We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a magical weekend!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pisgah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lodge on Gorham's Bluff
Ranked #1 of 1 Pisgah B&B and Inns
Yuma, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a magical weekend!!!”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My wife and I got married at Gorham's last weekend. The setting, lodge, and overall service of the staff at Gorhams was exceptional. Our friends and family also stayed the weekend at the lodge and cottages around the lodge. All our friends and family had nothing but excellent comments about Gorhams. We could not have picked a better setting for our wedding, on the bluff overlooking the river. Keith, Tina, Tommy and the entire Gorham's staff provided exceptional service. The food for all meals was incredible. You will enjoy the miles of trails through the woods with great views of the River.
If you are planning a wedding, or just want to get away for a quiet weekend, Gorham's is your place. My wife and family will definitely be back at Gorham's as soon as possible.

Room Tip: The rooms in the lodge are beautiful and comfortable. Our friends and family commented that the cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithYuma_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    18
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
11
77
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, AL
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Gorham's Bluff is where you go to feel stress melt away. The setting is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable if you can coax yourself back in off of your private balcony overlooking the Tennessee River Valley, and the amenities, though not lavish, complete the "upscale country comfort" vibe that the inn aims for. This is all great but what really makes a difference at Gorham's Bluff is the people. We were made to feel like returning members of the family when we checked in and we continued to feel that way until we left. Though we were impressed with the friendliness of everyone there, we have to single out Chef Keith Izydore. To say he went out of his way to make our anniversary special does not even come close to the truth. Our anniversary dinner was set up on the gazebo that sits out over the bluff, what a view, and the whole experience was even better than perfect. Our entire stay at Gorham's Bluff was truly a blessing for both my wife and I. And Keith...well he is the kind of genuinely good soul who makes you feel fortunate, very fortunate, to have met him.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyandAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelahatchie, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Owens Suite. The double fireplace, the jacuzzi for 2, the king size bed and the views.....it was amazing! The staff was so nice, the service was more than we could have asked for and Keith, the chef, was outstanding! With breakfast each morning and a 4 course gourmet dinner each evening, we didn't need lunch! The food was so good! Gorham's Bluff is in a quiet, country setting overlooking the Tennessee River. The red Adirondack chairs were our favorite place for a devotion and prayer each morning, before going to breakfast (which we ate on the back porch one morning). If you want the hustle and bustle of city life, don't come here. But, if you want a quiet, peaceful place to kick back and relax, then this is your place! We were there a Tuesday-Friday morning and it was just what we needed. There are hiking trails and bicycles that you can take advantage of. There is also a beautiful swimming pool and lounge area. We were able to tour a few of the rental cottages and they were fabulous! For even more privacy, you may want to consider one of them, but for us, The Lodge was the best choice. We will definitely go back and, hopefully, will take a group of friends with us! And, it's a great place for a wedding!

Room Tip: Satterfield has king bed and private balcony on second floor. Owens has king bed and jacuzzi for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlendaAlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison,AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Do yourself a favor and book a stay as soon as possible- DIVINE! My husband and I were only able to get away for a night- but we will be back over and over! On the way to the delightful Gorham's Bluff B&B we enjoyed a stop for lunch at the Triple R restaurant on Highway 35 just outside of Scottsboro for a lunch of fried catfish for him and BBQ for me. The salad bar was tempting, too. On to Gorham's Bluff where we had absolutely no trouble with the excellent website-provided directions. There were green highway signs with"Gorham's Bluff" clearly marked at the two forks in the road that might have otherwise raised a question. The planned community is charming and the lodge itself is reminiscent of an old Southern plantation home- porches with rockers and an amazing view awaited us. We arrived for the three o'clock checkin and were immediately greeted by Candice. Se showed us around the beautiful downstairs- cozy couches with fleece throws nearby and up to date books for reading in front of the fire place, a flat screen T.V. if you wanted to check in with the outside world, copious amounts of Hershey Kisses in a lovely vase by the door and the guest pantry with treats. We were shown not only the snack foods and bottled waters and sodas available for us to help ourselves, but the freezer with ice cream for any midnight munchies attack! The bite sized Snickers in a bowl did not escape notice. The innkeepers have thought of everything! Little did we know that the culinary talents of Chef Keith would leave us absolutely satisfied with no need to partake of these.

We were so impressed with the Roden room in the lodge. A sitting area with drawing pad and pencils was provided and a remote controlled gas fireplace was available for my "I have made fire" (see Tom Hanks in "Castaway") husband. I was able to persuade him thath since it was August, we would try that at a future visit. The room was impeccable with copious reading material on a wide variety of subjects- definitely something to appeal to everyone. The hot tube with candles and lighter provided beckoned, as did the crisp white waffle weave bathrobes, but we wanted to explore first.

The Adirondack chairs out back were SO comfortable! We had planned to take the bikes Candice had pointed out for our use and take a spin around the pool, checking out the cute cottages available to rent that surrounded the planned residential community of Gorham's Bluff. The playground made us both make a mental note to come back again and bring the kids at a future visit- soon! However, recharging in the gentle breeze overlooking the bluff and reconnecting with each other kept us put until shortly before our dinner reservation.

At dinner, the lovely Lauren was our server and she anticipated our every need. Although we were given the opportunity to dine on the covered porch, we remained inside the dining area in front of the fireplace and sampled the Asiago Cheese and Rosemary Olive bread she brought to start. We had intended to bring a bottle of wine (This is a dry county but you may BYOB and they will uncork and serve without a fee) but it was good we didn't- wouldn't have had room! Chef Keith- wow! What can we say? Amazing talents! Having been blessed enough to enjoy the delights of Commander's Palace, Galatoire's and Arnaud's, I am no stranger to heavenly food. This man is in a league of his own- we would follow him ANYWHERE! The Caesar salad was amazing. The corn chowder for the next course was even better. But the piece de resistance was the Shrimp and Grits WITH CONECUH COUNTY SAUSAGE!!! Wow! So creamy, with just the right amount of spice, and ample amounts of large shrimp and sausage- no skimping here! (Afterward we retired to the rocking chairs on the front porch and immediately took advantage of the lodge's wi-fi to try to find a similar recipe on the internet to try- it was just that good!) Thankfully we had just enough room left for dessert. I am a chocoholic, so naturally I chose that cake. It was warm and scrumptious, covered in just the right amount of vanilla ice cream. However, I must tell you that my husband's pecan pie was SO GOOD (yes- he shared;)) that I might just go on the wagon and order it myself next time, too!

We enjoyed reading and spent a comfortable night in the softest sheets and coziest bed ever. An itemized bill had been placed in our room during dinner for our review before our check out the next day. My husband is VERY tight with the finances, but he agreed that this was an amazing value for our travel dollar- and wanted to plan our return before we even left! The next morning we helped ourselves to coffee in the hutch upstairs and went downstairs for the nine o'clock breakfast we had requested. The fresh blueberry muffins and coffee were a treat, and the orange juice had to have been fresh-squeezed. Although they had some "lighter side" selections, such as granola, cereals, etc. I am a bacon and eggs kind of gal. After finishing our fresh cantaloupe and strawberries with cream, we polished off our entrees delivered by Chef Keith himself. Not only is he an artist in the kitchen, like everyone at Gorham's Bluff ,he was personable and friendly and we were glad to have a chance to express our appreciation for his contribution to our amazing stay.

After our breakfast we were missing our three boys left at my folks enough that we set out for home. The whole way we were thinking of all the friends and family we needed to tell about this heavenly spot. As frequent travelers who enjoy staying at B&Bs in the Select Registry and otherwise, we agreed that our last trip to Vermont had nothing on this place. Do yourself a favor and book a stay at Gorham's Bluff- you'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: Roden suite is where we will stay again- clean, cozy, comfy and private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boymomtrvlgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We attended a wedding at Gorhams Bluff. It was gorgeous. We stayed in the lodge and we were right in the middle of everything. The rooms were a wonderful size and the view was unbelievable . The food was out of this world. The chef was so easy to work with and did a fantastic job. We are coming back for a family reunion at Thanksgiving. It is a great place to visit. Kathy Miller-owner Kathy Miller flowers

Room Tip: Our room was in the lodge. All the rooms were great. They do have houses to rent and I visited sever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pisgah
15.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Scottsboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
16.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsboro
17.7 km away
Quality Inn Scottsboro
Quality Inn Scottsboro
#4 of 10 in Scottsboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Scottsboro
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Gorham's Bluff? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Gorham's Bluff

Property: Lodge on Gorham's Bluff
Address: 101 Gorham Dr, Pisgah, AL 35765-6891
Region: United States > Alabama > Pisgah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pisgah
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,814 - ₹ 10,658
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lodge On Gorham`s Bluff Hotel Pisgah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing