We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sugar Beach #279”
Review of Sugar Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sugar Beach
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Orange Beach
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I booked this condo through Sugar Sands Realty. When I inquire about the price is was 1,200 for a week but they were running specials since the oil spill and it was 652 with a 100$. You just paid the 100$ deposit and pay the rest when you arrive. The realty company is right across the road and easy for checkin. They give you a map of the whole complex layout and the rules along with the keys and important numbers. The condo has a guard on site 24/7. When you first arrive they give you a booklet with information and coupon booklet for places around. The condo was 2 bedroom and 2 bath. The kitchen did not have much cookware but had the basic you need. The place was not spotless. There was a pair of underwear and sock left from the last guest in the master closet. The pools were nice. They have a Sugar Shack snack bar right by the pool that has reasonable prices. The complex was built in the 80s but I really liked the layout with the large breezeways to the rooms. I would stay again at the condo but don't think it would be worth it at the full price 1,200$ a week.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BonnieJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2010

We just returned from four days at Sugar Beach condos.

First the good: Location, Location and Location! The condo complex is next to the State Park so it's not on the crowded high-rise end of the beach. The beach, pools and beach bar were all terrific. The management provides nice cushioned lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach and the pools have plenty of chairs and coverage as well. The pools were very clean. The beach is suffering from the effects of the oil spill but the local clean up crews were really going above and beyond to keep the beach in shape for sunbathing. The entire time we were there, the double red flags were flying and the water was technically closed. The beach was practically deserted the first two days but on Friday the sun was out and people were in the water (not more than knee deep though) - the 'sheen' from the oil seen on Wed and Thurs was not present on Friday. Tarballs are on the beach at the high water mark, but paths have been cleared and if you are careful, you won't step on any of them. Going back from the beach on the boardwalk to the condos, the management has put out buckets of cleaning solution for you to scrub your feet if you have oil on them. A word of warning, don't take any sandals that you want to keep onto the beach with you. I ruined a nice pair the first day as the oil just doesn't come off. I'd suggest you stop at Walgreen's and buy some $1 flip flops to get you to/from your condo to/from the beach. We tossed ours out at the end of the visit.

Now, the cautionary part - each unit is independently owned so ask for photos in advance of your actual unit. Our unit was only adequate in terms of comfort and amenities provided. Poor quality sheets and towels as well as a washing machine that did not drain. There were pistachio shells under the bed and the blinds were broken. Also the mattresses were pretty hard. I usually cook when we go on vacation as I like to get local produce/fish and make something fun, however, the kitchen was poorly appointed so we just ate out the entire time. I think the unit was overpriced - $250 per night. In this economy with vacancy rates of nearly 50%, it was just out of line. The Gulf Coast is begging visitors to come and bring their tourist dollars. We did that and it would have been nice to feel we weren't been overcharged in the process.

We still had a great time and the location made up for any issues that might have come up. Our experience with the rental agency staff was great - Cassandra and Amber really went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.

I would recommend Sugar Beach but as I said, just be cautious and ask for details on your specific unit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OffWeGo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

This place was right on the Gulf and three pools within walking distance. The only bad thing was the bed, It was extremely hard and myself and my partner both had back pains from the hard bed. Great place and hope to go back next year. Great places to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The building seems a tad outdated but the room we rented was accomdating and sufficient as well as well furnished. The facility is accomodating with carts readily available to help get your things to and from your room. There are 3 swimming pools and 1 baby pool to choose from which helps keep them from being overcrowded. There is also a snack bar on hand for those in need also. Not a bad place over all and would suggest it to others with a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loukycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We decided to stay once again at Orange Beach and picked Sugar Beach condos. We have stayed there many times. The condo we stayed in was an efficiency which is perfect for just the two of us and it was just 'remodeled'. Well much to MY disappointment:
1. Low lightening you couldn't even see in the bathroom. Loud, very loud fan in the bathroom. Dirty floor mats in the bathroom.
2. Kitchen, LOW lighting. No decent cookware. 1 Hand towel and 1 dish colth to do dishes.
3. Dishwasher was a piece of crap.
4. Only condo without a 'TABLE' on baloncy.
5. No backs on chairs on counter whichtakes up 1/2 of kitchen.
6. No decent lounge chair in room.
7. Again POOR lighting thoughtout....horrible lighting

I had to cook and use my imiagination to figure out what I could use to cook with.

Hope this helps someone, because I thought it would be great.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123456ollk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
3.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
4.1 km away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#11 of 19 in Orange Beach
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach

Address: 23044 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3003
Region: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range: ₹ 8,667 - ₹ 28,847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sugar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing