We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
269
310
99
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
310
99
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zhongshan park operations manager subway entrance rooms are clean free wifi nice hotel front desk staff shopping mall lobby bar convenient location business trip nice room breakfast buffet is pudong airport jeffery yue line
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 705 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018

I am staying in this Hotel already the second time and I really enjoy it. The place is very relaxed and not as impersonal as some larger Hotels typically are.
What I really recommend is their Bike rental service. You can rent some very good Bikes free of charge and they give you a special map for a round trip. This is a really nice experience.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel_DD_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your positive comments about pentahotel Shanghai. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us and appreciate your nice remarks about our complimentary bike service that's a great way to explore the neighbourhood. I am also very happy to hear you enjoyed our more intimate setting in comparison to the large and impersonal hotels in Shanghai. We look forward to have you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Thank you Lainey for the kind and excellent Service
She was very friendly and very nice to the guests.
We really enjoyed our stay very much at the Restaurant and we Thank you for a lovely lunch that we had!
Danny from Germany

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with 单个酒店
1  Thank dannyprljaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your positive comments about pentahotel Shanghai. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your nice remarks about our excellent food and beverage offer and friendly team of Associates with Lainey in particular. I will make sure she gets recognised for a job well done! We look forward to have you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Chic looking hotel located a minute's walk from the Zhongshan metro station (exit 5) and prices you can't beat. Several malls in the vicinity like Raffles City but the nearest attraction should be the Zhongshan park. Weekend salsa nights with 50% off drinks from 5-8p and most evenings seems lively with drink offers.

Shopping may be a hassle for visitors unless you are already accustomed to using Alipay or WeChat pay. In some mall shops, credit cards are not accepted (only unionpay) and cash is the only option besides the famous two pay channels. Taxis too accept the same channel of payment or cash. In some cases, the DIdi (uber equivalent) may not even accept cash, only payment through Alipay / WeChat pay.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank 420Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank you for your very positive comments about pentahotel Shanghai. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciate your nice remarks about our value for money concept and fantastic location with metro lines 2, 3 and 4 right on our doorstep. Thanks also for your remarks about our buzzing neighbourhood with lots of shopping and dining options available. We look forward to have you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

The hotel looks inviting and hip when you arrive, but upon checking into the room, personally, I feel that there is a smell in the room, that makes me feel that the room is under ventilated or not well cleaned.

Service is mostly self-help, including trying to get a cab. Breakfast is decent. Hotel is situated about 5 mins walk from a subway station, so if you are planning to tour the city, this is not a bad spot. Not exactly smack in downtown, but there are small shops and eateries around the area. If you are looking for some bottled water, head down to watsons that's about at 5 - 8 mins walk from the hotel.

Starbucks is around the corner too, if you need your fix of western caffaine.

Wireless internet available in room.

Overall, good for budding entrepreneurs who are looking for something decent at a decent price during business trips to Shanghai, also great for leisure travellers who are willing to go slightly over the budget for a more comfortable lodging option.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 801wendytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank you for your positive comments about pentahotel Shanghai. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your remarks about our hotel and fantastic location with metro lines 2, 3 and 4 right on our doorstep and many restaurants and shopping options nearby. Thanks also for your comment about us being 'well-priced' and we look forward to have you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Rather sceptical when i booked but photos looked decent. Thought why not - 3 nights for the price of one at Fairmont Peace (reviewed previously too).

The lobby is chic and vibrant in a casual and chill manner. So ☆

But the stench that greeted me on the 12th flr lift lobby got me on high alert. Fortunately beyond the door of lift lobby, the corridor looked and smelt decent enough. So ☆ again.

The ROOM was GREAT and I HAD a VIEW!!! Clean and decent and after 3 nights of rest there- bed is decent and pillows well - no complaints. So ☆☆☆

BUT BUT the TOILET.... LOL.... was a squeeze. There is the standard tub but really the only moving space was just enough to open and close the door with you standing at a angle. That was an experience and probably the key fault i could find.

Oh, hotel could invest in a more powerful vacuum cleaner. NOTICED clamps of hair stuck to carpet when i planked. Not mine cos i planked barely two hours after i checked in!

Hotel lobby had a seamless flow to the resto. Btw the penta burger is decent for the price paid. So ☆☆☆

If you want a little more uppety space, right next door is another hotel that makes for good chatting spot. ♡♡

Just on the 2nd storey in same building is a slightly pricey but good yum cha place, Yue. ♡♡

All in all a good hotel but not near the tourisy areas so be prepared to take public transport or the local uber/grab.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 87estherw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank you for your extensive comments about pentahotel Shanghai. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us like most guests agree that we offer 'value for money'. Thanks also for your other constructive comments, I will make sure to pass them to the relevant department heads. We now look forward to have you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews