We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My favorite hotel in the world.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Ranked #14 of 4,670 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, va
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

It's the perfect hotel.

Put aside the location 90 floors up real quick and let me speak about the quality of the hotel. I've stayed in many 5 star hotels but hotels like this make me think that there should be a category above 5 star. 6 star? Maybe "luxury hotel" would do?

This hotel is a luxury hotel. It's chic and simple at the same time. The bathroom is immaculate. Even the door to the bathroom was a slick oversized mirror that latched with magnets. The rooms are incredible. I agree that this is finer than the Park Hyatt Tokyo. Now consider that you're towering in one of the tallest buildings in the world. This hotel is an experience and the price is very reasonable when you consider that it is among the finest hotels in the world.

I would go back to China to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    240
    50
    21
    13
See reviews for
97
233
92
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
284 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

omg amazing!!! we stayed on 83rd floor and I'm scared of hights. funnily enough you don't even notice. it's so relaxing and calm that not even I freaked out for the 8 days. They have these mini dens around on the 80th floor, you know with lounges, computers, books, etc. with pens that you can help yourself to. after about a week I realised I had about 10 of them so I took them home. when I got back I found those pens on hyatts online store selling for $120 HELLO XMAS!!
denfinatly the best hotel I have ever stayed in

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silvermasked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

You cannot beat the rooms at the Park Hyatt - 20 foot ceilings that take in beautiful Shanghai. We were in a view double, I believe. A bit disturbing that, though I reserved online twice using Hyatt points, the reservation did not go through either time. Luckily, as we arrived late at night, the hotel was still able to accommodate us and upgraded us for the trouble. We were only there briefly, for the experience, but we did see the absolutely gorgeous pool and had a drink in the lobby bar.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view and high ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Some say the Park Hyatt Tokyo is the finest hotel in Asia- with only one exception (the excellent patisserie on the ground floor), I find the Park Hyatt Shanghai to be far superior.

One issue that I have, which I have with most Asia hotels... I hate sky lobbies that make me go up ~100 floors, only to get in a different elevator to come back down do my room, or go further up to the restaurant. Alas, its something that I grudgingly deal with as most of the finer hotels are configured like this... (Though my favorite hotel on the other side of the river, the Andaz, thankfully has a g/f lobby.

One work of caution to anyone who needs to travel outside of shanghai daily for business (factories, etc...)- traffic out of Pudong adds 20 extra minutes to your car ride. If it wasn't for that, I'd be at the Park every trip to Shanghai... as it is now I generally stay my first and last night in country, then stay at the Andaz on the other side of the river for the rest of my trip.

Room Tip: If you are a Platinum or higher, ask for a Jin Mao / Bund view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

While living in Shanghai, we were staying there for one night for a special occasion. Location of the hotel is good and lots of shops nearby (can even walk).
The hotel itself offers nice room (many of them with a good view over the HuangPu river) with everything you need. Gym and swimming pool are well maintained. We did not try out the Spa, but found the offered Tai Chi very relaxing.
Staff was all dote time friendly and very supportive. Communication in English is no problem.
Overall a very nice hotel to stay in, may it be for business or (as we did) for leisure.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanW_Sgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#18 of 4,670 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#4 of 4,670 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Shanghai

Property: Park Hyatt Shanghai
Address: No.100 Century Avenue, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#14 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#18 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#174 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,952 - ₹ 27,911
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
occupying the 79th to 93rd floors of the Shanghai World Financial Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Prestigia and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Park Hyatt Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing