We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Baba House
Nearby Hotels
US$ 27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Inn(Melaka)
US$ 25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
US$ 188
US$ 165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 97
US$ 84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 86
US$ 79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 50
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Majestic Malacca(Melaka)
US$ 186
US$ 139
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RC Hotel(Melaka)
US$ 49
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
US$ 70
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunflower Hotel Malacca(Melaka)(Great Value!)
US$ 55
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
30
139
145
34
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
139
145
34
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperanakan housenight marketperanakan culturecharming hotelwalking distance to jonker streetenjoyed my staymalaysia
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We had planned a weekend away from Singapore to show a friend the sights of Melaka. We prebooked 2 rooms and on checking in we're told they didn't have windows. Not a big deal but we hadn't been warned when we booked. Place is pretty basic and run down, not at all to the standard of Puri over the road. The breakfast arrangements were vouchers to the in-house cafe. One look at the boiled sausages, powdered scrambled eggs and other fairly unsavory items and we were out of there. Fortunately there's an excellent cafe just up the road with great food reasonably priced.
Suffice it to say we won't be staying at The Baba House again.

Stayed: March 2012
4  Thank Dave130462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Certainly a no frills place - have stayed in Hotel Puri opposite and the experience there was much better. Nevertheless, if you are just looking for a hotel (ie not a backpacker hostel) at a convenient location and you know the place well enough to find your own breakfast place (in-house breakfast was rather bad), and especially you are planning to go this coming weekend and you do not have a booking yet (thus you can't ask for much as Melaka is always filled with people on weekend trips), this place is still acceptable..

I liked the massage in the simple establishment downstairs though. It was run by 2 Chinese ladies - the one who worked on me (the shorter one) was rather skillful. One of the best back massages that I have received; the standard is akin to a physiotherapist.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Good location for our needs. Hotel old but staff very friendly and helpfull. Room had no window , wardrobe or bar fridge. Breakfast included which is ok but not what we are used to.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magpieman4361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The Baba House is a historical Hotel with Baba & Nyonya characters. We stayed in the deluxe room (New wings) at The Baba House for Chinese New year eve. The price is reasonable. The room and the toilet are clean. Dont expect full range of TV channels in the room, only local channels. The staff is helpful but we think they need to be happy with their job, it will be nice to see them smiling. The hotel has good massage place with reasonable price. The breakfast is very basic and we think they need to improve their breakfast standard.
The location is perfect for tourist as it is in the heart of chinatown. A minutes walk to Jonker Street where lots of shops, bar and restaurants and also the weekend night market. Cross over the bridge, you can visit the historical places and try the river cruise. Do try the local cuisine especially Baba Nyonya cooking.
If you need a basic clean hotel, we recommend you The Baba House. Overall, we did enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room on the new wings is better.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracomsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Receptionist is friendly and helpful.

The price is quite expensive compared to the Hotel Puri and da som inn with modest service.

Normal breakfast. In a restaurant next to the hotel .. Do not have high expectations.

The scene in the hotel is quite beautiful.

Hotel parking is always full

Room Tip: jonker walk, stadhuys, malacca river, menara taming sari & dataran pahlawan is nearby. Nice Baba Chendol & other food in walking distance.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank affarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews