We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This resort had a lot to live up to and was the second part of out 11 day trip to Fiji. The first 6 nights were spent at Outrigger on the lagoon which provided excellant service. This perhaps spoilt us for our stay at Castaway which provided top marks on the facilities, position so close to a great reef but really lacked in service and friendlness of staff compared to the Outrigger. A little under staffed i suspect.
The whole place just makes you relaxed and chilled out. You can be as lazy as you please or get involved in the all the watersports on offer.
I would not hesitate in going back or recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (917)
There are newer reviews for Castaway Island Fiji
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 560 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

We have just returned from 16 nights of absolute bliss. We had another amazing stay and already booked again for next year. The renovations were complete when we arrived with both pools operational and I must say they are both flash, they are very, very nice, I love all the strip lighting around the pools at night. I'm not one to swim in the pools rather opting for the gorgeous beach of Castaway but I did get in both pools just so I can say I used them. I understand there are further renovations to be done to the front of the resort which I'm sure will look amazing also.

My all time favourite thing to do at Castaway is dive, and again it was sensational, thanks to the very professional dive crew. We are lucky that the entire family loves to dive with our youngest daughter doing her jnr open water course this year. Irava did a fantastic job with our daughter giving her all the knowledge and confidence she needed to complete the course, such a patient and funny guy. Aku the legend he is again made diving so much fun as did Simeli. Eric took us to our favourite spot Bird Rock and Irava took me back to the Swimming Pool and it was fantastic! Vinaka to Jerry and Veresa, and our reliable skipper this year ili :) The dive crew really are a pleasure to be around.

The food seems to get better every year, Chef Lance strives for perfection and the staff are doing a marvellous job of making that a reality. Vinaka vakalevu to Lance for looking after us during our stay what an amazing man I love his passion for not only food but for the Fijian way of life, he has really embraced and made the most of his time on Castaway and we as guests are lucky that he is there.

The staff from the reception, F & B, the boutique, kids club, cleaners, boat shed, maintenance, gardeners, chefs, nurses to porters, honestly I can't speak highly enough of them all, always greeting us and mostly by name which I still find crazy.

We love the fact that when we go to Castaway we escape the reality of home and the stress of living in Sydney, we love the fact there are no clock radios to tell you the time in the bures, no TVs to show us the news and we love the fact that we get to listen to a band play just about anything you ask as entertainment.

We also love the fact that we get to meet up with the same families we have seen at Castaway on previous trips and the kids get to spend quality time with their friends.

We just love Castaway! There may be other places out there better but not for us, this is our island home for 2 weeks every year, as it is for thousands of other people. There is nowhere else in the world I'd rather go to relax then back home to see our Castaway family.

Vinaka vakalevu Castaway!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mad_Travel_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was our second stay at Castaway Island and certainly will not be our last. We stayed last April and couldn't wait to get back there again! We stayed from the 10th to the 17th of March and were blessed with sensational weather the whole time we were there. There has been a few changes since our last trip - all of which add to the amazingness that is Castaway Island. There is the new pool for the children which is brilliant if you have little ones. There is also a great bar/cafe that serves up fresh and fantastic lunch options plus unlimited icecreams (if you are on a meal plan) for the kids. My kids loved it! The new adult pool is sensational complete with swim up bar (thank you Joe for the endless seabreeze cocktails I enjoyed pool side!)

The accommodation again never fails to impress. Very clean, spacious and well cared for bures. Housekeeping is brilliant and come ever day to sweep, make beds, replace towels etc. Nothing is too much. Dining options are fantastic although we did feel that maybe the standard of some meals had slipped a little since our first visit. This being said, the food is still AMAZING and there is so much to choose from.

A big thank you to the wonderful reception staff, our friends Pau and Lingo, and our wonderful babysitter Naca and everyone who welcomed our family back with open arms. We can't wait to see you again next year.

If you are after relaxing holiday with great food, great accommodation, amazingly friendly people and very tired kiddies (from all the fun stuff to do!!) then Castaway is the place for you. My family and I will never try anywhere else. We have found our island paradise!

Room Tip: You can't really choose a bad room at this place although don't pay the extra for a beachfro...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessabrooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Family - Mum, dad, one 4 year old boy and a mother-in-law from Russia. Castaway in a word was 'brilliant'. Had five days / four nights there. Accommodation is nicely presented and in good & clean order. The muskiness of the room on arrival will go if you run the air conditioning and air the place for a day if it has been shut up. Food - Very good! The meal deal will add a few pounds but it is good value. Try the porterhouse steak! Kids Club - Excellent. Be on the island so the kid/s don't miss the bombfire night on the beach on Thursdays. Resort - Their website says it all. Seriously all good. Recent renovations and additions to resort including new pool all good. Only niggle and I get Fiji time but the service in the restaurant can be slow. Otherwise we say spend extra and book Castaway. If you are fair and reasonable travellers, the resort and the staff will deliver beyond your expectations. We now understand why people go back year after year. We intend to join that club albeit maybe every other year [Europe still interesting]. Finally to the women who run the kids club, Vinaka from Sasha. Thank you Castaway for a truely magical family and personal experience. See you again soon. "Moce".

Room Tip: Ocean View or Beachfront offer the ability for you to sit with a wine on your balcony and watch / he...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Have nothing but good comments.CAstaway exceeded my expectations.Have been to a few other islands and my kids and I loved castaway by far. Beautiful tranquil paradise, bures were spacious,clean and had all u need. We stayed in a island bure which was practically on the beach anyway.save ur money and go for that. Kids club was unreal kids loved it and we're there all the time and there 11,9,4. New pool had just opened and is lovely. Staff I found were very friendly and by the end were on a first name basis. Buffett was average but could eat off the menu and at the pool cafe,was all in meal plan.that food and desserts was 5 star.. Went to shangri-la after castaway and didn't compare.was crap... Been home for 1 day and booking again. Thanks castaway for an awesome holiday xxxxxx

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mel366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
2.6 km away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
886 reviews
18.0 km away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,444 reviews
17.4 km away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
2.4 km away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Island
708 reviews
8.4 km away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range: ₹ 32,449 - ₹ 56,554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing