We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Condo, Awesome View, Awesome Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phoenix Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awesome Condo, Awesome View, Awesome Beach”
Reviewed 2 February 2008

My first trip to Gulf Shores, wasn't sure what to expect since Hurricane Ivan crippled this city, I was SO surprised by the beauty and peacefulness. We stayed in Phoenix East, wonderful choice, nice front desk, entire property is kept clean and safe. Our condo faced the beach with a spacious patio with incredible view. The entrance faced the parking lot. The decor was lovely, brand new coutch. Great night's sleep! The kitchen needed more cutlery, odds & ends, so we went to the dollar store and bought some bowls, glasses etc... No big deal. There are many Phoenix Condos so just make sure which one you need to turn into, not all of them are labeled. Great location on the beach, walking distance to the "Rocks" great location to take pictures and watch the boats go out for the day. The water is deeper than I'm used to, goes to your waist very quickly, if you want a beach for kids, stay at Destin or Siesta Key. Love to build sand castles, learned a new technique from a fellow buider. Let the sand pour our of your fist and drip down in a stack. Make many stacks and you've got a great creation. Enjoy your stay! Don't forget to visit the Tourism center just a little it East of the condo, they've got a lot of great literature. Close to Brunos too!

  • Liked — The Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Long Walk to The Water
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Flip_Floppin_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    54
    16
    20
    30
See reviews for
146
45
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
roanoke
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2007

This place was nasty dirty!!! Disgusting - you could write your name in the dust - dishwasher was broken, fridge not cooling. After requesting that the condo be cleaned three times to get the dried pasta out of the kitchen sink, mold in baths, and Easter candy from under TV stand, they did little but argue. They told us they would do spring cleaning after we checked out. They never offered to move us to a clean condo with working appliances. Even the elevator broke and we were on the 15th floor. We had booked four nights and one party left after one, the rest after two nights due to difficulty rebooking flights home. We had repairmen in the condo the entire time we were there!!! They would refund only $25 of $819.00 !!!! It was so awful we left, despite losing our money!! Phoenix management should understand that this is an unacceptable method of treating travelers!!! They do not care about their clients so I recommend staying at home before a Phoenix vacation!!!

  • Liked — Beach was nice but condo dirty & broken frige & dishwasher
  • Disliked — Nothing clean!!! Broken appliances & management would not even refund days not stayed!!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank srbelle24014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

Do not rent room 1102 at Phoenix V in Orange Beach, AL. It hasn't been updated since the place opened 10 years ago but actually looks like something off an old Miami Vice set from the 1980's. It was dirty, the furniture was stained, the bed spread stained, and there was no TV in the master bedroom. The TV in the den was a 20 incher. Granted, I was there to enjoy the beach but I've not lived like this since college.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Ratfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2007

I just got back from the Phoenix III in Orange Beach. It was my first experience at this site. I was very disappointed in the property as a whole, very unkept, and with the room itself. I took pictures of the filth and conditions of the furniture and surroundings. The oven had not been cleaned for some time, sinks did not drain, large stains on upholstered furniture we had to cover with towels before we sat on them and we had to sweep floors when we moved in because of the trash. Problems that are to many to mention. This unit should have been taken off the rental program. Please inspect the unit before renting. I wished I had.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank lakeladyGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

For years we stayed at the Phoenix East and loved every minute of it. The last year we stayed there was in 04. Everything about our stay was great. The only issue was a stopped up toilet and that was quickly taken care of. Brett Robinson is wonderful. The sad thing with the Phoenix buildings (not the new ones built within the last five years or so) are they are just getting older and dated. You figure they have been there for 10 to 20 years. That is OLD in the life of a rental condo. Kind of like a stuffy old hotel room. Anyone that can afford to buy a new condo, once it gets 3-4 years on it, they will sell it for a nicer and newer one. If they are buying these condos, it's all about the profit, and they want a money maker. The pride of ownership and fine detail can be lost when the buying price gets lower for these older buildings and the upkeep keeps going up, but owners cannot afford for it to be done as it is in the newer ones. We have to remember even the management of these condos changes rapidly too, along with a lack of interest. They know a different family will be renting the next week, and seem to not be concerned with repeat guests. I would image the Phoenix East is now getting pretty dated too in just the three years since we were there. It won't be long and these older condo, and there are many of them in Orange Beach and Gulf Shores, will have to do a total makeover or just tear them down and rebuild., They all look beautiful on the outside, but it is the inside that we are most concerned over. I for one will not even consider renting an older condo because of all of the known complaints listed here. Rent for even an older building is not cheap. I am sure you will spend around $200 a night for most older places including tax/cleaning fees. I would rather add a little more to it and stay in a clean and new condo. On vacation I don't want to have to wonder how long it has been since the sheets or linens were changed. Since staying at the Phoenix, we have stayed 3 times at the Phoenix Suites(loved it), once at the Four Winds (it was nice), and this summer at the Crystal Shores West #801. The CSW is only one year old and was AWESOME. To save a little money this year we rented directly from the owner at VRBO.com and saved over $500 from what Brett Robinson was asking for another condo in the same building. I know you cannot dump all older condos in the same sad basket. I know there are beautiful older condos, but unless you have prior knowledge of the units condition, or do not take time reading reviews on this site, you are really crossing your fingers on the happyness of your vacation.

  • Liked — In 2004 everything! Beautiful large pool
  • Disliked — All of the many tents scattered all along the beach and lazy guests just dropping their trash in the sand while walking along the beach
  • Stayed June 2004, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Z_beachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
5.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach
#16 of 20 in Orange Beach
112 reviews
1.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
1.2 km away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#10 of 20 in Orange Beach
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Condominiums

Property: Phoenix Condominiums
Address: Perdido Beach Boulevard, Orange Beach, AL 36561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Orange Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,357 - ₹ 24,207
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the white-sand beaches of Alabama's coast, Brett/Robinson's signature Phoenix properties - 18 and counting - offer a one-of-a-kind experience and breathtaking views of the Gulf and bay areas. From one- to four-bedroom fully furnished units, there's something for everyone. Each building is chock full of amenities to make any vacation one to remember. The majority of the complexes have Gulf-front views, indoor/outdoor pools, a kiddie pool, a fitness room, barbecue grills, lighted tennis courts, hot tubs and saunas. Free Wi-Fi and fully equipped kitchens are at all buildings. Brett/Robinson began sharing Alabama's slice of paradise with the opening of Phoenix I in 1985 and ever since then the Brett and Robinson families have been setting the bar for the Gulf-front condominium lifestyle. Phoenix West II, a high-end condominium in Orange Beach, is the most recent addition to the Brett/Robinson portfolio. Next up, Phoenix Gulf Shores is slated to be complete in late 2016. Other Phoenix properties include Phoenix II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, Phoenix East, Phoenix East II, Phoenix West, Phoenix on the Bay, Phoenix on the Bay II, Phoenix All Suites Hotel and Phoenix All Suites West Hotel. Brett/Robinson provides a full-time, on-site staff at all of its Phoenix properties and continues to manage a large portion of the individually owned units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Phoenix Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Condominiums Hotel Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing