We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Dishonest Employee Drama"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Santa Fe Springs, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“"Dishonest Employee Drama"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

The setting is the saving grace for this well situated property as it is right on a great stretch of very safe beach. Pool and sauna are well appointed. As a very experienced traveler my biggest issue was with the inept office staff. Upon arrival a sullen and arrogant "Farishma" rebuffed my questions about the property with "it's all in the compendium". Over the next two weeks this employee demonstrated the poorest hospitality service I have ever experienced. The older, more tired, units closest to the beach have the A/C units programmed to be off during the hottest part of the day and can only be turned back on by paying an additional daily $10 FJD fee. This seems to exemplify the managaments efforts to nickle and dime visitors looking for a stress free experience. As another example, Mike the assistant manager continued to sell weekly internet ($80 FJD) access to new arrivals despite knowing from existing guests that the Australian server was down. (Free wifi is available at several locations in this area including Breezo's, a geat morning hangout, just across the street.) Farishma later booked a cultural tour for us. She then lied to the tour operator by telling them she had informed us that the customary lunch would not be served that day and that she had placed our receipt saying so, under our room door. I promptly went to the Fiji Palms office and asked to speak to the manager. The receipt Farishma claimed to have slid beneath our door was still in the receipt book and had not even been torn out yet. I explained to Mike, the Assistant Manager, that honest mistakes were more tolerable for a guest than a lack of integrity. Mike replied that Farishma was only 17 years old, new to the job and had already been the subject of numerous complaints from guests as well as local employees. On another morning Farishma pounded on the door until I got up from bed to confirm that I wanted a taxi hired...for the following day! I will save the reader from the long litany of the front office employee drama that transpired during the two weeks I was there but know that it was awful.
On a positive note the housekeeping, security and bar staff were professional and attentive. Pate was especially diligent about guest safety and security while Sam the newest barman exuded the best bula persona.
Other notes: The best massage in Fiji is at the rear of the Arts Village within walking distance (1 1/4 hour massage by up to three practioners simultaneously using great essential oils for $50 FJD!). Also situated in the Arts Village, the Baca Blues restauarant is by far the best culinary experience between Nadi and Suva. Unlike the Pearl and most other ocean view establishments that are banking on the gorgeous setting, Baca Blues wins hands down with a superior mix of cocktails, impeccable service (Yeah Barbara!), great value and food I now crave (the ribs!). We actually ended up going two nights in a row! Two activities worth noting are spending a day on Beqa Island and the Jewel of Fiji river tour.
Caution: the hard sell at Bavari Gifts, taxi drivers with an agenda, "swordsmen" asking your name then carving it on a wooden trinket that they pressure you into buying,

The average Fijian is wonderfully open, hospitable and kind. Please treat them well!

Room Tip: Newer units with better amenities are situated further from the shore than the older quirky beachsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    78
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
109
87
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We travelled recently to Fiji and we were so glad we chose this little gem which is the Holiday Club at the Fiji Palms.

To get here is about a 2 hr drive from the International Airport of Nadi, on the coast in an area called Pacific Harbour. It is on the beach next door to a big Hotel called 'The Pearl". It is also about 45 minutes from the capital of Suva which if you have the misfortune of doing business there, you can travel back to this oasis for peace, security and serenity.

We were also extremely glad we asked the resort to organise a driver to pick us up from the Airport rather than find our own way. We have conceded that should we have driven ourselves, we would have either had a nervous breakdown or bottomed our car in one of those pot-hole-craters - or both, by the time we got there, if we had got there at all, as many drivers we saw were driving like Pirate Jack Sparrow on speed.

The Resort Driver was called Vincent and we make special mention of him as he was a very polite young man, with excellent manners, and who was most importantly a VERY careful driver, with invaluable knowledge about where all the pot-holes were . He also got us to the Resort in one piece and it was a pleasure traveling with him.

The apartments are mostly 2 bedroom apartments with couches that can be made into extra beds if required. They are thoroughly modern and clean, with wonderful kitchen facilities and all the amenities for a self-contained and self-provisioning holiday. The showers are awesome and there is an amazing verandah which flows from the indoor living spaces. You have the choice of using ceiling fans or air-conditioning, and this is probably the only facility that has installed CRIMSAFE mesh/mosquito screens. ...... very impressive, especially now as there is an alarming nation-wide increase in theft and burglary across Fiji. The Club has it's own team of security that patrols the premises daily so the we felt very safe. The old adage of being street-smart and of not placing anything is view of temptation would apply.

If you are arriving late or on a Sunday when nothing is open, the resort very thoughtfully provides you with a starter pack (at a small charge) which includes washing powder for the washing machine, dish washing cloths and detergent, bread, milk, butter & jams .

The Club offers you bar meals on certain days of the week if you need a break from cooking for the family, and they are lovely home-made meals made on the premises. There is also a fully equipped barbeque area that can be utilised . We certainly had some wonderful meals in this area with our family. There is a supermarket about two minute's drive away and they have most essentials.

The staff are very welcoming and all of them embody the gentle essence of the Fiji "Bula Spirit" which in our experience in other parts of Fiji can be forced or over-demonstrative. Full credit for this essential customer service essential to Wendy and her management staff of the Fiji Palms. In great contrast, we did call into The Pearl next door one morning to partake of breakfast and felt very unwelcome, with none of the 5 staff we encountered taking any interest in our presence there. They lost the opportunity to sell us anything that day, or ever.

If you are expecting a Hotel where people are the end of a phone or at a service desk to entertain you then Fiji Palms is not for you .... there are many things you can do from this area but it is up to you to take the initiative and join in . The staff at Fiji Palms can assist in booking you on activities but the onus is on you at the end of the day. This is a place where you can have the space to do nothing at all (in peace), or as many things as you want to do, but don't expect service on tap.

We would also recommend this place for guests that need to be doing business in Suva , as the capital city is not the place it used to be once upon a time. It is now dirty and disheveled, and feels unsafe especially for us oldies. There are frequent road-blocks with military/police types stopping and treating their citizens with brusque disrespect .

We were the subject of one such obstruction with our taxi-driver one day. He was ordered out of the car just to check his license and registration, and then we were peered at by two of these Obergruppenführer's, just like a guerilla would peer at their captors in a zoo. Not the behavior one would expect on a Pacific Island. The drive is also quite depressing into Suva as you can see quite clearly the poverty in the shacks that line the main road, and that now extend into the mangrove swamps in the suburbs of Suva.

But back to the Apartments, there is a TV in the lounge . There is not much on offer from local TV except for what looked like obvious propaganda from the Fijian Dictatorship so give that a miss and take some books to read instead.

We did not see a DVD so do enquire with the Resort about this should you wish to take some DVD's for the kids to enjoy. The Club has some books and games for you to peruse but do think about leaving all your books behind when you depart the Resort so that there is a continual turn-over of modern books for all to enjoy.

The pool is lovely and always well maintained as are the grounds. There are also 2 spa pools for guests as well as a couple of Massage Ladies available in the massage Bure for the usual massages, as well as pedicures and manicures. I was the very happy recipient of a massage and my friend had a wonderful pedicure so we can thoroughly recommend this service which also helps the local ladies out in the way of income.

We will definately be recommending and will be happy to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Chikaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We loved every moment at The Holiday Club Fiji Palms, we went for our honeymoon, and from the pictures on their site we thought we would be disapointed so we booked for the last 2 nights a more expensive resort closer to the airport MAN DID WE REGRET IT. we LOVED Fiji Palms so much, the beach was so clean and the pool and spas were awesome. Joshuas cocktails were the best. every day we were so happy. The food was amazing at the resort, we did not expect much at all, we thought bar food at the most, we ate more at the palms more than the Pearls 5 star restaurant and other surounding places. We loved the company of the friendly staff and the other people at resort were all very nice people. We do recomend getting maybe a bus or a shuttle to the resort, as we rented a car and drove however we found it hard driving on the roads. The local shops are awesome, great little bargins to get, the super market has very thing you need. They organised trips out straight from the resort, they were so reasonably prices and worth every sent. we also did the snorkle trip, that was so cool. In summary i would 400% go back.
p.s. make sure you get a sign made with your name, the money goes to a local family who make a plark with what ever you would like on it and put it on the roof of the bar, perfect way to say you were there forever, or romantic way to share your wedding date ect... and a great way to go back to when you visit again.

Room Tip: we asked for one with a view, we were 7 metres away from the beach and thats not the closest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank sarah v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Spent a wonderful week at The Holiday Club Fiji Palms Beach Resort. The accomodation in the 2 bedroom unit was exceptional. The restaurant served wonderful meals at reasonable prices. Amenities were good and having access to the beach was a bonus. All staff were helpful and so very pleasant. Would not hesitate to return. Vinaka

Room Tip: If you can get room 24 top floor newer section. Sunrise in the main bedroom beautiful to see. Away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soccermum01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

This was our first trip outside Australia and it was so lovely to be treated so well by all the staff and other holiday makers at Fiji Palms We would highly recommend Fiji Palms to everyone. It was so enjoyable we are talking about our next trip there

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
0.1 km away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
1.6 km away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.9 km away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.4 km away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
55.7 km away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
55.3 km away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort

Property: ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort
Address: Deuba, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly The Holiday Club Fiji Palms Beach Resort)
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,974 - ₹ 9,760
Hotel Class:4 star — ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Club Fiji Palms Beach Hotel Pacific Harbour
ULTIQA At Fiji Palms Beach Resort Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing