We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,067)
Filter reviews
1,067 results
Traveller rating
244
417
235
93
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
417
235
93
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive roomaccor memberpremier loungekids cornermassage placesswimming poolfront officebreakfast buffethatten squaremodern designwalking distancejonker streetcar parkmahkota parademini fridgethe check in processhotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 1,067 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Made last minute booking and had some special request but was not reflected in the check in alert. Approach Ms Jacinta to check and she had helped to make the arrangement. Check-in staff at the lobby is not welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank cse247365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidTai17, General Manager at Novotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Cse247365,
Thanks for your review. We are sorry that we did not make you feel welcome upon your check in however we are glad that you found your experiences here to be good.
It has been a great pleasure being of service to you and we sincerely look forward to hosting you for a faultless and enjoyable stay with us soon.

Yours Sincerely,
David Tai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Location:
Easily accessible for shopping district. Hawker foods around/ good massage shop opposite hotel. Driving into hotel and parking area is well lit and sheltered. Hotel provides free parking ticket (per day) if you drive.

Hotel check in and check out:
Queuing time for check in took about 25mins. When we reach the counter at about 3.45pm we were told that the rooms were not ready. Only till 5.30pm then we managed to get our rooms. We requested for 2rooms to be the same level (when we booked online previously) but was not granted. Requested for late check out and was granted by the friendly staff.

Check out time on a Monday was fast within 5minutes.

Room:
Spacious room with a sofa near the window area. Basic amenities provided (shower amenities, kettle, fridge, safebox)

Breakfast:
A spread of breads, hot soup noodles, rice, cereals etc. Egg station included. There is plain porridge to my delight for my infant. Overall a cosy environment to start the day with a hearty breakfast.

Swimming area:
Adult and kids pools are separated. Kids pool comes with a mini slide. Beside the sides there are some mini playground for kids.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank veronsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidTai17, General Manager at Novotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Veronsle,
Thanks for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that your stay at Novotel Melaka together with your infant was a pleasant one.
We are sorry about the long wait for your room upon check in as we were running full. The team worked hard to get the rooms ready as fast as they could. Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies for the delay. On a positive note, we are glad to have accommodated to your late check-out request and that our breakfast was satisfying enough to help kick start your day.
Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in your next visit to Melaka.

Yours Sincerely,
David Tai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DavidTai17, General Manager at Novotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 November 2017

I stay in room 1432 on Oct 2017.

Check in
Pretty quick within 8 minutes in VIP counter.

Room cleanliness and condition
1) Room and bath room is clean and the bed is comfortable.
2) Furniture look new.

Pool
1) Beside the swimming pool, there is a area for people to order drink.
I saw ceilings damaged due to water dipping. It's showed that not well maintenanced.

2) There is a lot of tissue inside pool and water bad smell.

3) The female bath room give uncomfortable feeling (scary).

Breakfast
1) Not much selection but the food taste is ok.

Surrounding
Walking distance to mall and restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BlueDeepsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidTai17, General Manager at Novotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear BlueDeepsea,
Thanks for your review. We are pleased to know that check in was fast and smooth and that you enjoyed your room.
We are sorry that the ceiling of the pool bar was unsightly. We are currently addressing the source before we tough up the external areas so that the issue does not re-occur. We have noted on your comments about the condition of the pool & the female bathroom and will look into them immediately.
Thanks again for staying at Novotel Melaka and we hope to warmly welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
David Tai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

This is my 2nd time staying at this hotel and my review of my 2 nights stay at this hotel as follows:

1) Location:
It is located at Melaka Raya which can be considered as a very central location in Melaka. There are many restaurants surounding the hotels as well as foot reflexology centres. Shopping Mall is about 10 minutes walk. The historic side of Melaka ie Clock Tower and Red Building area is about 20 minutes walk. Parking is spacious and plenty. Overall, the location is good.

2) Hotel Building, Check In & Lobby:
Hotel Building is modern looking. Lobby is spacious and modern. Check in was fast but is not very welcoming or friendly. I even have to ask about the operation hours of the buffet breakfast. I think this is something the hotel has to look into.

3) Room 1722 (Executive Room)
The room is compact but is new, bright, modern and luxury looking. Mattress and Pillows are of good quality. Air Cond is working well. The room is overlooking the straits of Melaka. There is a pillow menu too. Bathroom is modern but unfortunately i find that the water pressure is weak. There is a rainshower in the bathroom but throughout the 3 days of my stay, the water pressure is weak hence it is not suitable for rainshower usage. Overall, the room is good but the management should look into the water pressure.

4) Wifi
Wifi is free but the speed is just average. Watching videos from Youtube is not smooth. But for other usage than Youtube, the speed is ok. I just wish the wifi could be a little faster.

5) Welcome Drink for Gold Member:
As a gold member I was given a welcome drink voucher. Selection is not great to be honest for Novotel standard. I was asked to choose between Coke, Sprite or Chilld Juices like Orange, Mango or Guava. Comparing to the selection of welcome drink (for Gold Member) at Novotel Kuala Lumpur and Novotel Taiping - which includes beer, cocktails and fresh blended juice - Novotel Melaka selection is very poor. Again, i hope the management can look into this. It is nice to have a menu to choose from rather than just being informed verbally by the waitress.

6) Buffet Breakfast:
I find the selection to be ok for a 4 star hotel. There's roti canai, egg station, noodles, steam pau, western selections, local nasi lemak etc with rendang and curry ayam as well as coffee machines. For improvement, maybe the hotel can consider adding some dim sum apart from Pau. Also, it will be nice to have some lemon slices in the water. The temperature at the breakfast seating area is a little warm too especially at the table behind the drinks counter. I was sweating.

Overall, Novotel Melaka has a lot of potential to be one of the best modern hotel in Melaka. I hope the management can improve on certain areas which I have highlighted above. Nevertheless, I would still highly recommend this hotel for those visiting Melaka. It is a OK 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FrenchRemix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidTai17, General Manager at Novotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear FrenchRemix,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience during you 2-nights stay at Novotel Melaka. We appreciate you taking the time mention the areas that you enjoyed and that needed attention.
Your feedback on water pressure in your room & food selection in the restaurant will be shared with our team and we will work together to improve these experiences of all our hotel guests. As for the drink selection you mentioned, we are no longer serving any alcoholic beverages in the restaurant as it is HALAL compliance. Alcoholic beverages is however available at our Pool Bar on Level 5. We are sorry for not informing you upon your stay here.
Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us, we look forward to welcoming you again to stay with us at Novotel Melaka.

Yours Sincerely,
David Tai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews