We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malolo Island - a true Fiji dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malolo Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Malolo Island - a true Fiji dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I with 2 teenagers just spent 3 glorious nights at beautiful Malolo Island resort. Having been to Fiji 3 times, this is definitely the most beautiful and perfect island resort. The welcome was beautiful - perfect in every way. We stayed in an ocean bure which was a little smaller than the deluxe version and I must say our bure was the furthest from the beach, BUT it was still more than perfect. The island is a dream. It's small and intimate but with plenty of options and variety. The resaurants were all lovely, pools crisp and clear and decadent and the water sports all free and always available. We went jet-skiing (have to pay for motorised) and it was the best experience ever. Kayak your way to the island off the main beach or to Castaway if you want. The hammocks on the beach were a dream.

For food, we bought beaky stuff in Denarau and had breakfast on our beautiful varandah each morning. We had sandwiches and snacks during the day in our room (including beers bought in Denarau) and then had dinners at one of the restaurants. It was pretty cost effective and we had plenty.

The staff at the resort are all beautiful, happy, welcoming people. We felt in heaven.

Take the walk up to the lookout (behind the treetops restaruant) for simply supurb views of the island and surroundsLast but not least, visit the school on the other side of the island. If you're not there on a day you can take an organised visit just ask the staff as we did. They'll take you in a private boat for peanuts. The schools in Fiji all need help. Take money, clothes, stationary etc - whatever you want to give. They are all so grateful. The kids sang to us and showed us the school - even though we just turned up unannounced. Give what you can to the people away from the resorts. They really are quite poor - but beautiful, genreous and happy folk.


We can't wait to return to this beautiful island. It really was a dream.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. We had the one furthest from the beach and it was still perfect. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JaneMack66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AhuraFiji, Director of Sales at Malolo Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear JaneMack66,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are thrilled you had a great time at Malolo. We appreciate the good advice and tips you have given prospective travellers, but for the benefit of those people, we just need to clarify our BYO alcohol policy.

Malolo Island is not a BYO establishment. As a Resort Destination we only allow standard carry-on duty free liquor to be brought onto the island which can be consumed in the privacy of your own room only. Cartons of beer and wine are not acceptable and in the case of wine, the total amount cannot be over the allowable duty free amount of 3 bottles per adult person. Unfortunately we have had to enforce this policy due to it being severely abused. We will allow special bottles of wine to be brought to meals with a corkage charge of F$30 per bottle.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Malolo in the future.

Kind regards
Team Malolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    146
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
421
173
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Me and my partner spent a week at malolo island resort and enjoyed the whole experience- from the secluded villa,to watching the blue waves just literally footsteps from your door step,the lovely tropical fish and underwater beauty to the food and the lovely staff-everything was great.
Would totally recommend this place for a bit of tlc!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pinkpepper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

My family visited Malolo Island Resort for five days in July 2012 during the Australian school holidays. The weather was warm, sunny, with blue skies, and very little wind during the whole of our stay. Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed with song and welcome drinks. The staff are very friendly and always greeted us warmly with “bula”, which is Fijian for hello.

Ocean view bures
We were booked to stay in ocean view bures. The ocean view bures are well set out with excellent views of the beachfront and are of a very good standard. The housekeeping is outstanding. In each bure, there is a small bar refrigerator which we used to store soft drink bottles and snacks that we had purchased on the mainland. I would recommend you purchase drinks and nibbles on the mainland as they are far more expensive on the island. We had seven standard soft-drink bottles stored in the refrigerator. There are glass tumblers and wine glasses provided in the room. The tap water in the bure is quite safe for drinking and there is no need to purchase the more expensive bottled Fiji water. The island’s water comes from a desalinated plant operating on the island. There is also an in-room safe which we used to store our passports and valuables whilst enjoying the island activities. There is no television or telephone in the room. It is quite peaceful and promotes family activities such as talking, reading, doing jigsaw puzzles and the like. We did bring along a portable DVD player and some DVD discs just in case the weather was rainy, wet and foul.

Dining

We did not purchase the meal plans as they appear to be over-priced. We ate buffet breakfast and buffet dinner, which was heaps of food. The buffet breakfast served at the Terrace Restaurant is priced at $35 FJD (about $19.50 Australian) for an adult full buffet breakfast. A continental breakfast is priced at $27 FJD per adult. Children to 12 years of age are usually half the adult price (or free if you are on a kids-eat-free program) The full buffet breakfast includes items such as sausages, bacon, eggs, omelettes to order, pancakes, baked beans, cereals, croissants, pastries, bread, toasts, jam, fruit juice, tea/coffee and an extensive selection of fruit. We ate far too much, so were not hungry at lunch time!

We enjoyed the dinner buffets at the Terrace Restaurant which is opened from 6:30 pm. On Monday, it is Mongolian at $45 FJD per adult. Tuesday is Tex-Mex $52 FJD per adult, Wednesday is BBQ at $65 FJD, Thursday is curry night at $45FJD, and Friday is pasta night at $45FJD per adult. Children to age 12 are usually half-price. We enjoyed the buffet dining and found the quality of the food to be excellent. The pasta night was a surprise. I was expecting to encounter boring lasagna, spaghetti and meatballs and was pleasantly surprised that you would take a large platter and fill it with your selection of vegetables if you wish such as mushrooms, eggplant, capsicum, brocolli, cauliflour, peas, baby corn sticks, carrot, onion, and so on. You would then select your pasta. Is it penne? Spaghetti? Spirals? You then take the whole platter to the cooking station where you will be asked what meat you want. Is it fish? Chicken? Or beef pieces? The meat is cooked in front of you along with the whole platter of food and spiced according to your wishes with your choice of sauces. It was fantastic. There is also a kids buffet from 5:00 to 7:00 pm in the Terrace Restaurant for kids to 12 years of age which has menu items that usually appeal to kids tastes. Think pizza, spaghetti bolognese, grilled fish, mixed vegetables, baked potato, french fries, and so on. It is advisable to make reservations for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, particularly if you wish to eat at 6:30 pm as it is quite busy then. We usually ate at 6:30 pm so we could eat off the main buffet and the kids could eat off the kids buffet dinner.

The buffet dinner does not include any drinks. There is a separate drinks menu available. We simply ordered tap water for the table at no charge. The staff do ask if you want bottled Fiji water, but there is no need for this. The tap water is quite safe.

Island boutique shop

Although there is a small boutique on the island, it mainly seems to have clothing and souvenir craft items. It has a very limited range of soft drinks and chips which are very expensive. It is best to buy these items on the mainland before you arrive. The boutique does provide you with access to two computers connected to the internet which you can use free of charge for 10 minutes, longer if no one else is waiting. I was unable to access my email account as the software browser used on the island computer is out-dated and unsupported. I believe there may be free wifi if you have brought along your own laptops, ipads, or devices.

The beach and activities

We enjoyed lounging on the sandy beach in deck-chairs, kayaking, boarding and sailing. There are coral formations around Malolo Island, and it is possible to snorkel directly off the front beach. Sailing (hobie cat) is only permissible at high tides and subject to there being sufficient winds to fill the sails. Most of the time, there was insufficient wind or only a very gentle breeze. I would recommend that you have aqua shoes as there is some coral, which is more evident at low tide, particularly if you are planning on water activities such as kayaking, boarding or sailing.

We went to visit a Fijian village and the Malolo Island District School. It was fantastic and well worthwhile. The school trip is only offered on Wednesday mornings and during Fijian school periods. Students at the school range from age 6 to about 14 years old (grade 8). If you are going on a school visit trip or visit to a Fijian village it is well worthwhile to wear aqua-shoes. There is no jetty and the boats will only carry you up so far to the shore. You will have to walk through the water up to mid-calf depth. The shore leading to the village is partly sandy, but also has some hardened coral and rocks. Aqua shoes will protect your feet. After the school visit trip, we had the opportunity to walk along the shore and see some of the villagers’ homes and purchase local Fijian craft. My two daughters both purchased necklaces for $10FJD (about $5.50 Australian) each. Most items were between $5FJD and $15FJD each.

Kids Club

The kids club facilities and staff are outstanding. They have a planned program of stimulating activities each day. Most of the kids at the kids club appeared to be in the five to nine years of age category. Nevertheless, my two daughters aged 9 and 12 years wanted to go to the kids club and participate. They went with the kids club for a visit to explore Treasure Island and the school visit trip. They also did some of the craft activities and made heaps of friends. Hair-braiding is available at the kids club and is done by the staff in their “free” or off time. Charges are approximately $2 to 3 FJD per braid payable in cash only.

We all very much enjoyed our visit to Malolo Island and plan to return again.

Room Tip: Malolo Island resort doe NOT allow you to select your room based on location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
36 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We loved Malolo Resort. It was the perfect destination for a family with your children. Our kids, 4 and 7, loved the kids club. My husband and I enjoyed the variety of food and drinks. I was able to be picked up by a boat off their pier to scuba - - - perfect vacation!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LovefromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have just returned from 8 glorious days at Malolo. The weather was perfect- 29 sunny degrees every day! We travelled with our three adult children and an extra friend- their ages were 17, 18, 19 and 21 years. Our days were filled with snorkeling, kayaking, swimming, fishing, playing volleyball, sipping on cocktails at the beach bar or just lazing on the beach. The kids had a ball and enjoyed the relaxation and stress-free 'Fiji time'. The meal plan was definitely the way to go and we enjoyed private dining in the treetops restaurant ( no kids under 16!) on many nights.
Our bures- 39 and 40- were perfectly positioned at the far end of the beach and were lovely. On our last 2 days it was a bit windy but we were quite protected from the breeze on the verandah. The Fijian staff were delightful and genuine in their interactions with us all.

Room Tip: Bures with higher numbers are further away from the activities such as kids club, bar etc. A bit of...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacinta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Island
6.0 km away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.4 km away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.5 km away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
19.7 km away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
6.0 km away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malolo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malolo Island Resort

Property: Malolo Island Resort
Address: Mamanuca Islands, 0000, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 25,905 - ₹ 63,732
Hotel Class:4 star — Malolo Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malolo is an intimate, rustic resort. It's about a bure near the beach, surrounded by the world's friendliest people with a living and authentic culture. You will be served by the descendants of villagers who have lived there for thousands of years, offering true Fijian hospitality. Perfect for families and couples alike, at Malolo, you can fill your day with a myriad of activities or simply unwind and do nothing at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malolo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malolo Island Hotel Malolo Island
Fiji Malolo Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing