We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Breakaway Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malolo Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Perfect Breakaway Spot”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We have just returned from a quick 5 day break in lovely Fiji. Our trip started off badly when 12 hours before our depature from NZ we discovered that my husbands passport had expired 3 months prior. Major panic, but all sorted by the following day , big thanks to Rebecca at travelonline.com and Kritika from Ahura Resorts, who run Malolo, who reorganised our travel arrangements. We finally arrived 5 days later than expected and the minute we landed the stress disappeared. This is our 8th visit to Fiji and this would rank as one of our best experiences. The resort was very well run , the bures very nicely renovated - the beds very comfortable , the beach great , good snorkelling close to the beach, and fabulous food . The food served at the Treetops and Beach bar are the best I have had in Fiji, the buffets are more usual fare, and the band top class esp the singer and lead guitarist. We made good use of the kayaks and paddleboards , there are plenty of other islands to aim for , we paddleboarded around both Wadigi and then Castaway, what a great experience PBing in crystal clear water over teems of fish off Castaway island. As always in Fiji the staff are so friendly and , with one exception , very happy to serve you. Had fun at the quiz night , crab race and 'surprise ' activity. The island was full of very young children but those without family are housed in the bures down the end and around the corner so very private kids free beach, adult only Treetops was great also. As we are in to keeping up our fitness we went on the walk to the far beach , this was quite challenging up and down hills , the track pretty rough but manageable , and the views great.
We are keen to return with our adult children sometime.

Room Tip: If you don't have children go for bures 31 up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwimacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    151
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
436
177
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at the Malolo Island Resort quite by accident,

We had done a day trip and only seen the Island from the South Sea Cruises boat when some people boarded and were raving about this place so we thought lets give it a go.

4 fantastic days of beach, snorkelling, cocktails and just hanging out were the best part of our Fiji holiday. In fact, don't even bother with hotels on the mainland just get onto a private transfer (speed boat) when you arrive in Nadi and get back to basics.

Suggest you stock up on beers & bottled water first as there is only the resport gift shop which whilst not overly expensive they too have to make a living. Meal plans are also available which work out pretty good if you know you are a 2-3 meal a day person - otherwise you can just do a la carte as you go.

Malolo have a daily activities sheet delivered each night so you can plan to Island hop, go fishing, walking, jet skiing, banana boat riding, crab races, quiz nights etc etc or you can just chill out on the beach with the magical clear waters full of wonderful coral and fish. Saturday nights everyone gets together after dinner for a bit of a sing-a-long with the band. There is only approx 100 - 130 guests all up and everyone just seems to get along.

If you are into TV don't go - no TV, radio (take an ipod) or phones - also - to be on the safe side a bottle opener will come in handy.

Malolo accommodation is 5 star quality and throroughly recommended.

Room Tip: They are all fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laguna-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AhuraFiji, Director of Sales at Malolo Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Laguna-7

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are thrilled you had a great time at Malolo. We appreciate the good advice and tips you have given prospective travellers, but for the benefit of those people, we just need to clarify our BYO alcohol policy.

Malolo Island is not a BYO establishment. As a Resort Destination we only allow standard carry-on duty free liquor to be brought onto the island which can be consumed in the privacy of your own room only. Cartons of beer and wine are not acceptable and in the case of wine, the total amount cannot be over the allowable duty free amount of 3 bottles per adult person. Unfortunately we have had to enforce this policy due to it being severely abused. We will allow special bottles of wine to be brought to meals with a corkage charge of F$30 per bottle.

Thank you once again, and we hope to welcome you back to Malolo in the future.

Kind regards
Team Malolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is our 2nd trip to Malolo. We stayed last year, and liked it so much that we returned again this year. Last year, we stayed in a Deluxe Ocen View bure, which was great, as it had a seperate bedroom, giving us some space away from the kids. This year, we chose to stay in a standard beach front bure, as our daughter was just toilet trained and we knew that we would have to be leaving the door open to our bedroom anyway, so we thought we were better off just saving the money. It was a good choice, as the bure was still spacious, and we still all had our own space. On top of all that, the accommodation itself is beautiful, really tastefully furnished, with enormous verandahs with great lighting, and comfy chairs - great for sitting around in whilst the kids have their daytime naps...whilst we enjoyed bottles of wine and our books / playing cards. So relaxing.

Tia's Treehouse, as the kids club is called, has just been renovated. It is totally awesome. Last year it was good...this year it was fantastic! The staff were amazing, and looked after our 2 kids really well (4 year old boy and 3 year old girl). We had a nanny to accompany our daughter to the kids club, and she was happy to join in the games and activities. The kids club runs from 9am - 9pm, with many different activities thoughout the day to keep them entertained. Some days, our son wanted to go all day! It was hard to get him out of there... our saughter usually went for about 4 hours a day, and seemed extremely happyy with it and never wanted to come home. They even had some off island adventures for the kids, such as a trip to Treasure Island to see the turtles, a trip to the local village to see the school, and a ride on the glass bottom boat to go and see all the coral out the front of the resort. Each night the kids got to have an 'awards ceremony' where they would all be given certificates of participation for joining the activities during the day, and they would give a 'outstanding participation' award away daily, which all the children wanted to win. They absolutely loved it! And it was so cute watching them all get excited about their certificates.

The snorkelling was really good for people who just like an easy snorkel each day. When the kids went off to kids club, we would get on our snorkelling gear, and have a lazy snorkel around. We even saw an octopus, and several Rays. It was super cool.

There are 3 choices for where to eat dinner. There is an adults only restaurant, which has lovely views but is only open at night. We used this a bit, as it was a bit more 'romantic'. Then there was a buffet restaurant, which also offered a la carte, and also the beach bar - offering more casual dining. The food is generally very good for Fiji, and we had some great meals. Although, some meals could have been a bit better. We still did not mind though as generally it was great. Breakfast was a buffet, of good quality and variety, and lunch you could get from the beach bar or the terrace restaurant.

We loved Malolo. We will definitely return, and would encourage all other families with young children to choose it as your Fiji island holiday. It is safe for the children and small, all the staff know you by name, and it really does feel like a home away from home. Well done Malolo!

Room Tip: If you have 3 kids, there are great family bures, which have 2 bedrooms and are extremely spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank jenni216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We recently spent 6 nights on Malolo. What a beautiful resort. Very rustic, real sand between the toes stuff. But very nice. We have also been to Castaway Island twice before so we were keen to try somewhere new. We have a 12, 11 and 5 year old.

Bures: The bures at Malolo are just lovely. We had Bure nbr 3 (Family bure) which was enormous. 2 bathrooms, 2 queen beds and 3 singles. A great lounge/living area and a lovely verandah with an outdoor lounge setting with table. It was great! The bathrooms are not modern by any means, but are clean and adequate. Only a shower (no shower screen) with a handheld shower head....no bath! Compared to the rest of the bure the bathroom would be the let down....but still satisfactory. Four Air Cons and plenty of fans. The bures are all light and bright....painted in white with white timber venetians.
The Bures at Castaway are much more traditional. They are clean and comfortable but no where near as spacious. They are alot darker...not alot of light.

Food: We found the food on Malolo to be a little hit and miss. Some nights great others just OK. We had some wonderful buffets at Malolo. We found this the same on Castaway. The breakfast and lunch buffets were better on Castaway.

Activities: Kayaks, paddle boards, snorkelling, parasailing etc all about the same. However, we wanted to go for a long walk on Malolo. Not really possible. They had some rain and so the track up the mountain was impossible. You felt a little more hemmed in on Malolo. Castaway offer walking tracks all over the island.

Pools: Both islands have an adult and a kids pool. Malolo ones are just ok. The new kids one at Castaway is attached to a great cafe which was handy.


Kids club: Was good on Malolo although really only geared to the younger ones. Our 5 year old wanted to be there 24/7 but our older ones were VERY bored. Not much for them to do. They preferred to hang with us. More on offer at Castaway for all ages. Staff at Castaway get very involved with kids of all ages. Beach games, bon fires, frog hunts etc!!!

We preferred the lagoon at Castaway....it was better for swimming and snorkelling. Malolo is more exposed, not as protected as the lagoon side at Castaway.

Our personal preference: We prefer Castaway. It is a larger resort but there is more to do for all of us. Bures are the let down on Castaway.

The fijians are the most wonderful race. They are the most genuine, loving and happy people!!! You will feel you are part of their family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Coastal-Gypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I booked this resort over the week of new year's this year and stayed with my fiance for five nights. It was extremely relaxing but plenty of activities, sun and other guests to keep us entertained. Five nights was probably enough time to spend though.
The new years party was lots of fun (evidenced by the fact that I lost a day of the holiday spending most of it in bed on new year's day!)
Though we were travelling as a couple and we were on a "family friendly" island, there was an adults only restaurant and the resort certainly wasn't teeming with children and they were in the kid's club for most of the day anyway.
Food at the beach bar was great - better than the other two restaurants in my opinion (though the pasta night was awesome too). Great cocktails as well.
Rooms were beautiful (but no TV - we brought our laptop along to watch movies at night :p)
Definitely worth getting off the mainland and spending a few days on the Mamanucas. We had amazing weather while it was raining on the mainland.
Pretty pricey compared to SE Asia but if you are after a relaxing tropical island this is it.
We were a bit disappointed with the reception staff though as we left our hats on the ferry and asked reception to chase it up and gave them our room number, however they never got back to us - on our return ferry trip we asked the cabin lady if our hats were still there and she said she had given them to the resort (and they never let us know about it!!) so that was strange. Drinks and table service at the beach bar also took a while, but we were in Fiji so weren't in a hurry!!

Room Tip: all rooms are great - they are all pretty much on the waterfront. If you want a bit more of a peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazalenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Island
1.4 km away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
591 reviews
6.0 km away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
725 reviews
2.4 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
876 reviews
19.7 km away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,410 reviews
6.0 km away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malolo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malolo Island Resort

Property: Malolo Island Resort
Address: Mamanuca Islands, 0000, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 25,863 - ₹ 61,610
Hotel Class:4 star — Malolo Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malolo is an intimate, rustic resort. It's about a bure near the beach, surrounded by the world's friendliest people with a living and authentic culture. You will be served by the descendants of villagers who have lived there for thousands of years, offering true Fijian hospitality. Perfect for families and couples alike, at Malolo, you can fill your day with a myriad of activities or simply unwind and do nothing at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malolo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malolo Island Hotel Malolo Island
Fiji Malolo Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing