We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Good Fishing

We booked a full day fishing trip with Matava while staying at another resort. They were very... read more

Reviewed 28 June 2014
Hankfiji
,
Hanlontown, Iowa
Wow!

My 7 days fishing aboard Bite Me Too was phenomenal! The jigging was out of this world and the boat... read more

Reviewed 14 March 2017
Olly1967
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 5 reviews
  
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
3
1
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
1
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Please note the full review including Matava Resort review is captured in “Matava Eco resort Fishing adventure disappointing'

This was split out to detail the charter operation specifically.

We initially selected Bite me charters due to previous friends having success catching some good dogtooth tuna and Captain Adrian's previous experience landing him many IGFA records both international, national and local records.

Correspondence was through email and Adrian was always quick to respond.

Before arriving I had made it very clear that we were there to hunt trophy fish, already Adrian had advised that their boat Bite me two was out of action with engineers try to fix the outboards and that they would hire another similar centre console for us to fish from. I was very specific that we wanted to fish the seamount and wanted to ensure we were by not negatively impacted with lack of equipment to fish for big doggies.

To begin with Fiji airways seem to just make up their own rules when it comes to additional charges- be prepared they will slug you not only excess but also oversized for rod tubes, then with other cases they may not charge at all... Fingers crossed for you they emptied our wallets. 45min flight then you land at the kadavu airport where you are picked up by 4wd and driven down to the boat pick up point where you jump onto the small boats and run just under an hr to the resort across picturesque azure blue waters of the lagoons and lush jungle backdrop on the islands.

We came with an Arsenal of fishing gear ready to target topwater GT and YFT and heavy jigging for doggies. The charter reigns as we found out had been handed down from Adrian to Joe and now to Joes son captain Scaley. The charter operation is amateur at best- scaley lacked experience as well as enthusiasm the sounder on the loan boat barely worked at best of times and we relied primarily on guess work. GT fishing is based on casting the breakers in hope to find patrolling fish, captain didn't even work reef specific stretches to look for structure just cast he says, scaley lacked concentration and skills to maintain the boat parallel to breakers, also lacked communication to guide the fishermen or tell us when moving from freak waves...

The yellowfin we caught sight casting to bustups out by the seamount, the sounder wasn't working and no charts, scaley had never even seen navionics let alone contour lines to work deepwater for fin.

Jigging for doggies was simply blind jigging, scaley would drive to a spot determine a drop off and say jig, couldn't mark a fish or even set up a drift to jig a along a ledge instead of drifting straight off into deeper water an absolute waste of time. We hooked 3 small pups and most days never even got a bite jigging in no mans land. Apparently the sounder on bite me two was even worse than the loan boat so it goes to show the jigging is just simply primitive guess work.

Scaley was on the phone getting guidance from Joe each day on locations to try for fish, the knowledge has been lost with the main captains now living abroad, lack of technology and long liners and locals spear fishing decimating fish populations also made it evident that the captain lacked enthusiasm to work hard to put us onto fish. It also became clear that they did not want to do anymore long runs to conserve fuel which was an absolute cop out given the package prices paid.

Overall this is very disappointing and leads to exorbitant pricing for this kind of trip given the lack of technology and knowledge to put you onto consistent fish. Better left for punters...

Date of experience: February 2016
6  Thank Nam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Booked 2 full day charters whilst staying at Matava. Joe and his son Skelly were fantastic boat captains. They were professional, yet very friendly and accommodating and their laughs were infectious. They really wanted us to catch fish and worked to make it happen. Over the course of the 2 days, 5 species of fish were caught - Skipjack, Rainbow Runner, Barracuda, Yellow Fin Tuna and Wahoo! First Wahoo for the season - so that's an acheievement! Everyone at the resort got to enjoy the fruits of our labour over the course of a couple of days. We also saw dolphins and breaching humpbacks as well. There were some hours of down time, but when the reels started whizzing - it was all go! I highly recommend this company and in particular, Joe and his son.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank AlReesy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWatt, Owner at Bite Me Gamefishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2015

Hi AlReesy15,
Thank you for taking the time to review your two days sportfishing with us aboard Bite Me Too.
I am delighted to see you had a great time with Joe and Sikeli and enjoyed some good fishing. The guys try very hard to make sure all our angling guests get the best fishing we can find.
I know all the resort guests were very appreciative of the fresh fish for dinner :-)
Always nice to see the dolphins and humpback whales too !
Thank you for your recommendation.
Best regards,
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We booked a full day fishing trip with Matava while staying at another resort. They were very accommodating and worked with our resort to fit in a day trip with our other activities and around some bad weather. Joe, the skipper and Skelly, his mate were friendly and knowledgable about where to find the fish. As a group we were not experienced salt water fishermen but they made it easy. We had a good time catching a 100 lb. shark, which we released, a nice yellowfin tuna, a couple of smaller fish, and three maui maui the largest around 70 lbs.

Our only complaint is, that when we transferred back to our resort's boat, they only gave us the tuna and the middle-sized maui maui. It's not that we needed more fish to eat, but we thought it would have been nice if they had asked for the fish or stated at time of booking that they would be keeping part of the catch. Maybe we should have clarified this at the start of the day.

But, over all we had a good time and a day of good fishing.

Thank Hankfiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWatt, Owner at Bite Me Gamefishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hi Hank,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your day fishing aboard Bite Me Too.
I am please to see you enjoyed a good day of sportfishing !
Its normal for the boat to bring some fish back for guests and staff of Matava Resort (where we are based). Its unusual for us to take out guests that are staying at other Resorts. When we do so, we split the catch so that everybody has plenty of fresh fish for dinner.
We wish you safe happy travels and good fishing !
Best regards,

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC