We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fenix Inn(Melaka)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$ 27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Cafe & Guest House(Melaka)(Great Value!)
US$ 12
US$ 8
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 56
US$ 54
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travellers Planet Hostel(Melaka)(Great Value!)
US$ 17
US$ 9
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 71
US$ 64
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$ 45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 48
US$ 46
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 71
US$ 55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$ 213
US$ 206
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunflower Hotel Malacca(Melaka)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
82
199
90
61
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
199
90
61
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstraits suiteswimming poolwalking distancesuite roommassage shopstong shengcar parkdeluxe kingfree upgradehighest floorbig bathtubdining tableliving hallsmall fridgemalacca straitsmahkota paradepleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Salute to the hotel. I am extremely happy with the excelent services of Straits Hotel and Suites.
We love staying at The Straits Hotel and Suites, the staff is just wonderful, everything we ask for and more is immediately taken care of. As we are staying here for a longer period, everybody is doing their best to please us and making us feel special guests. Congratulations to all hotel staff, all of you have earn your self respect for your commitment to make other eipla happy.
Salute Salute Salute to Straits & Suites Melaka

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Kamaruddin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM D, Manager at The Straits Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear Mr Kamaruddin Ahmad,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It is always a great pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you come back here again soon.
Thank you.

Warmest Regards,
Rudi Putra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

It's a good hotel overall with nice contemporary decor, strategically located which is near to Dataran Pahlawan mall and Mahkota Parade mall, within 10 - 15 mins walking distance.
I was delighted upon checking in, as greeted and warmly & attentively served by a young friendly female Indian Receptionist at the hotel's cozy and colourfully lobby area. She offers genuinely sweet smile.

Their 'Deluxe King Heritage' room is spacious, with a dedicated pantry area for coffee & tea making facility, together with a well maintained mini fridge.
The king sized bed was clean and comfortable, with plenty of soft pillows & cuddling-cushions, plus one extra hard pillow.
The lighting in the room was just perfectly warm, and brighten up the entire room nicely which is decorated in simple and modern design & fixtures.
There were some black stains/ line-marks on the wall behind the TV set, but it didn't bother me much.
However I discovered that there weren't any writing paper/ note pad and pen provided in the room, and a common laundry-plastic bag was unavailable. Are these part of the cost-cutting measure taken by the hotel's management in such 4-star hotel, or the chambermaid on duty was merely forgot to replenish accordingly?
The in-room safe box was not functioning, and there was one fused downlight. These defects should had been routinely checked and reported by the Housekeeping team before releasing to the Front Desk and assigning the room to the next check-in guest.
All these setbacks were not reported to the Reception, as I believed those are not major issues though, and it's only a two-night stay for me.
The bathroom is big enough, and its separate cubicle standing shower area with a strong 'rain-forest' shower head, could be easily accommodate 2 persons at one time.
All basic amenities and complete toiletries were provided.

Their warm catchy and casually decor coffee house on the third floor serves great local & continental breakfast, with lots of mouth-watering varieties of food.
Having said that, adding on of more selection of fruits and particularly desserts, such as local 'Nyonya kuehs' & 'chendols' are highly appreciated.

The hotel's infinity swimming pool on the top floor is attractive and provides a fantastic view overseeing the surrounding area and the Straits of Malacca partially.
Unfortunately my friend had a minor accident at the pool area during our stay.
It was drizzling slightly at that time, and rain water could be seen and felt dropping through the pool's extended roof that's decorated with small hole openings, directly onto the swimming pool and its nearby side flooring area.
After taking a splash, my friend got out from the pool first before me. He was walking barefoot towards the end area near to the towel collection counter. When he was going down and stepping onto the small side steps right next to the pool at a corner, he suddenly slipped and fell. He got hurt on the right side of his waist and hip area due to the falling impact. Luckily it's not that serious. He still could get up and walked afterwards, as he only suffered some blue-black marks and minor swollen on his affected skin area.
We found that almost the entire flooring at the pool's side area is slippery indeed, whenever it's wet by the rain or the pool's water. Obviously it's a normal type of flooring which only looks nice and presentable but dangerous!
The hotel's management should look into this matter seriously as anti-slippery flooring should be installed instead, or at least covered with anti-slippery rubber-linings or mats at the swimming pool area.
A fabulous infinity pool will mean nothing if it poses a safety hazard to its patrons and hotel guests. Please act immediately before more serious accident happens to other guests at the swimming pool area.
Now my poor friend has developed a "pool phobia"!

Room Tip: Request a room with sea-view and on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM D, Manager at The Straits Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Andy L,

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We are happy that you were satisfied with the services and facilities that provided by The Straits Hotel & Suites.

Reffering to writing paper, pen and laundry bag that you mentioned, housekeeping will prepare these items for every guest room. We believed that they might be overlooked on this matter. However, you can request it from them.

We are sorry to hear your friend has fell down at the swimming pool area. We will look into this matter and take neccessary counter measures to prevent this incidents.

Last but not least, we hope to deliver a better hospitality experience to you should you stay with us again in future.
Thank you.

Warmest Regard,
Rudi Putra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Overall the room is clean and tidy, have a great infinity swimming pool, most importantly is the swimming pool is so clean! Very helpful and kind staffs, quiet at night even it is so near to city, had an amazing night !

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM D, Manager at The Straits Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear Liew H,

Thank you for your wonderful reviews. Our team is glad to hear that you were satisfied with facilities & services that were provided by The Straits Hotel & Suites Melaka. We hope to see you soon again in the coming days. Thank you.

Warmest Regards,
Rudi Putra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We love staying at The Straits Hotel and Suites, the staff is just wonderful, everything we ask for and more is immediately taken care of. As we are staying here for a longer period, everybody is doing their best to please us and making us feel special guests. Sales department was very professional and Front Desk Manager Ms. Rhicca is always ready to make sure we are comfortable. What most impresses us is that employees of all departments are informed of who we are and what we need. Life at The Straits Hotel and Suites just seems perfect to us.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM D, Manager at The Straits Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear maria S,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review regarding your stay in The Straits Hotel & Suites Melaka. Positive reviews like this will always encourage us to do more and more to make our guest happy during their stay. It is our pleasure to serve you. Thank you.

Warmest Regards,
Rudi Putra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

The hotel location is good, it is nearby the Palawan shopping mall and nearby there are many F&B outlets. During checked in, they offered to upgrade our hotel to a deluxe king room and the price is cheap when we booked the room. The room is spacious, came with a big living room, the bed although it a king size, but still we felt it is slightly smaller. It is only during the night when we about to turn in and we realized that the bed mattress and blanket has a bit of stain mark. Since we are too tired we dont really care much and proceed to sleep. There is hot shower but the wifi is not very strong, bathtub is available but we did not use. Next day when we are checking out, the staff wanted to charge us for the upgrade of room, but we informed them that yesterday staff offered us free upgrade instead, bad communication.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jacky84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM D, Manager at The Straits Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Jacky84,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers. Your comments about staffs' communiations is duly noted and we will forward it to our front office manager. Besides, you also mentioned bedsheet with stains that you encountered, please feel free to share your room number via email to enquiry@straitshotelsuites.com and we will get maintenance to fix this problem as soon as possible. Thank you.

Warmest Regards,
Rudi Putra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews