We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Baron Business Hotel
Ranked #618 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Best thing about this hotel was it's great location. It was short walk away from Bund and Nanjing road and longer walk away from old town and yuyuan garden. Room was average size and it was clean. Bed was really hard, but I really liked it. Breakfast wasn't included in our room rate, but we ate breakfast at the hotel couple of times. It didn't cost much and it was ok. Staff didn't speak english but we didn't have any problems with that. Grandmothers restaurant next door was really good. Overall this hotel is absolutely good value for your money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelergirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    111
    86
    30
    17
See reviews for
38
67
33
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Booked this via an agent website, to be honest I didn't have very high expectations; I expected a typical tourist trap type hotel with lovely photos but dire rooms and service. How could could I have been!

The Baron is nestled away just a short walk from the Bund, it's a little oasis in a city of chaos. Staff on reception spoke good English. Check in was quick and efficient.

The room was large and clean, it contained 2 beds and a desk with free cabled internet. Beds were far softer than we'd been used to in China and the duvets felt like luxury.

The bathroom was well appointed too, plenty of space and a powerful shower over the bath.

I was on the top (5th) floor and the room had French windows that opened out onto a private roof terrace with a table and couple of chairs.

Breakfast was great too, It was buffet style and only cost 48RMB (£5/$8) which I thought was good value. There was plenty of Chinese door and rice or noodles; or even bacon and fried eggs!

The only negative thing, and it's no fault of the hotel, is that the short walk to the Bund is an night full of beggars and pimps all tryin to extort money. A polite no and keep walking is usually enough but at first it can be uncomfortable.

Overall this hotel was a great little find and when I'm in Shanghai next I'll defiantly be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris0241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovakia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stay in this hotel for 2 nights in our roundtrip thrue China wit travel group. Well, the location was important for us, and that is advantage of this hotel. Room, that we had, has the wall opposite the window, so absolutely no wiew. Agree, that we can hear the conversation from another room. If you didn´t wan to use elevator, becouse it was really slow, the stairways to reception were confusiong. I must say, that breakfast was poor. We can´t connect to wifi in our room, only in lobby, and not all the time...
Anyway, room was clean, there is nice restaurant Costa coffe near the hotel where you can eat, it was near the pedestrian area and riverside.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirosIav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I just got back from my trip to China. I spent some time in Shanghai, Beijing and Hefei and I must admit that Baron Business Hotel in Shanghai is the perfect mix of location (!!!), standard and price. It's located 2 minutes on foot from the river, 5 minutes on foot from Nanjing Road. Rooms (in slept in a twin) are pretty small but nicely furnished, bathroom was clean. Some people complain about hard beds but it's just the chinese way and I can't complain. After all day walking through the city, I had no problem falling asleep and my back didn't ache in the morning :) The breakfast buffet could be better but hey, it's really enough to charge your batteries. At this price it's really a hotel I highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed at Baron for 4 nights - walls are thin, you can hear conversations from next room (this Chinese local woman was arguing non stop for hours on the phone) and you can hear it! Room design is modern looking but find the bathroom lighting too dim. Reception service is average nothing outstanding. The location is quite convenient for you to walk to the Bund area and even to walk to the Yuan Garden. Can walk to Nanjing Road as well but this shopping street is really a poor place to shop - local brands that are dowdy and department stores that are outdated back to 1980s! Not a fantastic and nor truly memorable stay but then I found Shanghai unmemorable too. Room pricing is reasonable though.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kleeym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund
Bund Garden Hotel
Bund Garden Hotel
#381 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#155 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
People’s Square
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
#212 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#477 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baron Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baron Business Hotel

Property: Baron Business Hotel
Address: No.105-1 Fuzhou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #618 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,244 - ₹ 5,255
Hotel Class:4 star — Baron Business Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baron Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing