We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“blissful castaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“blissful castaway”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

my family of 4 loved castaway iasland, my children still say it was the best holiday they ever had.the island is beautiful, the diving and snorkelling spectacular. we all loved the bures, and the food was fantastic, not as much unhealthy deep fried food as on the mainland, beautiful healthy food. cocktails at sunset are amazing, and karva each night lots of fun. we could mingle with other guests or have privacy. the beach is glorious and you can even feed the fish just standing in the waters edge. my husband and l could have snorkelled all day the fish and corals superb. staff wonderful, nothing too much trouble. we did a trip looking at other islands nearby and all the guests commented when we got back how clean and gorgeous castaway is compaired to other islands, we are so glad we spent time on castaway we have a wonderful lifelong memoey

Room Tip: every room on the island is gorgeous and as a small island easy to get anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank leah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    180
    58
    20
    3
See reviews for
591
173
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
silicon valley, ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We heard from many seasoned Fiji travelers that this was the place to stay and they were right. It's so relaxed and easy. Plus it's spectacularly beautiful. I do agree that if you are going w/o kids and don't prefer kids everywhere, it is probably not your best choice.

Probably one of the best features is that kids 3 and over can join the kid's club (you can bring younger kids to the kid's club too, but you have to stay with them). They have fun activities for the kids that change daily, they organize performances that include the kids which is very sweet and the kids all seem to adore. The kid's pool is magic (especially if you have kids) and the food there is outstanding as well. Once we found it we never went back to the main pool. Also, babysitting was only 8 Fijian dollars an hour which was wonderfully inexpensive.

The food was great, we met their famous chef while we were there and he was inspiring. All the food was consistently good and some of it I really look forward to having again!

The service is fantastic. The people who work there are really lovely. They try to remember your name, they try to help you however you can. While we were there we needed the nurse who was also great - and it's wonderful they have that service on the island. It'd be even better if they had a doc (you have to go back to the mainland for a doc)!

There are activities, although mainly your job here is to relax. You can sail, swim, rock in a hammock, go for an island walk (with a guide), kayak, snorkel, get on their tennis courts or for extra fees go to other islands for tours, scuba, dolphin safari, etc. It's not all that easy to go surfing from here because you need three people to go and each person pays a pretty good chunk $95-$140 per person.

We went there for Christmas and New Years - were there 9 days total. They made those two holidays extremely special with many thoughtful events and touches and my family and I will never forget them. We LOVED Santa's visit on the raft and him dancing up the beach. And the morning of New Year's we were awakened at 6 am (I know sounds awful, but was like being woken by angels) by the most beautiful singing I've ever heard. My mom and I both got tears in our eyes. It was earlier than we preferred to wake up, but it was magic.

The rooms are pretty efficient, not a lot of extra space, but we were fine in the the Island bure (the Ocean ones seemed to have a lot more traffic in front of them) with three adults and one 12 month old. Our Island bure was on the quiet side sorta tucked away, but if anyone gets loud, everyone can hear it. Luckily no one really did. It would have been nicer to have more space and a little more solid walls, but it worked out. We were all relaxed and happy for the most part.

Getting there was a bit hard with our baby. Of course we already had 14 hours of travel time with a one year old before we arrived so the extra 3-4 hours to get to Castaways with the boat transfer wasn't ideal. If it weren't so expensive we would have flown all the way to Castaways, but it's fairly prohibitive.

Still those few things aside, we loved it. While we were there, we were already planning our trip to come back. Thank you, Castaways.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sylvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Castaway island is just perfect: service is second to none, food outstanding quality and kids club for children is fantastic.....

We went to Coral Coast for 6 nights followed by another 6 nights at Castaway island...... U cant compare the authentic experience from Castaway island to the Coral Coast......

It's perfect, beautiful you can kick back and really relax at Castaway

Room Tip: Choose a beach front bure... it's more expensive but so worth it!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Sandra12blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My wife and I enjoyed the Castaway especially the guys working at the sport shop (snorkeling, tours, etc), very kind and helpful. However, the adult pool had children sitting at the bar every day. Children at the bar? There was a kids pool but some parents didn't get the point. Children at the bar and in the jacuzzi is not romantic and relaxing.

Food was good but not great. Fish was overcooked and menu was limited.

Still loved the water sports and being on such a beautiful island.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Bula and thank you for your lovely feedback regarding our Water Sports and Dive Shop Teams. We have passed on your comments to them.

Your comments regarding children in the adult pool is noted and has now been addressed. All guests now receive information on arrival that clearly differentiates the two swimming environments and we ask that children do not use the Malua pool which is a quiet adult environment. The swim up bar in this pool and jacuzzi are for adult use only and we have erected signage to ensure this is more clearly communicated to our guests.

Vinaka from the Castaway family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Thank God we went on to Castaway after 7 very disappointing nights at Tadrai. We attacked the lunchtime buffet like survivors from a deserted island, to see green vegetables and the gorgeous desserts we knew we were back home.
The beach is so wonderful even at low tide you can just loll about and talk to other guests while you wait for the tide to rise, or go to the pool now a little quieter as the Children's pool area is complete.Thankyou to Katarina for the best cocktails ever.
The dining at night is absolutely wonderful. The quality, presentation and variety is unsurpassed, all served in no time at all.
We would recommend anyone to go and spend some holiday time at Castaway for the most relaxing and professional experience you could ask for without spending a fortune.Yes there are children but most of the day they are at a very well run Kid's club and they have their own allocated meal time so we did not find them a bother at all.We loved to hear their excited and happy voices, after all it is a family orientated resort.
We did find the staff a little stressed at times on this visit, not quite as relaxed and happy as previously , perhaps they were short staffed, but most recognised us from last time and gave us a hearty welcome back.
The other issue was with our rooms. We had asked for the same rooms as on our previous visit but they were allocated to other guests so we were disappointed with that, as we were told that we were VIP return guests but we got over that quickly as we settled back into life at Castaway.
Castaway sent their boat to Tadrai to pick us up after the Manager at Tadrai"forgot"their boat was unavavilable and we received a surprise to be told that there was a cost associated with the transfer and I think we appeared shocked when given the news= not that the money was the issue. The Castaway Reservations Manager told us thet the Tadrai Manger was informed of this but replied you work it out with the guests when they get there.Thanks again Tadrai.
.Please take the opportunity to experience Castaway just once and I,m sure you''ll be back. It delivers all it promises.

Room Tip: Any room is great A little quieter in the Island bures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
26.9 km away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,114 reviews
3.7 km away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
583 reviews
18.0 km away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
869 reviews
25.8 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
2.4 km away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Island
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Property: Castaway Island Fiji
Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price range (per night): ₹ 33,942 - ₹ 53,170
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing