We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Next to a 7-Eleven, score” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel
Ranked #13 of 280 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Next to a 7-Eleven, score”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

(Based on my May 2011 trip, so no knowledge on renovations.)

I enjoyed my two stays (one for Shanghai, one for transit back to the US) in May. The only late-night or morning noise that I experienced was some kids playing table tennis around 11 pm or so. I stayed in a first-floor dorm room in the back (by the table tennis) and slept well, though I agree that the beds are a little hard. I thought the tiny shelf (with reading light? I might be misremembering) that they attached to the wall for each of the dorm beds was a great touch. Dorm room was fairly decent size, pretty good light, and both the bathroom and dorm room were very clean, though the bathroom floor became very wet by the evening.

I didn't use the terrace much, but used the first floor sitting area, with room for ~10 people, quite a bit. Found it to be a nice area for meeting people, along with the larger 'lobby' area and, I assume, the terrace. I had my own computer, so didn't use Le Tour's, but there are three computers available in the sitting area for internet. Didn't really interact with the staff all that much aside from say good morning and goodnight, but everyone seemed friendly and efficient. Also, I didn't really think the place was that gloomy, it is nice and open on the first floor, and there is a tiny atrium of sorts that adds a nice touch.

The location to me is a key selling point. Jing'An metro is a short walk, and I relied almost exclusively on the metro for getting around (and to great success); there are also some good breakfast options along the route to the metro, as well as a couple of 'quick stop' places (including a bona fide 7-Eleven, which was... curious) for drinks and snacks. It's particularly a great location for getting back to Pudong Airport; there are direct buses right next to the Jing'An subway station. However, you'll notice here a lack of any reference to proximity to Shanghai nightlife, so you may want to consult other reviews if that's of importance to you.

All in all, a very solid budget option, would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dont_Stop_Believin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    109
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
16
36
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont Ferrand France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Wrong description, most of services unavailable because renovations, renovations are supposed to start at 10am when you book in: they start at 8am, they cancel booking to avoid to pay site fee, so you pay cancellation fee, room never cleaned, lot of broken things in room.
But the worst is that renovation just make impossible to sleep after 8, or even impossible to stay in the room. And the price is still the same.
However people are english speaking and nice, good location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LousS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I was actually surprised that the bed and the bathroom was clean.Garbage are taken out daily and they even provide you with daily toilet paper. Hot water is also good. The only problem is the nearby residences who can be quite noisy at night. The staff are very good in English and very helpful with directions. There are also nearby convenience stores and restaurants. Subway station can be considered a little far (15-20 minutes walk) when you are travelling with older groups but taxis are quite easy to get.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimie_sandiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

The staff are helpful and the location is very central. Especially the train booking office which is in the area. The streets are shaded and pleasant to walk through, unlike some other areas of Shanghai. There are lots of local restaurants on the same street. I had some great steamed dumplings in one. There is a filtered water machine in the lobby so you don't have to buy bottled water. There is a rooftop terrace which is a pleasant spot in the evenings, or even a cool day, On the downside, the beds were hard, just a mattress over a plank basically so I did not have a great sleep. The building is gloomy, it was a former factory after all. Perhaps some light paint and more light would help. However the lounge is cosy and grows on you after a while. The alleyway is untidy, but it's safe and not the hostel's fault since it is used by the corner restaurant. It costs more than other choices because of the ensuite in the dorms but you'll have to bring your own toilet paper. Showers were good and hot water plentiful.

The basement of the City Plaza over the metro station. has a food supermarket where you can buy meals to go such as sushi and bento boxes.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenpossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We spent 5 nights there in september 2011. Nice clean rooms in an old factory. It's quite a big place but well maintained. It's well situated in the town. A 10 minutes walk gets you to the subway on one of the main lines. The main strenght on this hostels is the staff. They have a really good english and it's impressive how resourceful and helpful they are. By far, the best staff we have met in our China experience.

Room Tip: The door of the room is quite thin so if you can ask for a room far from the stairs, you will have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastien G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#43 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
#15 of 280 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel

Property: Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel
Address: No.36, Lane 319, Jiaozhou Road, Jin'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 280 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,671 - ₹ 4,011
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Tour Traveler’s Rest Youth Hostel is located in the downtown area of Shanghai and is just 10 minute’s walk from the Subway (Line 2 and Line 7) (JingAn Temple Station and Airport City Terminal). Shanghai Exhibition Centre, Paramount Entertainment and former French Concession are all within walking distance. 5-minute's walk from the subway Line 7 - ChangPing Road Station, which leads directly to Shanghai EXPO Park.Nearby Nanjing West Road is a busy main road with offices, shops, restaurants and pubs. However the hostel is set back in a quiet residential side street away from the hustle and bustle. The building itself was built in the 1930s and is a former Towel Factory that used to supply towels to almost every family in China. When renovating the building we tried to salvage and re-use as much as we could from the old building – much of the furniture, flooring and panelling that you see in our guest rooms and common areas are made from the original timber.We accepts ISIC, IYTC, ITIC, HI Hostel card, Hostelworld VIP Card, … as our membership cards. We can offer accommodation in double rooms, twin rooms, apartment rooms and shared single-sex dormitories. The hostel offers a lively, vibrant atmosphere and has a Café and Bar, 24 hour access, free internet, bike hire, laundry, luggage lockers, garden, TV/DVD lounge, Table Tennis, Billiards and a quiet reading room. Also, at our reception there is a Travel Center, where customers can book flight and train tickets, as well as tickets for local one day tours and acrobatics shows, and much more besides… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Tour Traveler`s Rest Youth Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing