We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet hotel away from the Pudong rush” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Ranked #57 of 4,967 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel away from the Pudong rush”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed at the Intercontinental Expo in the middle of March. The first thing I realized getting to the hotel from Hongqiao airport is that not all taxi drivers know the location. I faced this problem a couple of times getting back from Puxi as well. However, the hotel staff where very good at giving the taxi drivers directly.

The hotel itself is fairly new and very modern. Checking in was smooth but being an ICH Platinum Ambassador I am usually upgraded to the Club Level at all InterContinentals in China but not this time which was quite disappointing!

My river facing room was excellent. However, the staff missed out on the getting some small things right like providing all complementary benefits to Platinum Ambassadors.

B'fast was excellent but I did not check out any other restaurant or the bar.

Overall the stay was comfortable and generally a good experience.

Room Tip: River view rooms have quite a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnab1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We're appreciated that our facility and service will make you satisfied and comfortable. Basilico, the Italian restaurant with fantastic view and Liquor Factory, the British style bar in old villa, which are all the highlights in the hotel. You could experience them next time if staying in our hotel. Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    213
    51
    14
    10
See reviews for
51
57
38
343
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

A fantastic Hotel, all staff were very attentative. Rooms are big and very luxurious. bathrooms were excellent with every thing you needed. Restaurants were of a high quality too. Food was very good and so well presented. I actually enjoyed eating there. Club floor was superb and I could not fault anything. breakfasts there well there was a good variety of foods avallable. Drinks later in the day were good too. All in all the staff were very helpful at all times and when i asked for advice they were forthcoming with it. if they didnt know then they took the trouble to find out and let me know. The massage we had was also wonderful. So relaxing. The Hotel is not in the city area but as taxis were always available this was not a problem. So easy to get in and out of the City any time. Hotel was very easy to get too.
I would saty there again when i go back and have no hesitation in reccommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: Any room would be good but I had a room on the 23rd floor over looking the River. Very good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you very much for your great comments and recommendation. We are delighted that you did like our hotel’s facility and service. To create “great hotels guests love” is our mission and we strive to serve the best with our enthusiasm. Sincerely welcome you to our hotel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I had a lunch meeting today with two colleagues and one client in the 2nd floor restaurant. After the first few minutes of service and receiving our food, we were discussing business, and I began to notice that no one was checking in on our table. This lasted an astounding hour and 15 minutes. The restaurant was not at all busy, but for some reason it was as if we agreed with the staff to pretend we were invisible. I was shocked that they were not interested to see if we wanted more drinks or food, and with no reason to be preoccupied with anyone else.

Finally, we had to ask a cleaning person for some assistance, and upon paying the bill I was obliged to sign for the 15% automatic service charge. I expressed my dismay to the girl at the counter, and she just sort of giggled and offered no apology or excuse.

I can think of no situation that I would ever want to stay at this hotel and experience such a complete and utter lack of what "service industry" means.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you very much to share your experience with us, it’s very important to the hotel. We regret to hear the uncomfortable experience in Sheng Hui Tang, we generally received good and positive feedback on the service and the level of service you’re describing is totally not at all what we would like our guests to experience. In all the outlets at hotel, we pride ourselves in offering the highest level of care and hospitality to all the guests with the legendary Chinese hospitality, please assures that it is an isolate case. Welcome to our hotel again and we will show the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I just love this hotel because it is either not too far from the airport or the downtown but it has a distinctive scenery with a peaceful river view so you easily forget that you are in a bustling city!
Also the restaurants in the hotel are superb, especially the Italian restaurant!
Must try this out!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Subok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank for choosing our hotel and spending time to share your comments with us. Very appreciated for your highly evaluation for the environment and restaurant. We will treat it as the aim to make effort and achieve the hotel mission” Great Hotel, Guest Love”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I live in Shanghai, and we decided to spend the night at this hotel when my daughter's school organized a Daddy and Daughter ball.
The hotel is just 10 mins drive from the down town, but in an area that is quite quiet now that Expo is over.
The hotel's facilities are excellent. My wife enjoyed some spa treatment while I was at the ball in one of the big conference halls.
The rooms are very comfortable and spacious with a great view of the Huangpu river - you can spend a long time looking out of the window watching the barges float silently by.
We all went for a swim in the beautiful indoor pool the next morning.
Food at both breakfast and brunch were excellent.
And the hotel has a lovely garden area that will be excellent for kids to enjoy when the weather warms up.
Add to this the warm staff service and we had a very relaxing night away from home.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomBrown70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your great experience with us. We think you and your daughter must have a memorable dancing night in our hotel. We are delighted that you like our facilities and service. Sincerely invite you and your family to our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#27 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Century Park
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Riverside
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Expo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Address: 1188 Xueye Road (Xueye Lu), Shanghai 200125, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#35 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#140 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,770 - ₹ 22,317
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing