We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are better than expected. Great value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yun's Paradise Hotel
Ranked #2,369 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Boracay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rooms are better than expected. Great value for the money”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The exterior of this hotel looks very dated. The lobby smells of cigarette smoke and not very nicely decorated but the rooms were a pleasant surprise. We got upgraded so we got a very big room. I found it very clean and I thought it was quite nicely and stylishly decorated. Wifi was free. Perhaps not all the rooms are as big as the one we got but even the standard ones that I got to see while passing them n the hall looked spacious and nice as well. The staff try their best to speak and uderstand english. They are helpful and pleasant.The breakfast buffet is very busy and service cannot keep up. There is always plenty of food , it's the setting and cleaning of the tables that lags. If you are patient, it's not really a big problem. It would be worse if you had to wait for food but that is not the case. The selection is just ok. On a scale of 1 to 10 it would be a 5. There is eough chinese and western items to select from. after a 5 day stay, I had seen their entire breakfast buffet repertoir. I would stay here again because I found it good value for the money.

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces the back and not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckylulu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    147
    76
    25
    25
See reviews for
20
63
28
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Room was very big, but rooms seemed empty, no thing but a bed and desk. Location was so-so, Internet was free and fast enough, staff where not speaking well English, fair price.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aidin489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subbiano, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The hotel appears to me as an american 4STARS with big lobby and many rooms

Location is superb, near underground and a nice opensky shopping area , with plenty of chinese options but also mcdonalds and starbucks

I didn`t try the restaurant since i used local chinese great places. Breakfast was good enough but room was kept too cold, people eating in their coats. Also, brkfst price is too high.

I will go again

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyEli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I stayed here for three nights. I had a wonderful corner room overlooking the entrance. In the morning they were doing tai chi outside in the drive up circle.

My room was well appointed with a lovely silk comforter on the bed. The bathroom was large and spacious. The room had an extra room, like a panty and place to iron your clothes with minibar. There was a ethernet cable for internet and wireless in the lobby.

Only a few of the staff spoke English. The breakfast food was hot and they offered cook to order eggs. Usual choice of Chinese fare, fruit, vegetables etc. There was a wonderful display of the dinner items made up in decorated plastic. The prices were very reasonable. The real dishes looked much better, but I was jet lagged and was in bed by 6 pm both nights. I really wanted to go out to some night spots, but that will have to wait until next time.

The lobby could have used a few more chairs and couches. It seems they were alway full. No one seemed to be using the bar next to the lobby.

I took walking tours with a guide both days in Shanghai. The location was fine. A short walk to Yu Gardens and the metro was a few blocks in either direction. Very good value for the money. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyogle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I do hope this is not "paradise' - our small room faced an internal courtyard and yes it did smell of smoke - it also seemed to have no access to fresh air. The room also had a clear glass cube as the bathroom, but did have a blind.
The breakfasts were ordinary with staff who really did not want to be there, who yawned and seemed 'bored' by non Asian tourists.
Lunch was an entirely different matter - lovely freshly cooked food an enormous display of the entire menu all set on a vast table that you walked around with a waiter at hand to explain (although the labels were in English) and to take your order and a good atmosphere with lots of people who just came to lunch there.
The business centre was staffed by nice helpful people. The location of this hotel was very handy.
The biggest gripe is the deposit at the desk, all China hotels seem to do this, no problem, but this one actually takes the money out of your account and then at the end of you stay buts it back and charges the full amount again thus making 3 transaction charges on our account - I tried to explain this but the woman at the counter could not understand - even when I showed her on the computer - she said that it was alright at there end so it must be our bank. So do not try to use a debit card at this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a window to the outside of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#156 of 5,105 in Shanghai
733 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Old Town
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#170 of 5,105 in Shanghai
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
#233 of 5,105 in Shanghai
833 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#473 of 5,105 in Shanghai
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yun's Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yun's Paradise Hotel

Property: Yun's Paradise Hotel
Address: No.789 Fuxing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#366 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,659 - ₹ 7,254
Hotel Class:4 star — Yun's Paradise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yun’s Paradise Hotel is located at Huangpu District, Shanghai, China. It offers air-conditioned guestrooms, all of which have Philips LCD TV with satellite channels, premium beds draped in picasso cotton beddings, and free high-speed Internet access. Some of its amenities include Yun’s Paradise Health Center, Yun’s Paradise Porch (sells various Jiangnan products), and Harvest Festival Restaurant (serves Jiangnan and Ningbo cuisines. It also features a banquet hall and private room). While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like The Bund, Yu Garden, and Oriental Pearl TV Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yun's Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yuns Paradise Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing