We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home to Castaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Home to Castaway”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Thank God we went on to Castaway after 7 very disappointing nights at Tadrai. We attacked the lunchtime buffet like survivors from a deserted island, to see green vegetables and the gorgeous desserts we knew we were back home.
The beach is so wonderful even at low tide you can just loll about and talk to other guests while you wait for the tide to rise, or go to the pool now a little quieter as the Children's pool area is complete.Thankyou to Katarina for the best cocktails ever.
The dining at night is absolutely wonderful. The quality, presentation and variety is unsurpassed, all served in no time at all.
We would recommend anyone to go and spend some holiday time at Castaway for the most relaxing and professional experience you could ask for without spending a fortune.Yes there are children but most of the day they are at a very well run Kid's club and they have their own allocated meal time so we did not find them a bother at all.We loved to hear their excited and happy voices, after all it is a family orientated resort.
We did find the staff a little stressed at times on this visit, not quite as relaxed and happy as previously , perhaps they were short staffed, but most recognised us from last time and gave us a hearty welcome back.
The other issue was with our rooms. We had asked for the same rooms as on our previous visit but they were allocated to other guests so we were disappointed with that, as we were told that we were VIP return guests but we got over that quickly as we settled back into life at Castaway.
Castaway sent their boat to Tadrai to pick us up after the Manager at Tadrai"forgot"their boat was unavavilable and we received a surprise to be told that there was a cost associated with the transfer and I think we appeared shocked when given the news= not that the money was the issue. The Castaway Reservations Manager told us thet the Tadrai Manger was informed of this but replied you work it out with the guests when they get there.Thanks again Tadrai.
.Please take the opportunity to experience Castaway just once and I,m sure you''ll be back. It delivers all it promises.

Room Tip: Any room is great A little quieter in the Island bures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    180
    58
    20
    3
See reviews for
577
172
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Castaway Island is an island paradise our third trip to Castaway was last July. The Island is amazing the activities are incredible the snorkeling is fantastic right off the waters edge. My children (15 and 12) always had something to do whether it was playing volleyball on the beach or swimming or out snorkeling they were never bored. The food is delicious, the lunchtime menu and the dessert menu are great. The weather is always fine, and it is good to escape from a cold New Zealand Winter. This certainly will not be our last trip to Castaway and hope to come back in a few years for my daughters 18th birthday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travel_Queen890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This resort had a lot to live up to and was the second part of out 11 day trip to Fiji. The first 6 nights were spent at Outrigger on the lagoon which provided excellant service. This perhaps spoilt us for our stay at Castaway which provided top marks on the facilities, position so close to a great reef but really lacked in service and friendlness of staff compared to the Outrigger. A little under staffed i suspect.
The whole place just makes you relaxed and chilled out. You can be as lazy as you please or get involved in the all the watersports on offer.
I would not hesitate in going back or recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We have just returned from 16 nights of absolute bliss. We had another amazing stay and already booked again for next year. The renovations were complete when we arrived with both pools operational and I must say they are both flash, they are very, very nice, I love all the strip lighting around the pools at night. I'm not one to swim in the pools rather opting for the gorgeous beach of Castaway but I did get in both pools just so I can say I used them. I understand there are further renovations to be done to the front of the resort which I'm sure will look amazing also.

My all time favourite thing to do at Castaway is dive, and again it was sensational, thanks to the very professional dive crew. We are lucky that the entire family loves to dive with our youngest daughter doing her jnr open water course this year. Irava did a fantastic job with our daughter giving her all the knowledge and confidence she needed to complete the course, such a patient and funny guy. Aku the legend he is again made diving so much fun as did Simeli. Eric took us to our favourite spot Bird Rock and Irava took me back to the Swimming Pool and it was fantastic! Vinaka to Jerry and Veresa, and our reliable skipper this year ili :) The dive crew really are a pleasure to be around.

The food seems to get better every year, Chef Lance strives for perfection and the staff are doing a marvellous job of making that a reality. Vinaka vakalevu to Lance for looking after us during our stay what an amazing man I love his passion for not only food but for the Fijian way of life, he has really embraced and made the most of his time on Castaway and we as guests are lucky that he is there.

The staff from the reception, F & B, the boutique, kids club, cleaners, boat shed, maintenance, gardeners, chefs, nurses to porters, honestly I can't speak highly enough of them all, always greeting us and mostly by name which I still find crazy.

We love the fact that when we go to Castaway we escape the reality of home and the stress of living in Sydney, we love the fact there are no clock radios to tell you the time in the bures, no TVs to show us the news and we love the fact that we get to listen to a band play just about anything you ask as entertainment.

We also love the fact that we get to meet up with the same families we have seen at Castaway on previous trips and the kids get to spend quality time with their friends.

We just love Castaway! There may be other places out there better but not for us, this is our island home for 2 weeks every year, as it is for thousands of other people. There is nowhere else in the world I'd rather go to relax then back home to see our Castaway family.

Vinaka vakalevu Castaway!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mad_Travel_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was our second stay at Castaway Island and certainly will not be our last. We stayed last April and couldn't wait to get back there again! We stayed from the 10th to the 17th of March and were blessed with sensational weather the whole time we were there. There has been a few changes since our last trip - all of which add to the amazingness that is Castaway Island. There is the new pool for the children which is brilliant if you have little ones. There is also a great bar/cafe that serves up fresh and fantastic lunch options plus unlimited icecreams (if you are on a meal plan) for the kids. My kids loved it! The new adult pool is sensational complete with swim up bar (thank you Joe for the endless seabreeze cocktails I enjoyed pool side!)

The accommodation again never fails to impress. Very clean, spacious and well cared for bures. Housekeeping is brilliant and come ever day to sweep, make beds, replace towels etc. Nothing is too much. Dining options are fantastic although we did feel that maybe the standard of some meals had slipped a little since our first visit. This being said, the food is still AMAZING and there is so much to choose from.

A big thank you to the wonderful reception staff, our friends Pau and Lingo, and our wonderful babysitter Naca and everyone who welcomed our family back with open arms. We can't wait to see you again next year.

If you are after relaxing holiday with great food, great accommodation, amazingly friendly people and very tired kiddies (from all the fun stuff to do!!) then Castaway is the place for you. My family and I will never try anywhere else. We have found our island paradise!

Room Tip: You can't really choose a bad room at this place although don't pay the extra for a beachfro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessabrooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
8.3 km away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
26.9 km away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
2.6 km away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 km away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
25.8 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
12.3 km away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Property: Castaway Island Fiji
Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price range (per night): ₹ 31,708 - ₹ 49,488
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing