We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long line”
Review of The Gulf

The Gulf
Ranked #3 of 10 Quick Bites in Orange Beach
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: The Gulf is a uniquely designed restaurant serving locally inspired food and beverages in a relaxing and beautiful waterfront setting. Enjoy a delicious fried grouper sandwich, a cocktail and a view of the Gulf of Mexico!
Reviewed 28 May 2021

We scrambled to find a place to sit, while a family member stood in line to order our food. There were 2 lines, one for each kitchen. We still waited 1 hour to place our order and the waited another hour to get the food which was cold upon arrival. The food had a good taste but I wouldn't want to wait that long to eat.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank yvn2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2021

Built from a combination of shipping containers, right on the Gulf at Perdido Pass, the setting is idyllic. Parking is fairly ample and the walk-up bar is sizeable. Menu is good - a little pricey for an outdoor venue, but it is a cool place. Another one of those places that you need to check out when you're there!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank procyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2021

Very interesting concept and the management does a great job running this place. We were welcomed by several staff as we came in and they explained that it's an "open table" concept where you order at a central location and then they bring the food to your table, that you pick. There were so many tables available that this worked great for us and the views of the water were amazing. The ordering line was long but soon a staff member came out and set up a new ordering station to get orders in sooner. I ran to the bar to get some adult beverages and by the time I returned, our food was out, which was maybe 5 minutes. I ordered the lobster and shrimp roll with a salad and it was amazing. Other orders were grouper sandwich, shrimp tacos, and a burger. All were extremely good. One last surprising thing was the bathrooms, which sort of looked like porta-potties but once you went in, were super-lux A/C bathrooms. We had a great experience and hats off to the management who seem to look after every detail along with a well-trained staff.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bpmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2021

OH MY WORD!!! The food here was incredible!! We did a 30 day RV Trip and spent the night in Orange Beach, Found this place as we were driving, had no idea it would be so amazing. On the beach, pets allowed, great view and the best food we had the whole trip!

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TERI S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2021

The food was expensive and in small amounts. You will have to stand in long lines to order the food. They will then bring your over-priced food to your outdoor table. Typical Orange Beach tourist trap. I don't recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 282kerryj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.