We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Romance at Gorham's Bluff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge on Gorham's Bluff

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pisgah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lodge on Gorham's Bluff
Ranked #1 of 1 Pisgah B&B and Inns
Brookwood, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Romance at Gorham's Bluff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Fifteen years ago, I received a brochure and reservation confirmation for the Lodge at Gorham's Bluff from my husband. I still consider it my favorite present. Yesterday, we made our annual trip to the Lodge at Gorham's Bluff, once again. I can understand why the readers of "Southern Living" magazine previously voted The Lodge at Gorham's Bluff as the "Most Romantic Spot" in Alabama. The setting is breathtaking--seclusion along a precarious bluff overlooking the Tennessee River in North Alabama.
The six guest suites are each tastefully deoorated. The King Room is our favorite with amenities which include gas logs, a whirlpool bathtub and a private balcony complete with rocking chairs. Many of our friends enjoy the lofty third floor where the Owens or Roden rooms are located--complete with two-sided fireplaces. When we check-in, the innkeeper always loans us a collection of romantic CDs to be used in the Bose Music System. Chef Keith wowed us with a four course dinner as we dined near the dancing flames of a real wood-burning fire place by candlelight. The hearty breakfast was amazing as always. We enjoyed hiking along the bluff, and when we have visited in the summer months, the swimming pool is a great place to relax. We enjoy exploring the bluff, the lake and spending time star gazing from the pavilion. Leaving the bluff is always sad, but we are already planning another trip to our favorite spot on the planet, the Lodge at Gorham's Bluff.

Room Tip: The corner "King Room" has the best view of the bluff, pavilion and sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingjoy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    18
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
74
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

This was our first trip to Gorham's Bluff. It came highly recommended by friends. We loved it. The room was very romantic with a 2 sided remote control fireplace and a large jacuzzi tub.
Chef's Keith's food was fantastic! We ate every bite! The views are jaw-dropping. The staff were very helpful. I loved the guest pantry and access to treats, including delicious ice cream bars. Mother nature did not cooperate and there were very strong winds that prevented us from going outside and riding bikes like we wanted to. We will definitely go back again and highly recommend it as a place to get away and relax!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

For the ninth straight year we enjoyed our small family reunion with the delightful staff at Gorham's Bluff. As always the first weekend (or there abouts) of November afforded a crisp autumn of clear blue skies and a riot of fall color. Lounging in the big red adirondacks overlooking Jones Cove and the Tennessee River while crunching the always available Dove bars made for a pleasant setting to catch up on family happenings and business.
Following a stiff hike to the cove our appetites were primed for the succulent Filet of beef and Atlantic Salmon done to perfection by Executive Chef, Kieth Isydore and presented by highly trained, personable and discreet servers. Ah, and then desert ! Molten Chocolate cake anyone? My favorite though was the pear tart, each bite a delightfully confusing blend of subtle hints that my palate was unable to tease out but combined to make this a must try.
Mingling with fellow guests by the roaring fire over coffee or tea rounds out a typical day at Gorham's Bluff, while others opt to catch the Big Bama game or star gaze into the velvety black star studded night from the widow's walk four stories up.
Finally after soaking in the deep jetted tubs and slipping into plush robes we settled into a quiet evening by the in room fireplace, the ladies slipping back and forth to visit.
The big four poster beds are topped with cushy feather toppers that you just sink into and drift away to morning when the coffee and tea magically appears on the side board just outside the door.
All to soon our stay is over, at least for this year, and after a difficult time deciding whether to have the smoked trout or country ham with eggs and grits or traditional bisquits and gravy, we have Tommy Sue or Tina each a delightful hostess take the customary porch step family picture to add to an ongoing record of idyllic autumn getaways to a very special part of Alabama.

Room Tip: All rooms are up stairs on the second and third floors, Rodin and Owens on third have the biggest fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramataz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

My husband and I just spent a night at Gorham's Bluff for our 10th wedding anniversary. This was our 5th trip to Gorham's Bluff and the best one yet! The lodge is amazing! Our room was elegant and comfortable. We had the four course dinner and Chef Keith's truly impressed us! Every bite was delicious from the salad to the molton lava cake! The best meal I have had in years! We will definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Roden room, but all the rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This charming place is a really great get away. Secluded, quiet, views to die for, and great food! My husband and I truly needed a quiet time just for the two of us and this was the place! The staff was helpful but not intrusive. We stayed in the Satterfield room: king bed, fireplace, porch with view of the mountains and river, and breakfast served in the room or on the porch. Service was personal. The cost was higher than the Holiday Inn but you get what you pay for. Dinner was SO GOOD and we left with a tasty box lunch which we enjoyed on the banks of the river outside Scottsboro. We left discussing when we can plan another stay. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gggof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pisgah
16.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsboro
15.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Scottsboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
18.8 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Scottsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Quality Inn Scottsboro
Quality Inn Scottsboro
#4 of 10 in Scottsboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Gorham's Bluff? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Gorham's Bluff

Property: Lodge on Gorham's Bluff
Address: 101 Gorham Dr, Pisgah, AL 35765-6891
Region: United States > Alabama > Pisgah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pisgah
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,137 - ₹ 11,251
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lodge On Gorham`s Bluff Hotel Pisgah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing