We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect hotel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Ranked #34 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

we ended our month long stay in Chna in Shanghai. We initially booked a cheaper hotel - but were so diappointed with our room (shabby and depresing) -- that we changed. We were very fortunate in finding this beauty of a hotel. We went for the river view - on a high floor (room 1107) - and were so glad we did. We were beat the first night and stayed in and watched all the lights in the city aross the way get turned on one by one We had all the comforts of a deluxe hotel and the view of a beautiful city. Rather than waiting out our last few days angry and depressed in a shabby hotel - we got renewed and ecstatic again about being on vacation - a few more days!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank juchegoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

991 - 995 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for just one night, but it was a memorable night. The hotel is situated on the Bund, the view from my room is spectacular. I booked a regular room, the room is spacious and comfortable. The hotel is tastefully decorated, you have the feeling of home away from home, you don't get the hassle and bustle of a normal hotel, the atmosphere is very peaceful and tranquil. The staff is curteous and resourceful. I wish I can spend more time in this hotel. I definitely will go back and spend more time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I was quite excited to be staying at Les Suites d'Orient - kudos for being ranked number one on trip advisor!! The hotel is quite cool - great design. My suite was perfect - with the most stunning views of the bund from the room windows - and even better - from the bathtub. A few niggling issues - my fire alarm kept going off, the bedside light controls have an irritating blue glow so I had to cover it at nights to keep the room dark, the light in the closet flashed off and on... The f&B at the hotel is uninspired - the room service menu (same as the coffee shop) is boring and lacks even the simplest of salads... and breakfast is ho-hum. They could really use more effort to create better food offerings at the hotel. These things aside - the hotel was a perfect location and the view was worth the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bensonfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. It certainly is set in a great location, on the Bund, and directly across from the river ferry to take you to Pudong. The room was tasteful modern. I purposely booked the smallest room as it has the best view and it delivered, views of both Pudong and the Bund. Sweet. The bed was very comfortable. A iPod docking station is provided. The bathroom was great with a huge tub and a rain shower.

Breakfast had extensive choices and was of high quality, though sometimes the replacement of food was a bit slow.

The gym in on the 9th floor and has 3 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, 4 bicycles. One multistation weight machine is available and another room for yoga, stretching is provided. Water and towels are provided.

Service is excellent with no request unreasonable. Staff is incredibly friendly.

So why not 5 stars? Unfortunately, being this close to everything, one also hears everything. The ferries horns start announcing at 7 am. The club's thumpa-thumpa house music goes until the early morning hours. I could hear all this despite being near the top.

That said, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Is a great choice. Just bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank calster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Our first 3 nights stay in Shanghai was at this hotel. It was our best decision, and it was based on all the great reviews we've read. What were said holds true. We love our bathroom, room, view of the bund, location (next to the Bund and very near to Yu Yuan Garden) and especially outstanding service. My daughter (2 yrs 9 months) loves the deep/large bath tub. She called it her swimming pool.

We would like to thank Mr. Joseph Pi for his personalized service. He made our stay at the hotel an enjoyable experience. His attentiveness and first class service made us feel very welcome. Frankly, we have never received his high level of service in any other hotel stays, and we travel often at least twice a year. The breakfast range were excellent with eastern and western food. Room service was fast and food were excellent. The hotel's housekeeping staff are equally efficient and provided high quality service as its front line service. They came within 15 mins of our call for assistance/request.
We would gladly recommend this hotel to everyone, our friends and family. If we ever visit Shanghai again, we would definitly stay at this hotel. Thank you Mr. Pi and your staff for making our stay a wonderful experience. I hope this review helps.

Room Tip: High floor with view of the Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1TravelTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#52 of 5,205 in Shanghai
2,182 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Address: No.1 East Jinling Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#91 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: ₹ 8,803 - ₹ 13,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a truly lifestyle hotel, Les Suites Orient is situated on the historic Bund with breathtaking views of the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline. It is also conveniently located near the famous Yu Gardens, the tunnel connecting to the Pudong financial district, and the Pudong ferry terminal. Les Suites Orient offers 168 exquisite guest rooms, including 43 suites. Rooms are decorated in a clean and elegant tone with reduced forms and warm colors, creating a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with a range of the latest technological features including wireless internet and high-speed wifi access, in-room bluetooth and DVD. Other facilities include Cafe Donxi, gym, le Lounge, cigar bar and multi-functional meeting room. The Hotel also provides smartlife WiFi router to meet the requests from in-house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Orient Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing