We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #2 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The signage to the carpark was not very prominent and we circled the place a few times.. Service was undeniably wonderful and sincere.. Close proximity to jonker street. Interesting interior design.. Room wall was not well insulalted so we could hear next door.. Unfortunately the tap in the room was leaking which disturbed our sleep but overall it was excellent!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepwalker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticMalacca, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I apologised for the inconvenience you had. Do allow me the pleasure to meet up with your goodself when you next stay with us again. Sincerely and with warm reagrds. Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    406
    98
    22
    15
See reviews for
358
693
51
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Majestic has got to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. To its advantage, it is small, beautifully positioned overlooking the river, yet close to the town. The staff were exceptionally helpful and the rooms exquisite. Old colonial but with a modern twist. There is a spa which sadly we didn't have time to enjoy, a gym and a small plunge pool. A very relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: I think all rooms share the same aspect. We were on the 6th floor and could see the Melaka Straits i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nenekwiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticMalacca, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Nenekwiltshire,

Thank you for your feedback and it is very much appreciated.

Warm regards
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The moment you step into the hotel you are transported to the past......so calm and serene. Wonderful and attentive staff from the doorman to the garderner....so polite.The room that I stayed in was beautiful.Even tho it was a business trip I throughly enjoyed my stay.........so relaxing.planning to bring my family soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HasnahH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticMalacca, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Ms Hasnah,

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family for your next stay in The Majestic Malacca.

Warm regards

Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Hidden nearby the riverside, this hotel was a wonderful find.

As soon as you walked into the hotel, you were greeted by many smiling staff.
Whilst we checked in at Reception we were presented with cold towels (a nice welcome considering it was fiercely hot outside!)
Check in was smooth at Reception and we were lead to the room. The dark wood furniture in the reception/bar area was pristine and of quality you could immediately tell this was a very luxurious hotel. We noticed that there were nice little touches like jars of local sweets for guests to help themselves with (even iced gems for the kids!)

Arrival and Room
The rooms are located in the back of the hotel, access past the pool, gym and spa area.
Check in had not finished at reception, the receptionist ensured our bags had arrived and showed us all the facilities in the room. He then poured us out 2 chinese teas served from a wicker basket, now that was really special.
Room was large with luxurious finishes, the bed was of four poster style and dark wood and there was chaise lounge. The bathroom was extraordinary! A large deep free standing bathtub with silver legs. There were a set of wooden sliding doors to separate the bathroom and the main room.

Dinner
We booked dinner at The Mansion. Same luxury as you walk up the stairs from Reception, high ceilings, wooden floor and tastefully decorated. You felt like you were part of the high society 1940s!
Ordered The Majestic Sampler and Soup for starters and then followed by Lamb Shank Rendang and Oxtail Asam Pedas. Soup was good, you could tell it was freshly made. However, the Tuna in the Sampler did not taste fresh and was quite fishy. We asked the staff whether the Tuna was fresh and told that it was. It definitely tasted like it had been defrosted the day before. Lamb Shank Rendang was ok, the meat fell off the bone but it was fairly grizzly and fatty. The rendang sauce was delicious. The Oxtail was definitely the better of the 2 main courses, meat was tender and the sauce was more-ish. Dessert platter was good.
The service in the restaurant was attentive, however we found the staff did not understand our requests that well. The amount we paid for the food was not worth it. The meal including wine was Singapore prices! So you're not getting quality for the price you pay for. This was the only downside to this hotel.

Breakfast
Served in The Mansion restaurant, the breakfast was basic with a couple of cereals to choose from, yoghurt, local and hot items. I found too basic for a hotel of this kind. Nonetheless, it was good enough to start your day.

Complimentary Walking Tour
Guided by Peck Choo, we started our 10am tour from the riverside walk where the hotel overlooks. It was a beautiful and sunny day and she made sure that the hotel gave us water to keep us hydrated. She took us a long the riverside where she described the flora, fauna and architecture that surrounded the river. She was very knowledgeable on the history of the area and had some interesting facts behind some of the painted murals on the buildings.
The riverside is wonderful, very colourful and pretty little bridges dotted along the river.
We then walked in to the main town area where everything seemed to come to life...people walking everywhere, looking at fascinating buildings and carts selling local specialities.
The atmosphere was just nice, not too crowded and everyone busy either taking pictures or buying trinkets. The walk around the streets in the town was charming, it seems that everything has been kept the way it used to be. Peck Choo led us to a place that made wooden chinese boards, a lady that made fresh Spring Roll/ Wonton Skin followed by a 70 year old guy who made wooden rice buckets. It was an experience, there were other little shops which made unique items but we didnt have time to go to them. We will definitely visit again.
This was the best part of our stay, we recommend you go on the complimentary walking tour with the lovely Peck Choo.

We took the river boat ride back to the hotel, that is another must do!

Overall, The Majestic Hotel is a great relaxing stay, suggest you eat out though, there are plenty of restaurants around the riverside. We would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiSo_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticMalacca, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to have you stayed with us in The Majestic Malacca.
I have noted on your feed back and will have corrective measures taken to improve on them.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Our only mistake was not planning to stay longer !!

From the moment we arrived Ben and his staff made us feel that we owned the hotel. We have travelled extensively and I can honestly say that the customer service we experienced was faultless and among the best anywhere in the world. The step back in time the hotel imparts, almost opens a back door feeling, when stepping out to explore Malacca's Historical streets. And when you return to the hotel, you are made each time to feel that you have returned to a beautiful cool oasis. The " in-house" Historian (Chew)imparted so much information and stirred our interest in an incredible story that wraps itself around every inch of the city's history. The highlight of our trip was the Family Cooking Class that was arranged for us prior to departure. What a fantastic experience - our ten year old daughter not only had an opportunity to cook but ate and enjoyed the lunch (much to our amazement - up until then would not even try asian food) thank you so much for a terrific few days - we look forward to our return (and much longer stay).

Room Tip: Our room was on the eighth floor and had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katangalodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticMalacca, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Majestic Malacca. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your holiday and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.1 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
2.5 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.0 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
0.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.3 km away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Property: The Majestic Malacca
Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,228 - ₹ 12,262
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of Malacca’s commercial History, The Majestic Malacca provides an ideal location for productive retreats. Conveniently located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site and only a short drive from Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The rich culture and history of the city inspires intimate brainstorms and business meetings in this 54-room boutique hotel. Creativity and innovation and enhanced on the quiet luxurious conference centre ensuring efficiency, performance, and optimal outcomes as each event is supported by modern communications and executed to perfection in any one of the hotel’s three versatile function rooms by knowledgeable and efficient staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing