We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Ranked #52 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

This is a great place to stay in Shanghai! I was visiting the city for a trade show, and was very happy with the meals, service, and amenities. The gym is full size, so you can get a full workout--strength and aerobic. The spa is also great. I booked two at the last minute (walked in) and was able to get in. Note on the traditional Chinese Massage: it does not include feet massage, which is what I really needed after a long day on my feet!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunnerJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icexpo, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for your useful comments and we're appreciated for your satisfaction for our SPA and Gym. It's really a great place to relax. Sincerely welcome you to our hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    213
    53
    14
    12
See reviews for
51
61
44
351
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I spent almost a month here with the USA Aquatic teams for the 2011 World Championships.
The entire staff was amazing. They were willing to meet our every request, something that is not easy when you are dealing with over 150 athletes and staff. Our convention services manager, Michel Gesthuizen, met with us every day to see how things were going and what adjustments were needed. In the 20 years I have been in charge of this event all over the world this was our best ever hotel and management. But for me the best part of this hotel was the sense of serenity and peace that hit you the moment you walked in the door. And this was even with the x-ray system instituted for security during the Championships. Whether visiting some bustling part of the city or attending the competition returning to the hotel was returning to a peaceful oasis.
Some complain about the location and that may change, but you can get a taxi to almost any part of Shanghai for two or three dollars. The hotel was a wonderful place to come home to.

Room Tip: Ask for a River View, preferably high. Watching the different boats go up and down the river is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taurus1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icexpo, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for taking time to share such a detailed comments with us. It's our great honor to serve your team for this important World Championship. We're very appreciated for your recommendation and happy to hear that you did enjoy a great experience in our hotel. We will pass your comments to our staff Michel, and will keep the service standard and quality and show our brand culture to each guest.

Welcome to our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macau
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

I'm an unconditional "Fan" of Intercontinental Shanghai Expo.
This Hotel is the living example on how Good Management changes everything.
The mood,attitude,motivation,and professionalism of the all staff, is reason enough for me to come back times and times again.
For those complaining about it's location,in 10 minutes and 25 RMB by taxi,you are in the Bund or Xintiandi.
Pay attention to the noise boards in the city center....80Db's....88Db's....it's not a lucky number,.....it's a serious pollution that seriously damages your health and your audition capability.
No need to say how quite,and green is the Expo Area.....minutes away from this Hell.
This time I went for a Spa Treatment.
I went for an Aromatherapy Oil Massage plus an Aromatherapy Bath.
The beautiful masseur,very professional,educated and with a perfect english.
The Spa,fantastique. Excellent equipment,and facilities,nice Tibetan music to relax.
1 to 10....I give 10
I strongly recommend, and the price...only a fraction of what we pay home.
I also highlight the Cocktail time at the Club Lounge.
It is of the highest quality,Food and Wines,and a great opportunity to socialize with the Hotel Management, coming there to greet and talk to guests, in a very nice environment.
I even was told of some special recipe,to do a tasty seafood stock, with local ingredients...thanks to the Chief from Chile.
Another highlight. Basilico Italian restaurant.
With a beautiful decoration,and real north Italy food and wine.
Very reasonable prices.
This time I stayed 2 days and went twice to Basilico.
But if you like to eat out and don't want to go far,you have a very nice Paulaner,5 minutes walking,with good German food and excellent Beer.
My office in Shanghai is in Jinan Temple,with many 5 star hotels in the area.
I stay in Shanghai at least 4 nights every month.
And Intercontinental Shanghai Expo is the place to stay if we really care of our Body and Spirit.

Room Tip: Join IC Priority Club,buy IC Ambassador tier and enjoy upgrades and other benefits
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariomacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I have just spent 5 nights at this Hotel with very mixed feelings . Would I stay here again Never !
The Hotel is top drawer , great rooms ,fantastic gym / pool and very friendly staff but the location is awful and really detracts from the experience.
There really is absolutely nothing in the vicinity of the Hotel to see or do , so all activities require a 20 minute taxi drive. This on its own is not to bad as taxi fares are relatively cheap , the problem however is that quite often taxis drivers in Shanghai do not want to take a fare back to the Hotel too such an out of the way place. At times I had to stop up to 4 taxis before I could get a ride back to the Hotel.
Sunday evening at 9.50pm I want an evening meal and a nice bottle of wine, the Italian restaurant which is very good is closed , the staff send me downstairs to the Western restaurant which has virtually cleared up for the evening . I end up having a cheese and ham sandwich in my room . Not what you want from a 5 star Hotel . At least if you were situated in the City in the samecircumstance you could walk outside to a choice of restaurants. Staying at this Hotel you have no options whatsoever
They also charge for internet access in the rooms yet it is free in the lobby. Therefore a visiting non guest can walk in to the Hotel and use the free WIFI but if you are paying £200 per night for a deluxe room, buying beer a £8.00 a pint in the bar you are charged £10 per day. Will someone please explain the commercial rational of this to me ??
A real shame but my advice is avoid this Hotel , I really wish I had not stayed here ! sorry

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the River , Eat early , bring in your own water , very expensive at the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icexpo, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're very appreciated for your comments and give us a direction to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Recently I attended an International Conference In Shanghai accompanied by my wife. The conference location really dictated where we would stay. We didn't know what to expect when we arrived. Almost from the moment we arrived the service was outstanding along with facilities that are second to none. The rooms are really exceptional with an amazing view of a busy river right outside your window. Wow what a pool and spa simply unbelievable. Then there's the buffet especially the breakfast which is beyond eating heaven. There's even a British Pub on their grounds. It seems the hotel was built in time for Expo for celebrities and continues to offer the same level of service. We really appreciated the location of the hotel as it's located just on the edge of the crowds of Shanghai. Taxis are very reasonable so getting around Shanghai from the hotel was extremely easy. All of this was great but what put it over the top for us was the staff. Having stayed on for over two weeks we really got to know many of the staff and in the end it felt like we were around family. Fredrique and her staff in the restaurant quickly made you feel at home and special. The Executive Chef even setup a pastry lesson for my wife with Jenny head pastry chef. The Concierge were also exceptional as they took a personal interest in your well being. They arranged a trip to another province without a hitch along with many, many short trips. In all we can't speak enough about the whole experience and we would encourage you to feel confident in booking with this hotel.

Stan and Pat W.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icexpo, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Pat,

Thank you for taking time to share such a detailed comments with us. We're very appreciated for your recommendation and happy to hear that you did enjoy a great experience in our hotel. We will pass your comments to our staff you mentioned, and will keep the service standard and quality and show our brand culture to each guest.

Sincerely invite you to our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#28 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Expo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Address: 1188 Xueye Road (Xueye Lu), Shanghai 200125, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#52 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#129 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,779 - ₹ 20,809
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing