We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel has the city's worst doormen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Ranked #31 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel has the city's worst doormen”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I live in the city and go to their restaurants every so often. What irks me every time I go are their lazy doormen. I yelled at them once for standing by as my wife was fumbling out of the car with two large bags. Still they just stood there indifferently as if to say "Hey I don't open doors, I just take out luggages".

Its not like this hotel is busy - you would think they would try harder. The arrival experience always leaves a sour taste in my mouth such that I cannnot fully enjoy the rest of the restaurant experience. With so many 5-star hotels to choose from, it's these little things that separate an average hotel from the good ones.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macroplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your concerns. We regret to hear your unpleasant experience you had in our hotel. After our investigation, we found that there might be some misunderstanding in between, we would like to contact you directly and share with you our findings if you could leave your contact details. Please send email to us rachel.lei@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    217
    57
    14
    12
See reviews for
56
64
44
365
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Apart from the fact that it is really a luxury hotel, I wanna congratulate the General Manager of this hotel for the great staff he has, great services, follow up, going too much miles extra to insure your wish is fulfilled
The housekeeping cleaning my suite are super hero save no effort to surprise me every day with the way she organize my suite, working papers, cloths, towels , bathrobes , every thing
I really feel much welcomed every evening when I come back from along working day
The room service guys and their great services, laundry Service, the concierge and their daily help to communicate with the Taxi drivers to get me to the right location to my office (since i do not talk chinese language) even the duty managers who jumb to insure I am not only satisfied buy to insure Iam soooo happy and yes I am soo happy staying at this lovely hotel that is why I found it soooo important to write this review
Really the best service I have ever had

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whatisnotdone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. It's a great honor to hear you're satisfied with our service. We will keep the standard and show our brand culture to everyone. Sincerely invite you to come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed here when attending a conference. My room was very pleasant and the hotel facilities are good. However, the location is terrible - in the middle of a dead zone. It's actually not too far from places you would want to go but everything is a taxi ride away. The staff, while eager to please, seemed rather clueless and training is definitely an issue that mangement needs to address.

Room Tip: Nice hotel but poor location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porpententious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We will pass your comments to the management team and will find out a way to solve the problem. Looking forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2012

great comfortable rooms and beds with most modern design, clean amenities, comfortable environment in that part of the city. Great swimming pool and spa and changing facilities- the best in Asia perhaps. Large and modern fitness facility that can be used 7/24.
Excellent lounge service and food. Great Chinese restaurant serving authentic and hygienic Chinese dishes, wonderfully decorated. Cafe Restaurant for breakfast and other meals offers excellent food and varieties.
Excellent body and foot message amenities, excellent and courteous service in a most relaxing atmosphere, less expensive than normal five star hotels.

Room Tip: executive or club rooms great experience, select or upgrade to rooms with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyungs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to share your comments with us. We're glad to hear that you have such a great experience in the hotel. Highly appreciated for your support and sincerely invite you to come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My workplace had a full day function at the hotel. I was very under-impressed with the service. Facilities are beautiful, but, the service was quite disappointing. Walking into the meeting room, there was a wet tablecloth on one of the seats. Apparently there was a spill when setting up the continental breakfast, and the table cloth was cleared...and left on one of the meeting table chairs. It just sat there and sat there. I assumed someone would come in and take it away, but, no one ever did until prompted by us, the customer.

Also, I stopped counting how many times I had to ask the staff to refill our coffee. One pot of coffee for 11 persons and no staff ever checked to see if we needed any replenishment. Continental breakfast selection was also lackluster. Though we paid for 15 persons, we could barely feed the 11 people who showed up. Each of us were able to have one fruit stick, one mini muffin and 1/4 of a sandwich and there was still NOT enough for all 11 of us though our reservation was for 15.

The staff were kind and attentive, however, I just found it less than impressive they just don't seem to be trained to think about all the details.

Based on reviews, it seems like a great place to stay, however, I would avoid it for holding meetings or functions. Very disappointing considering Intercontinental holds such a big name.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nihaomaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us! We're sorry to hear that you have such an uncomfortable experience in our hotel. We will bear in mind and totally solve the problem. Sincerely invite you to come back again and all of us will show you the real IC standard.

Apologize for the inconvenience we caused!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#30 of 5,059 in Shanghai
769 reviews
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#43 of 5,059 in Shanghai
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Expo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Address: 1188 Xueye Road (Xueye Lu), Shanghai 200125, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#135 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,564 - ₹ 21,333
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing