We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location in the Historical Heart of Melaka” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baba House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Baba House
Ranked #38 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
344 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Perfect Location in the Historical Heart of Melaka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We found our room at the Baba House to be large, clean and comfortable with really efficient air con, free wi-fi, safe and, yes, it had a window (2 in fact!). Unsurprising really, as we had pre-booked online and specifically selected a room with a window (that's what room descriptions on booking websites are for). Although our room was not ready when we arrived late morning, we were quickly checked in anyway and were then able to leave our bags behind reception and go out exploring. Although we were too late to get laundry done at the hotel (next day service), the receptionist directed us to a small laundry in a group of shops on the streets out back beyond the car park (probably the one the hotel uses itself) and we got a huge pile of washing done, dried, ironed and beautifully folded for the princely sum of 85p. This is a charming hotel and one can only imagine what a grand house it must have been in earlier days. The only downside was breakfast which was dull and unappetising. We stayed for 2 nights - which is plenty of time to explore Melaka. It doesn't seem to be widely advertised (and it should be), but it is easy to spend several hours away from the day trippers simply walking alongside the river on a newly constructed boardwalk and footpaths (take a look at the amount of work which has gone into the inlaid areas on the paths) and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NED541287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    136
    144
    33
    18
See reviews for
66
114
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012 via mobile

We had planned a weekend away from Singapore to show a friend the sights of Melaka. We prebooked 2 rooms and on checking in we're told they didn't have windows. Not a big deal but we hadn't been warned when we booked. Place is pretty basic and run down, not at all to the standard of Puri over the road. The breakfast arrangements were vouchers to the in-house cafe. One look at the boiled sausages, powdered scrambled eggs and other fairly unsavory items and we were out of there. Fortunately there's an excellent cafe just up the road with great food reasonably priced.
Suffice it to say we won't be staying at The Baba House again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave130462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Certainly a no frills place - have stayed in Hotel Puri opposite and the experience there was much better. Nevertheless, if you are just looking for a hotel (ie not a backpacker hostel) at a convenient location and you know the place well enough to find your own breakfast place (in-house breakfast was rather bad), and especially you are planning to go this coming weekend and you do not have a booking yet (thus you can't ask for much as Melaka is always filled with people on weekend trips), this place is still acceptable..

I liked the massage in the simple establishment downstairs though. It was run by 2 Chinese ladies - the one who worked on me (the shorter one) was rather skillful. One of the best back massages that I have received; the standard is akin to a physiotherapist.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Good location for our needs. Hotel old but staff very friendly and helpfull. Room had no window , wardrobe or bar fridge. Breakfast included which is ok but not what we are used to.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magpieman4361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

The Baba House is a historical Hotel with Baba & Nyonya characters. We stayed in the deluxe room (New wings) at The Baba House for Chinese New year eve. The price is reasonable. The room and the toilet are clean. Dont expect full range of TV channels in the room, only local channels. The staff is helpful but we think they need to be happy with their job, it will be nice to see them smiling. The hotel has good massage place with reasonable price. The breakfast is very basic and we think they need to improve their breakfast standard.
The location is perfect for tourist as it is in the heart of chinatown. A minutes walk to Jonker Street where lots of shops, bar and restaurants and also the weekend night market. Cross over the bridge, you can visit the historical places and try the river cruise. Do try the local cuisine especially Baba Nyonya cooking.
If you need a basic clean hotel, we recommend you The Baba House. Overall, we did enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room on the new wings is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracomsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 km away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.1 km away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.4 km away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#33 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.6 km away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#42 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 km away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baba House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baba House

Property: The Baba House
Address: 125-127 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,702 - ₹ 3,863
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baba House 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ostrovok, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Baba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baba House Hotel Melaka
Baba Hotel Melaka
The Baba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing