We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed overnight in this apartment-hotel. Great location as it is near restaurants, bars and shopping area. Room was big with 2 flat screen TVs, microwave oven, kitchen sink, etc. Breakfast was included. Food was ok but service was slow at the resto. Will likely stay here again on my next visit to Shanghai.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micol_mca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    212
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
80
118
38
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zhoushan, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Staff is helpful and speaking english very fluent

Rooms are clean and well decorated

There is one greek restaurant at 6th floor with delicious foods and also work like a bar at night. The other side is Element Fresh where you have your breakfast.

I visit Shanghai nearly every 3 weeks and always stay here,

The location of the Residence is very closed the TIME SQUARE shopping mall and 15min to Xintiandi (Bars, Cafes especially designed for foreigners) and also closed to Nanjing Road

Room Tip: Do not choose the rooms that looks to elevators corridor because of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuckyBudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We booked a one bedroom apartment with breakfast option. The room was clean spacious with separate kitchen and living room, nothing fancy. Perfect for a family. The pool was a fair size, the gym tiny. We enjoyed the breakfast at Element Fresh. Healthy options and good smoothies. The hotel is well located, close to restaurants, shops, and markets. Too bad the front desk staff are so rude and unhelpful. Not sure if they are used to dealing with tourists. The hotel / residence seems to cater more to long term renters. Not the service level we were expecting after staying at wonderful hotels in Beijing, Xian and Hong Kong.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keena_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
284 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I have been staying at this chain many times in different cities in china I usualy get why I expected
Great service. The staff speaks well English the rooms are elegant and clean not to fancy. Great location.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mashgiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Date of Stay: September 7-10,2011
Room Type: Two Bedroom Apartment

Reservation Method: Direct to the hotel
Loyalty Card: None



Airport/Hotel Transfer: We still had a car and driver from our trip to Wuxi, so the driver dropped us off at the hotel at the end of our day and told us he will pick us up the following day again for our meetings.


Check in: Nothing special, they made copies of our passports and sent us our way.

Room: Having stayed at the Grand Park Hotel Wuxi, we were expecting something similar but was really disappointed with what we got to the room. The room was on the smaller side and with 4 grown men, it was pretty difficult to go around the place without feeling a bit claustrophobic. The masters bedroom had enough space to walk around but not for your luggage, so either you use the cabinets or jump over your bags when getting in and out of your bed. The other bedroom is no different so my dad just left his bags on the dining room table.

Bathroom: Only one bathroom so it was good that we are all guys or else it would be a problem every morning. The bathroom shows the age of the building and really shows how it was maintained. The only saving grace is the nice toiletries that they provide daily.

Breakfast: Since the restaurant is not operated by Fraser, they issue coupons upon check in that you have to present. You can't just give your unit number or promise to present the coupon later...in short no coupon, no breakfast. Breakfast is also plated although they have a lot of choices to choose from so you shouldn't worry about getting bored.



Check-out: Was okay, again nothing special...we were out and on a cab in no time.

Overall: at 1,300RMB a night, I wouldn't say it was bad, but I recall last year when I stayed at the Lanson Jilin TianDi for about 1,800RMB for a 3 bedroom unit which was really good and the facilities were way better and much closer to everything since Fraser Residence already feels like you are at the fringes of things. If price is not a factor you might be better off staying at the Ascott or if you are staying for over a week maybe the Lanson could accommodate you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keslergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Residence Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Residence Shanghai

Property: Fraser Residence Shanghai
Address: NO. 98 Shouning Road, Shanghai 200021, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 293 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,282 - ₹ 12,695
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fraser Residence Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently redesigned and refurbished, and in Fraser Residence Shanghai has also installed an air purifying and water filter system to ensure that every guest will enjoy a better quality of air and water in their luxurious apartments. Situated on the Puxi side of the Huangpo River, Fraser Residence Shanghai is just a block from Huaihai Road, Shanghai's bustling hub for business, shopping and entertainment. Xintiandi, with its iconic boutiques, bars and restaurants in historic Shikumen houses is nearby, as is the famous Dongtai Antique Market. Fraser Residence Shanghai features 324 Gold-Standard, contemporary apartments and excellent facilities. Minimalist in style, with airy rooms, subtle colours, Fraser Residence Shanghai is a relaxing, tranquil sanctuary in a vibrant, busy location. Guests will appreciate the greatly enhanced meeting facilities, high speed Wi-Fi throughout, tempting new F&B options, wellness spa, gym and indoor heated pool". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Fraser Residence Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frasers Residence Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Fraser Residence Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing