We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 49
US$ 24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 31/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fenix Inn(Melaka)
US$ 28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Cafe & Guest House(Melaka)(Great Value!)
US$ 12
US$ 8
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
US$ 181
US$ 157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travellers Planet Hostel(Melaka)(Great Value!)
US$ 10
US$ 8
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 71
US$ 56
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
US$ 46
US$ 42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 18
US$ 15
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 52
US$ 35
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,540)
Filter reviews
1,540 results
Traveller rating
946
442
111
25
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
946
442
111
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa villageytl hotelslychee teacolonial stylethe riveroriginal mansionmodern buildingopen bathroomcolonial feeljonker streetfour poster bedwalking tourclaw footturn down servicesmall poolkampung mortencold towels
Filter
Updating list...
1,296 - 1,301 of 1,540 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Hotel Majestic is a small boutique hotel fronted by a beautifully restored mansion. The service was terrific, although there were some challengs with English and coping with large numbers of guests at one sitting for meals. The rooms were nice and spacious with a clever use of screens acround the bathroom area. Spa Village, located at the hotel, is a definite must try during a stay there. The honey and palm sugar scrub was something else!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Altokine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Nice hotel, great location, and the most beautiful rooms with pretty bathtubs. Afternoon tea was good and we were able to sit in the porch during a torrential downpour of rain. It had alot of charm and even though the pool is small, you felt relaxed enough to take a dip.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank hainault2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

We just had another night away at the Majestic and again felt like we had been away for a whole weekend.
We brought a friend visiting from Ireland and she was very impressed with the rooms.
The afternoon tea selection is very good and really nice scones.
There is a new dinner menu which gives alot more Western options all of which are very good.
I do not think the distance from Jonker Street is a disadvantage at all as there is plenty to see as you walk along the street from the hotel to Jonker St.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angryjmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Great ambiance, furniture and service. BUT last floor where we were extremelly noisy because of water pomp on the roof ! Stayed only 1 night instead of 2 because of that.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank Hutcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

We read some great reviews on this hotel on TA and that was why we chose this hotel. This was our first time to Melaka so we wanted to get some introductory tour and so we were looking forward to the "guided tour around the Unesco world heritage city" that was included in our "UNESCO World Heritage Package."

I had made the reservation via the phone a day before our stay and the hotel representative insisted that I have to pay extra for my son (3 years old) because even if we didn't need extra meal plan for him, the pakage included the "guided tour." So I went ahead and booked the hotel with the extra charge. But they didn't tell us that the tour would be canceled during our stay!

On our arrival, we found a letter on our desk stating that the "guided tour" is canceled for the next three days. This was just not acceptable so I complained it to the reception. But their answer was "the guided tour is complementary from the hotel offered to any guest staying at the hotel and it is free of charge." They sounded like "since it is free of charge, we can cancel it anytime we want to without any prior notice." What a lame excuse! Just not acceptable.

The other negatives: the swimming pool is so tiny and it is cramped in between buildings so it felt quite awkward to swim there. The location was far from the Jonker street or the Dutch trail.

I won't come back to this hotel nor recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Sung H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews