We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection in Shanghai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Ranked #16 of 4,967 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection in Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

From start to finish this hotel was perfect. The front of the house check in staff were efficient, helpful and friendly. The rooms are perfectly appointed. Great King size bed, huge flat screen TV, views of the river that were phenomenal, the highest tech bathroom one could ask for, great lighting and plenty of space. The breakfast was simple, but with great healthy choices. The gym is well equipped, clean and open. The hotel also does the small things right. Complimentary fruit, cookies and hot beverages were available 24 hours a day and there is plenty of space to meet with friends and associates in the public spaces. Best of all the staff is friendly, helpful and engaged. I never met the mangaer, but I tip my hat to him. This hotel is a gem in a world of mediocrity. This is the best run hotel I have ever visited and my stay was an 11 on a scale of 1 -10.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    335
    68
    22
    16
See reviews for
205
593
128
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week and enjoyed it very much. The service is better than we expected. First of all, we were upgraded to a suite. The room is well designed, with 3 flat-screen TVs and one DVD player, which can be very useful when one is bored at night. Second, the view of the Bund from our window was simply spectacular. And it's easy to walk along the river bank any time of the day. Third, we like the complimentary bottled water, fresh fruit, free access to the lounge, with all the tea, coffee, cookies, cakes, computers, and magazines ALL DAY. The lounge is also well designed, with a special library-like room for meeting. Fourth, all the staff members are smiling and friendly. They did more for us than they were expected to do. For example, when I had trouble making an appointment for hair-cut with a famous saloon because the saloon's answering machine did not work, they called the saloon for me. Another good example is that they offered room service food for us when we had serious diarrhea all day and thus could not go out for dinner. I would like to thank them for such great service.
There are, however, minor problems. First, the mattress is a bit firm. They don't have any foam cushion; still they put another layer of comforter under the bed sheet to make us fell a bit more comfortable. Second, once at night I could hear the toilet or something noise from the room upstairs. And sometimes I heard loud noise from the corridor. Still these are just very minor problems. I am sure the hotel managers will be able to solve them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Sometimes you get lucky. I booked this hotel using a Travelzoo voucher promotion; I rarely get the chance to stay in this class of hotel on my budget. Thank you, Travelzoo.

To me, the presence of a gym and pool, or shops in the foyer, are frills. If that is your need then Les Suites Orient is not for you. My need is a nice room and a comfortable night's sleep.

Apart from those items, what we received was a superb hotel experience with excellent service, soft beds, stunning views from the room and luxury we had not encountered in previous stays in hotels in over forty countries.

Briefly: a soft, luxurious King-size bed; most staff spoke and understood English well; the view of the Bund from room 805 was wonderful, especially at night; breakfast was acceptable with a wide range of Western and Chinese foods with eggs to order; service was swift and effective; G train tickets to Beijing were bought via the concierge without fuss and minimal extra charge; the bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms and included a heated toilet seat, electric bidet and TV over the bathtub; free wifi or cable; free cookies, fruit and coffee in the guest's lounge day and night.

My only criticism is that you need to use a long flight of stairs to the breakfast room with no lift or escalator alternative.

A superb hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a direct view of the Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Going to try and add to the numerous informative reviews here. We stayed in 2 different rooms, the smallest room with a skyauction deal and then a king deluxe view room with a luxurylink auction for a total of 5 nights. The small room still has a beautiful view from the bathroom. Now hopefully you aren't spending too much time in the bathroom, but if so, it's a gorgeous view with every amenity provided. The deluxe king view was much better though. The view was seen from the bed versus the bathroom. Plus, it was a much larger room and we were able to entertain guests with the couch and chairs provided.

I loved the coffee/tea service in room along with the daily fruit provided. To clarify, every room rate includes breakfast, which was a nice assortment of both western and asian food.

The service is exceptional and the rates are reasonable if you are staying at least 3 nights. They do have an auction package for 3 nights on luxurylink which is how I reserved our room. But I think agoda has very competitive rates as well.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SailAwaySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This Hotel is awesome! I was completely blown away. My wife and I stayed one night on our anniversary. We got upgraded to a suite. It was raining in Shanghai and cold. It was so nice to have such a cozy room. Complimentary wifi, Fruit basket, espresso machine and tea. Soaking tub with view of the bund. Huge screen tv with DVD player and USB so we could watch our own movies. The location is unbeatable. Restaurant food terrific both western and Asian. This hotel is the real deal and our new second home in Shanghai. Well done guys!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#6 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai

Property: Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Address: No.1 East Jinling Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#85 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,170 - ₹ 29,146
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a truly lifestyle hotel, Les Suites Orient is situated on the historic Bund with breathtaking views of the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline. It is also conveniently located near the famous Yu Gardens, the tunnel connecting to the Pudong financial district, and the Pudong ferry terminal. Les Suites Orient offers 168 exquisite guest rooms, including 43 suites. Rooms are decorated in a clean and elegant tone with reduced forms and warm colors, creating a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with a range of the latest technological features including wireless internet and high-speed wifi access, in-room bluetooth and DVD. Other facilities include Cafe Donxi, gym, le Lounge, cigar bar and multi-functional meeting room. The Hotel also provides smartlife WiFi router to meet the requests from in-house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Orient Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing