nights at the end of September 2012, part business and part holiday.
We were on the 'executive' floor and it was certainly worth the small extra cost to have the dedicated check-in, separate freshly cooked breakfasts, free papers and internet access - as well as beers/soft drinks.
The rooms themselves were very spacious, with lovely bathrooms, large towels and quality toiletries.Quite quiet too.
The hotel lobby is busy but well staffed and very welcoming; we found that speaking in English was no problem to many of the staff. The hotel is excellently and centrally situated, not far from the Nanjing Road shops; the Bund and the Shanghai Museum - all are walkable. Go and enjoy the wonderful city of Shanghai - you'll love it!

Room Tip: Executive room
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Beautiful hotel and facilities in perfect location for visiting the main areas of Shanghai and very close to the metro.

The beds and linen in the room were first class.

The idea of adding a card (when they turned down the duvet and added the chocolates!) with the weather for the following day is great - the only hotel that we came across that did that. Also, the ability to watch Arsenal on TV late at night was priceless!!

The door staff were very friendly and kind - just what we wanted.

Food and extra water were expensive; however, I guess that is what one would expect in a 5 star hotel. I tend to think that a little generosity in terms of, say, two bottles of mineral water per person per night would not be excessive and would leave guests more impressed.

Central location and a haven in a very hot city. Don't eat in the hotel - there are lots of restaurants around which are interesting and part of the Chinese experience!

All in all, we loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews