We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Adelaide
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money holiday”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed as a party of 4, ( 2 couples) for 2 weeks in March- April and everything about our holiday went smoothly. The resort arranged aiport pickup, we survived the drive with our excellent driver Sanjay and staff were wecolming on arrival. Rooms ( garden view) were clean and tidy, and when we reported air conditioner problems, it was fixed within an hour. Our friends had problems with housecleaning not replacing their towels a few times but we didnt have cause to complain in that area.The breakfast buffet was excellent each morning. The evening meals in either restaurant were scrumptious and of a high standard. They have happy hour with local muso's at 5pm everyday which is a fun way to end the day.
The surrounds and gardens are beautiful with lily ponds and palms, and a kayak down the river is recommended. The beach is golden, water warm and safe for swimming. The pool is large, spotlessly clean with lounges and bar and attentive staff.
Everything is tidy and well appointed from the fresh flower arrangements around the resort, to the neat lawns, and the Spa was a delight. The tourist information desk was helpful.
The rains. floods and eventual cyclone to hit the north of the island didn't cause us any problems apart from some power and water outages, and some stress over how we were going to get home, but staff and management kept us informed.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, esp Losana, Kasa and Antonio in the lobby. When it rained for day after day, we booked the media room and watched a few movies on the "big screen". They also assisted my partner and I to attend mass at a local church which was muchly appreciated.
The Cultural village is a 2km walk up the road and brimming with tourist shops and eateries and a supermarket, so you aren't totally at the mercy of the resort for entertainment, souvenirs or dining.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Pearl for a relaxing holday, with or without children, or a base for exploring the southern end of Vita Levu.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landcruisergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    319
    134
    53
    54
See reviews for
233
400
39
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Where to start on this hotel, okay....
Location- Alot of people seem to complain that the hotel is sooo far away from the airport. Yes it is 2 - 2.5 hour drive from the airport but so what, if u want to be closer to the airport, book a different hotel and not one in pacific harbour.
Pacific harbour is amazing, It is a great location especially if you plan to hire a car and drive around the island as you are central for everything. Trip to Suva or nadi or anywhere inbetween! With regards to the roads, yes some roads were poor but u just drive slow and they are only that way as they are repairing them after constant floods! the majority of the roads are fine.
The hotel was great, very clean, service was absolutly amazing, food very good, cocktails even better.
We changed rooms after 1 night as our garden view was more of a car park view and it didnt have a balcony (well it did, but it had no furniture!) so we upgraded to a sea view and it was worth every penny. Waking up to the sound of the waves is the best alarm ever!
Pool was clean and a great size.
The beach was beautifull! Golden sand and hot clear water! what more can you ask for?

The staff are so friendly and always smiling.

Overall, a great hotel!
I would recommend to any couple to book the private bure and have a very romantic dinner with ur own wonderful waitress (Joey!) Amazing food and drink and they even went out of there way to make us pina coladas in a coconut!
Nothing was ever a problem for them.
Also, the spa was amazing, clean, peaceful and smells wonderful! Treatments were not to expensive and are very relaxing.

Would recommend this hotel for anyone. Couples, families and groups of friends.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view with a good balcony. Paying the extra for a sea view is totally worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I took our three month old son to The Pearl and had a pretty good time. It rained almost every day (we went in July-August) which was unfortunate but the resort was still fun.

Room Tip: I don't think it is worth paying extra for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulwillfixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Pearl is the furthermost resort on Fiji's Coral Coast from Nadi Airport, about a two hour drive towards Suva, the country's capital. As such, it seems to attract a more adventurous crowd and certainly people willing to put up with the pretty rough road the constitutes the Queen's Highway, the sole southern artery across Viti Levu.

You wind your way from Nadi first through sugar cane fields, then some coastal scenery and then pretty thick jungle as the "dry side" of the island gives way to the "wet side", which is where the Pearl sits on the ocean in the small settlement of Pacific Harbour. All of Fiji has been wet in recent days - some of the worst floods in the country's history - so don't be put off. Because in my experience, the Pearl is well worth the journey based on two perfect days of sunshine before the heavens literally opened up everywhere.

They upgraded me to a second floor themed suite for my five night stay, an immense and beautifully appointed room with a separate living and dining area, a TV with surround sound that could swivel 380 degrees to be viewed in either room and a bathtub sitting off to one side with a separate adjoining shower. Ten out of ten for this, plus two balconies overlooking the lush gardens.

The room itself proved to be pin-drop quiet and I've been telling anyone who'll listen that I had the best sleep in years during my stay at the Pearl. I give the bed ten out of ten as well plus the fabulous pillows, that were on the firm side just as I like them. Absolute bliss!

The food was also surprisingly good for Fiji, which isn't renowned for its culinary expertise. Everything I had was good but the piece de resistance was a huge curry platter at dinner - lamb, chicken and a host of Indo-Fijian delights that also get ten out of ten for taste, value and the generosity of the serve. It was seriously fantastic at about $20 Australian. The wine list is just OK but I found a fabulous Babich pinot noir from New Zealand at under $50 Australian that became my "vin de semaine" so I was pretty happy in the food and wine department.

The pool is terrific and I also enjoyed just lolling about - until a night of torrential rain heralded the start of a national crisis. The Fiji floods eventually claimed seven lives and have made some 14-thousand Fijians homeless. You could tell things were serious when it was still pelting down several days later. And then suddenly we were all trapped. The Queens Road became cut by floodwaters and no-one could get in or - in our case - out. Funnily enough, this is where the best part of this review begins, thanks to the fantastic staff at the Pearl and the Fijian people generally.

What happened was truly remarkable. Some of these people had their own homes flooded and lost everything but still turned up for work to look after us - their guests. There were happy smiles of encouragement and reassurance when there could have easily been despondency and those of us who were privileged to be in Fiji for this crisis will never forget it. Everyone I spoke to at the Pearl or anywhere else was in awe of the way the whole country worked together to make sure overseas visitors were cared for. It's as if we were guests in their own homes and I would urge Fiji's many friends to donate all they can to the country's flood appeal. Just for their stoicism and community spirit, these are among the most deserving people on earth.

In my own case, I decided to abandon all idea of getting to Nadi by road and got one of the last seats out of Suva Airport ( about an hour and a half further on ) to fly across the island to catch my flight out. It took two days of waiting but I got out. I had a friend at a nearby resort who suddenly had his flight cancelled and ended up on the doorstep of the Pearl. He wasn't a guest but the staff on the front desk worked for an hour to try to get him a room in Nadi, where the spillover from all the cancelled flights would have challenged Mary and Joseph. So never mind the Pearl's assistance for its own guests, they were assisting people they had no responsibility for! I personally have never seen this. Has anyone else?

So a brilliant stay cut short by events beyond anyone's control. One thing's for certain. I will definitely be back. Because if the Pearl is this good in a crisis, imagine what it must be like when the skies are clear and the sun is shining? And the sun will shine again in Fiji. Promise.

Room Tip: Oceanside is lovely. Garden side is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Talanoaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We went to The Pearl to dive with the sharks which was Awesome. We found The Pearl to be a pleasant surprise. Friendly staff, we always found something we liked on the menu.
I can recommend the small local Indian restaurant across the road for a genuine curry, lunch or early light dinner. And a great choice of places to eat at the Arts Village a $2-4 taxi ride or 10 minute walk away.
The pool is lovely and kept clean, the pool staff were great, we never found it crowded.
We loved the local music and drinks at sunset. A beautiful beach for early morning walks to see the sunrise.
A ground floor beach side room is great for in door out door flow, our room was not 100% clean and a bit musty smelling, but that is Fiji and to be expected, and The Pearl is getting on in age now, but I thought it was appropriately priced.
If you go to The Pearl you must go down the road to the Arts Village for a Fiji Massage at Bula Massage.
If you are taking a taxi to either Nadi or Suva it is worth paying the extra for the higher standard of taxi. The roads and driving don't feel very safe!
It can be windy at The Pearl, but you have to expect that along that coast.
Relax and enjoy.



  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nzannalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
35.3 km away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,424 reviews
55.6 km away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
979 reviews
1.8 km away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
181 reviews
69.7 km away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
55.2 km away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Resort

Property: The Pearl Resort
Address: Queens Road, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,417 - ₹ 15,934
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on one of Fiji's longest sandy beaches and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, The Pearl Resort is an idyllic escape in the heart of Fiji's adventure capital of Pacific Harbour. The chic and stylish Fiji accommodation will set the perfect mood for your perfect holiday with Ocean, Marina or Garden View rooms and Penthouse Suites available to choose from while Internationally acclaimed chefs create diverse menus that reflect both local and international cuisine in no fewer than six on-site restaurants including the signature fine dining restaurant, Seduce. Synonymous with romance, The Pearl Resort is the perfect location to host a Fiji wedding and provides couples with some of the best wedding packages in Fiji. These include a variety of venue options such as the elegant beachfront chapel and a dedicated wedding coordinator to help ensure everything runs smoothly. Whether you're looking for an adrenaline charged adventure holiday or a luxurious vacation to relax, unwind and recharge, The Pearl Resort is the ultimate holiday destination for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl South Pacific Hotel Pacific Harbour
Pearl South Pacific Harbour
The Pearl Resort Fiji/Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing