We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Yes!We Definitely Will Choose Selectstar Hotel Again!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Selectstar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Selectstar Hotel
Ranked #71 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Yes!We Definitely Will Choose Selectstar Hotel Again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

This Hotel was recommended by my boyfriend's brother which is they use to stayed for their company outstation.So, when we visited Melaka last year, we decided to stay at this Hotel. We found out that this Hotel is very strategic, which is near to the restaurant and other stall, They also have huge parking which is located behind of their premises. The family room that we stayed that night is over expected, its was huge, clean, comfy and cozy.Everything that we needed is provided there and the most good about this Hotel, they have a very friendly and helpful staff. If we visit Melaka again, with no doubt, we will choose Hotel Selectstar.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Very clean room for an affordable rate. Highly recommended for budget hotel category.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keane_Leow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

The BEST point is they have a private car park with security it's great for those people who are driving. it's not very near to the town area but it's walking distance . maybe for some ppl it's not walkign distance :P it's near to the famous ban lee siang satay celup shop. The location is out of town so it's very quiet. Easy to find food near by.

Good hotel to stay if you dont mind to walk a little bit from town or maybe choose to take cab.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bomohpang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

It was a simple hotel yet our family room for the 3 of us was huge, that it has 2 air con units! There's a huge desk together with a dressing table, & a wardrobe. 6 Relatives came to visit us at our room & they were impressed too. But one of the air cons was directly facing one of the beds, so it required some tries to get the temperature just right.

Dustbin provided was a little dirty. Wireless internet access was a little slow but good enough for surfing. It would be good to provide a bathroom floor rug so that it wouldn't get too wet after a shower.

Location was not too bad, since it's located near Tesco & Aeon Shopping Mall. But it's good to have a car especially when travelling in M'sia. Taxi fare is cheap too. Though it's along the road, it's still quiet inside.

Dim sum eating place which is a few steps away from the hotel was quite good. Thanks for the recommendation!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank broadshouldersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTTERDAM
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

So the story goes that me and my Chinese girlfriend (I am Indian) arrived at Melaka (July 2009) after being in Bangkok, KL and traveling to Singapore by bus. We stayed for 1 day at Select Star hotel and were delighted with our choice. Just before we came out we nearly changed to go with another hotel and I'm so glad we didn't. Please don’t get me wrong, its not the Hilton, but a very good 2 star hotel with all you van wish for. As a matter of fact, to me it was - one of the more romantic nights with my girl during our journey. We watched television that night (basic tv) and felt like it was just me and her, and nothing else. Almost certainly caused by the discrete and affectionate ambiance in the hotel.
We arrived after a extended drive by bus so a smooth check in which was just what we needed.

From the moment we arrived we were so impressed with the staff. The employees are without any doubt the most excellent feature regarding this hotel; not anything was some trouble and they were at all times so welcoming and skilled, especially the reception. The room was pleasant, not titanic but a fine size for a standard room. The beds were comfortable, lovely feather pillows and clean linen. The bathrooms are not that spacious, but you do have separate shower (normal cabin) bath.

The blend of humility, fineness, kindheartedness in this hotel in historical city Melaka, will make sure my stay will be etched in my mind. Thank you select star. Greetings from the Netherlands

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obama78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
3.8 km away
Coastal Park Hotel
Coastal Park Hotel
#42 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
1.8 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#65 of 165 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
3.4 km away
Sunshine Inn
Sunshine Inn
#45 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#35 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
3.0 km away
Hallmark View Hotel
Hallmark View Hotel
#48 of 165 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
4.0 km away
906 Premier Hotel
906 Premier Hotel
#67 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selectstar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selectstar Hotel

Property: Selectstar Hotel
Address: Hotel Selectstar 303 Jalan Gajah Berang, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,436 - ₹ 2,325
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Selectstar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing