We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
423 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is in a good, quiet location in china town. The hotel compound is a peaceful environment with a historic feel, and service was excellent. We had a standard room which was average but clean and comfortable and was serviced daily. We were on the first floor above the lobby so got good signal wifi in our room and did not have to visit the lobby to use internet. Breakfast was a very good selection of both asian and western - loved the corn pancakes. Two minutes walk to bars and restaurants, 10 minutes walk to Malls, and 5 minutes to most historic sites. We did go during the week so was not too busy, but as we left on Friday the cars were starting to gridlock on the small streets.

We recommend Geographer for drink and food.
Closest ATM is in same street as hotel - outside herren hotel - the end towards Melaka town square. they also did a great job of our laundry for good price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    582
    189
    41
    17
See reviews for
287
450
81
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Situated among the charming old Peranakan houses in the heart of Chinatown, this boutique hotel certainly is very beautiful. It is an easy walk to the river and the historic town centre.
The entry is a classic Chinese atrium. It‘s public rooms are also full of beautiful and interesting items. The most unexpected is the room where a small number of select Swiftlets have been allowed to build their homes near the ceiling and you can see them there day and night tucked up in their tiny nests. The bar and casual dining area was in a lovely garden setting. The breakfast buffet was in a different lovely garden setting, passed the koi pool

For three nights we paid MR745 for a junior suite and MR484 for a standard room on wotif.com. I was in the junior suite which was a perfect example of decor before design. On the entry level was a room that had an attractive oriental wardrobe and a cabinet containing the mini-fridge and coffee making. In the middle of the room was a lounge chair and foot stool which was perfect if you wanted to sit and watch your partner in the shower over the bath! The bath was set in a pebbled area with a basin and bamboo ladder for a towel rail. It was all very attractive and irritatingly impractical. Worst was the fact that the toilet was also down stairs. The bedroom however was up a very steep staircase. During the night this felt frankly dangerous. It was also annoying to have the luggage on a different level to the bedroom.
The bedroom was very attractive with a four poster and flat screen television. There were other annoying things but the bottom line is that I would certainly recommend this hotel but not the junior suites.

Room Tip: beware of the junior suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Dc, Usa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Pros:
+ great location (one block from Jonker St in Old Town)
+ helpful, reliable front desk staff (not bubbly, but professional, nice, and reliable; went out of the way to help me with a crazy request)
+ triple layers of windows help keep out city noises
+ modern bathrooms (but modest size)
+ not glamorous but an old town building with some character
Cons:
- disappointing breakfast

Room Tip: May be worth the upgrade to a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JGalt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

I have a 1 night stay at this boutique hotel on short weekend break.

Check In : Early check in at 11.50 AM. Service was good and fast, we get Room #129 on the ground floor. No cold tower or welcome drinks is a miss for me.

Room : Very clean and well decorated. But the furniture is a bit dated which a scratch can be found anywhere. Bathroom was great but small, good pressure from shower. Beware that hot shower was too hot. TV was too small and I am expecting LCD for the room to look impressive. Mattress was too bouncy and I didn't like it. Something like cheap budget motel mattress. The room on the ground floor have a window but you can't see anything from there, blocking by a plant.

Hotel Ground : I would say impressive. This is the main area my vote goes to 4 star. Well decorated and I love their history room.

Service : A day staff seem great and very welcoming but receptionist are not done their good job welcoming their guest. Hardly see any staff helping you on night shift. Thanks to Mrs. Joe (I believe from housekeeping) which enjoyed her works very much explaining to me the tips and secret of Melaka. Very friendly. You could look for her if you need tips and secret on best place to go.

Breakfast : Its good variety of food and it keeps replenish. But the atmosphere really kill the great surrounding with loud speaking customer with their naughty children.

Location : Its fantastic. You could walk around to almost all historical places and great food.

Room Tip: Try to select room that are not in ground floor but you have to step the ladder since no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Putraskyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Hotel Puri is located central in Malacca, near the night market and near Jonkers street. The staff is friendly and helpfull and gives you a warm welcome at the hotel. The rooms are simple and small. However they are clean and have airconditioning and television. The breakfast isn't comprehensive but it tastes good and there is some local fruit you can choose from. It is a lovely hotel with a nice atmosphere. I wouldn't necessarily stay here for more than a week but it's a perfect option for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabine Vincent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
2.8 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.1 km away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.9 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#3 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
1.2 km away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Property: Hotel Puri
Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#8 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,528 - ₹ 5,899
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing